We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of Peace and Tranquility!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Bela Vista

Save Saved
You added Quinta da Bela Vista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Quinta da Bela Vista
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caminho Avista Navios, 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Peace and Tranquility!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have recently returned from a week's stay and had to endorse what has already been said by other reviewers. We upgraded to a superior room with balconyand garden view and were on the third floor of the main building right at the end (320) with a fantastic view over the gardens to the pool beyond and over to Funchal bay. The staff were lovely and, without exception, efficient and professional. We chose the bed and breakfast basis, but had dinner there on four evenings. This was partly because there are no restaurants nearby, certainly not in walking distance. But the food was excellent and I can thoroughly recommend the crepe suzette!! There is a good choice for breakfast and it was lovely sitting outside on the lawn. Everywhere was so peaceful and I loved that there was no piped music anywhere. When sitting around the pool, which was full of the hotel guests, it was still quiet, but in a comfortable way. When we first arrived, I hadn't realised it wouldn't really be feasible to walk down to Funchal as the roads are so busy, but there is a complimentary hotel mini bus to Funchal on a regular basis, but stops at about 5.30 p.m. and also there is no service Saturday afternoons, Sundays and public holidays, but taxis are inexpensive and travelling by bus is possible. We are definitely going back there as this was one of the best breaks we have enjoyed and the hotel had a huge part to play.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a superior garden room on the advice of other reviewers and we weren't disappoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    422
    59
    18
    7
    0
See reviews for
66
333
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co.Durham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I can't praise this hotel highly enough. It's a beautiful, tranquil spot in the hills overlooking Funchal harbour. The hotel was originally a manor house and it has been converted very sympathetically.
Reception - can't praise the staff highly enough. They were very welcoming and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.
Pool - set in lush gardens. Lots of wooden sunloungers with free towels. Never any problem getting a bed. Overlooks the sea.
Pool bar - friendly service, overlooking the sea. No loud music.
Buffet breakfast - very high quality international buffet. If you want to eat in the gardens you need to get there early as there are only a few tables outside. Otherwise, the breakfast room is a sunny, pleasant restaurant.
Restaurant - set menu at approx. 42 Euros a head, or A La Carte. The service and the quality of food were outstanding. I hadn't intended to eat there every night but it was too lovely to go elsewhere.
Location - it's a steep walk downhill to Funchal. The hotel offers a free shuttle bus to the centre of town(except Sundays). Taxis are about 8 Euros each way and are freely available.
I loved this hotel and will definitely return soon.













Rooms - very clean and comfortable. Furnished to a high standard.

Room Tip: Upgrading to a superior room with balcony is a good idea. You get a fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and enjoyed it very much. The hotel looked beautiful on arrival and we had a very warm welcome from the reception staff. We booked a garden view room and it was directly over the entrance to the hotel with a lovely balcony.

Everything about this hotel was nice from the antique furniture to the gorgeous gardens surrounding the hotel and the pool. It was so peaceful too.

The only thing that was slightly disappointing was the food offered by the hotel, it was either pool bar food served until 5pm or 'A la carte' it would have been nice to have some other options for an evening meal. Having said that all the food we did eat at the hotel was really lovely and a fantastic variety was offered for breakfast. We ate our breakfast in the gardens each morning and was a really great start to the day :-).

The hotel offer a free shuttle bus down to the port which runs a few times a day, we used this lots and the driver was very kind to us :-).

Overall a really fab hotel, the staff were unbelievably kind and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to other travellers 100%.

Room Tip: We booked a garden view room, it was above reception which was a little noisy at night but we just c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

An oasis of calm above the overbuilt concrete jungle of Funchal. Everything was perfect. Beautiful gardens, peaceful surroundings, friendly , helpful staff all set in a characterful hotel. Meals were varied and delicious served by attentive waiters, the pool area was restful and calm with plenty of sunbeds and fresh white towels. Definitely one for Alastair Sawday! Sheer bliss!

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying extra for a superior room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent a brilliant week here last year and, for the first time ever, decided to return to the same place again this year. Usually revisiting somewhere with fond memories results in a slight disappointment but not the Quinta da Bela Vista. It was pretty much perfect last year and everything was absolutely spot on again this year. Friendly, helpful, professional staff from the management to the guy who keeps the pool area tidy, a superb restaurant and spacious clean comfortable rooms. It deserves six stars.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is our second stay. The hotel is located out of the centre of Funchal which I think is good because it is more peaceful, with beautiful views.
We had two superior rooms with balconies and that is one of the best things - to sit out and look out across either the coast or the mountains. The hotel has its own botanical gardens with lovely tropical flowers and trees. The scent was wonderful.
We had bed and breakfast which is good - wide selection of food available for breakfast including lovely fresh tropical fruit from the island.
We enjoyed some bar snacks by the pool which were nice but it is very expensive.
From the hotel you are able to walk within five minutes to a number of local restaurants and cafes - a bakery,supermarket, chemist etc

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room with a balcony - its worth paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

What can I say? There are too few superlatives to give this little holiday heaven on earth enough
praise.
This is our second visit in two years, (See Funchal Perfection 20 August 2012) and can think of no words to describe how truly magnificent this beautiful Hotel is.
The grounds,the rooms.the restaurant and food all shine,but on reflection the real secret that makes this Quinta work is the glorious staff. Although totally professional and attentive, they are happy,smiling and friendly,from the moment you arrive until the second you leave.If there was a sixth star available on Tripadvisor it would be awarded to Quinta da Bela Vista.
If you love peace,tranquility and excellence treat yourself.
Guess where we,re going next year?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quinta da Bela Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Bela Vista

Also Known As:
Quinta Da Bela Vista Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Hotel
Quinta Da Bela Vista Madeira/Funchal
Address: Caminho Avista Navios, 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Bela Vista 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to give you the warm and genuine hospitality of the traditional Madeiran Quintas. There are many moments to be cherished at Quinta da Bela Vista, one of the most select and exclusive family properties on Madeira island. This five star hotel enveloped in two hectares of luxurious botanical gardens – the ideal place to relax and enjoy spectacular views - hosts a significant antiques private collection. Our commitment ensures every guest wishes are fulfilled, making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Quinta da Bela Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta da Bela Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.