We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect from start to finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Bela Vista

Save Saved
You added Quinta da Bela Vista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quinta da Bela Vista
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caminho Avista Navios, 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Devon. uk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Perfect from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this lovely hotel. We consider ourselves quite picky when it comes to cleanliness and service etc but after staying at the Quinta dal Bela Vista we had nothing to worry about. This hotel is overlooking the town of Funchal away from the crowds. The greeting from the staff at the reception was warm and friendly, our room was no. 321 which overlooks the pool and with views to the sea was just lovely, very clean and comfortable with crisp white cotton sheets and fluffy towels. Air conditioning kept the night time sleeping nice and comfortable. Breakfast was very good and substantial, something for everyone. Most of our days were spent out and about, however we did have lunch at the hotel on two occasions and dinner outside at the Quinta on two occasions. (which is something not to miss.)
The food and service is outstanding, it was a pleasure to have our meals served to us by some of the most friendly and efficient staff we have come across. The hotel itself has a colonial feel, large, airy and full of good quality antique furnishing and artwork. They offer an excellent mini bus shuttle to the town several times a day, the only problem is that it only has 9 seats so you must be prompt!
Going out and about: We went up to Monte Gardens in the cable car which was a great day out, we bought our tickets at the cable car. The gardens a beautiful and the view from the top of the church stunning. Go to the flower/fish/fruit market at the end of the town and pop upstairs to the rooftop cafe for a beer, ladies ask for a small one, the medium was like a small bucket! we also had a snack here and it was delicious.
We also took the ferry to Porto Santo, the beach was the softest sand we have seen ( and we live near Cornwall) but the town disappointing. Next time we visit we will do the catamaran to see dolphins and whales instead.
Blandys tour is a must, we took the premuim and the vintage tours , the latter was just the two of us and a guide and we sampled a 1968 vintage Madeira which was smooth as silk.
Take time to go to the Ritz on the plaza area sit down, order sangria and watch the world go by, if you get there just before lunch there is live music.
We did have a seafood meal at the marina but felt it was overpriced.
Yellow bus tour is great, for 12 euros each you can hop on and off at the designated stops as many times as you wish in 24 hours, a good way to see what you want to see then revisit when yo want. The water was safe to drink which is a plus in my mind, and at no time at all did we feel unsafe.
If you do visit this hotel we are sure you will have a lovely relaxing time, but if your wish is to have a disco or entertainment every night then this is not the place for you, try the hotel district in Funchal .
A big thank you to everyone at the Quinta da Bela Vista for making our stay so comfortable, we will be returning as soon as we can.!

Room Tip: For a view of the garden and sea, choose rooms 317- 322. these rooms have a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    447
    63
    19
    7
    0
See reviews for
68
355
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A hotel that displays total quality in all areas.Apon arrival you immediately sense the importance the reception staff show to you as a client,Your allocated room is shown to you to ensure it meets your expectations,Breakfast which is a mix of buffet and waiter service is excellent,lunches served at the pollside bar are varied.Dinner which is served in the quinta and offers a menu which excites your taste buds there is a wine list to compliment the menu.Restuant staff are led by a head waiter who with his staff offers excellent service.The hotel is set in a quite area a short distance from the marina in Funchal town to which a hotel bus serice operates.

Room Tip: All rooms are excelent, those over looking the pool have viws down to the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

An outstanding experience which goes well beyond the traditional fare of 5-star accomodations. The service is outstanding in providing an ambience of tranquility and serenity with highly professional staff trained to cater to one's personal comfort. Merely the unfortunate staying pets from the neighborhood were an occasional disruption at night.
The quality of the food and the friendliness of the staff was without exception impeccable and genuine.

Room Tip: all rooms face the beautiful gardens and the sea- ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just returned from our second holiday here.
It was just as good as before.
It was lovely to be greeted by friendly staff (Paula & Fernando on reception )on arrival.
Private transfer from airport just makes life easier than a bus.
The hotel is as every one else says.
In a beautiful position above Funchal but only a 10 euro taxi or free minibus 6 times a day if that is more convenient.
We were on 3 days half board @ 42 euros for 5 course meal which was nearly always including items from a la carte menu so filet steak and great fish available.
We also ate ALC on other nights with 3 courses coming in at about the same price so no hardship.
There is a lovely pool with a small keep fit centre (never used!!!) with a small bar adjacent to a lovely sitting area next to the pool for lunch or even afternoon tea if wanted.
Both breakfast and dinner were taken outside in lovely weather with a good selection of items for breakfast both English and European.
The hotel is beautifully furnished with antiques and owner lives on premises so IF any problems they can be fixed there and then not on return to UK.
Ther is a nice mix of nationalities so not overrun by too many Brits.
All staff are so friendly it was a wrench to come home but we will return.

Thanks once again to all staff.

Room Tip: Rooms in old part overlook the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel in Madeira is in a quite location with breath taking views of the Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean. The rooms are all spacious with views of the beautiful gardens which Madeira is famous for, food is a very high standard, with lots to choose from from breakfast to dinner.
Staff go that extra mile to make sure that your stay in a very special one and nothing is not to much trouble.
This hotel is suited for singles , couples and retired people!
All the hotel furniture is antique in every corridor, that makes it that extra special feeling about the place..

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe balcony, views of the gardens are lovely and the sun shines all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Located about 5 mins away from the centre of Funchal by car, this hotel is ideal for anyone looking for a relaxing break in quiet surroundings. Based around an original Quinta built in the middle of the 19th century, it overlooks Funchal, its bay and coastline and the spectacular mountains behind. Sympathetically furnished and tastefully decorated, the hotel eschews modern bling, spas and endless 'treatments' and sticks to an understated theme which creates a wonderfully calm atmosphere in which to unwind. The outside space comprises a mature garden with an interesting range of trees and plants as well as a pool and sun terrace. Also by the pool is a a bar and elevated lounge from which to admire the views across Funchal. A small gym and steam/sauna room is alongside the pool for the more energetically inclined. Rooms are in two buildings, the main hotel building comprises the superior rooms with balconies and the second building contains the standard and deluxe rooms. Our standard room was large with a big comfortable bed, quiet AC and doors onto the garden. It was outstandingly quiet and sleep was undisturbed by anything or anyone except the sound of birdsong in the mornings. Finally I must give a special mention to the staff, particularly the receptionist who gave us the warmest welcome and put up with all of our questions on where to go and what to do with patience and humour. And also the pool bar staff who were very friendly, had personalities and seemed genuinely interested in ensuring we were looked after well. All in all, one of the best hotels I have stayed in and perfect for anyone looking for that elusive quality that really makes a hotel special.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good location and will be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have visited Madeira for 4 holidays, and now we have for us the best. The staff are very friendly and very helpful, the two ladies on reception were most helpful, sorted out any queries we had. The bar staff at the poolside bar always had a smile and friendly word as they look after us. We will be returning again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quinta da Bela Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Bela Vista

Address: Caminho Avista Navios, 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Business Hotel in Funchal
#15 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Bela Vista 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to give you the warm and genuine hospitality of the traditional Madeiran Quintas. There are many moments to be cherished at Quinta da Bela Vista, one of the most select and exclusive family properties on Madeira island. This five star hotel enveloped in two hectares of luxurious botanical gardens – the ideal place to relax and enjoy spectacular views - hosts a significant antiques private collection. Our commitment ensures every guest wishes are fulfilled, making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, HostelBookers, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Quinta da Bela Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Bela Vista Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta da Bela Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.