We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to good old fashioned SERVICE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Bela Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Quinta da Bela Vista to your Saves list
Quinta da Bela Vista
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caminho Avista Navios, 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
newcastle uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Return to good old fashioned SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just returned from our second holiday here.
It was just as good as before.
It was lovely to be greeted by friendly staff (Paula & Fernando on reception )on arrival.
Private transfer from airport just makes life easier than a bus.
The hotel is as every one else says.
In a beautiful position above Funchal but only a 10 euro taxi or free minibus 6 times a day if that is more convenient.
We were on 3 days half board @ 42 euros for 5 course meal which was nearly always including items from a la carte menu so filet steak and great fish available.
We also ate ALC on other nights with 3 courses coming in at about the same price so no hardship.
There is a lovely pool with a small keep fit centre (never used!!!) with a small bar adjacent to a lovely sitting area next to the pool for lunch or even afternoon tea if wanted.
Both breakfast and dinner were taken outside in lovely weather with a good selection of items for breakfast both English and European.
The hotel is beautifully furnished with antiques and owner lives on premises so IF any problems they can be fixed there and then not on return to UK.
Ther is a nice mix of nationalities so not overrun by too many Brits.
All staff are so friendly it was a wrench to come home but we will return.

Thanks once again to all staff.

Room Tip: Rooms in old part overlook the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    70
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
71
382
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel in Madeira is in a quite location with breath taking views of the Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean. The rooms are all spacious with views of the beautiful gardens which Madeira is famous for, food is a very high standard, with lots to choose from from breakfast to dinner.
Staff go that extra mile to make sure that your stay in a very special one and nothing is not to much trouble.
This hotel is suited for singles , couples and retired people!
All the hotel furniture is antique in every corridor, that makes it that extra special feeling about the place..

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe balcony, views of the gardens are lovely and the sun shines all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Located about 5 mins away from the centre of Funchal by car, this hotel is ideal for anyone looking for a relaxing break in quiet surroundings. Based around an original Quinta built in the middle of the 19th century, it overlooks Funchal, its bay and coastline and the spectacular mountains behind. Sympathetically furnished and tastefully decorated, the hotel eschews modern bling, spas and endless 'treatments' and sticks to an understated theme which creates a wonderfully calm atmosphere in which to unwind. The outside space comprises a mature garden with an interesting range of trees and plants as well as a pool and sun terrace. Also by the pool is a a bar and elevated lounge from which to admire the views across Funchal. A small gym and steam/sauna room is alongside the pool for the more energetically inclined. Rooms are in two buildings, the main hotel building comprises the superior rooms with balconies and the second building contains the standard and deluxe rooms. Our standard room was large with a big comfortable bed, quiet AC and doors onto the garden. It was outstandingly quiet and sleep was undisturbed by anything or anyone except the sound of birdsong in the mornings. Finally I must give a special mention to the staff, particularly the receptionist who gave us the warmest welcome and put up with all of our questions on where to go and what to do with patience and humour. And also the pool bar staff who were very friendly, had personalities and seemed genuinely interested in ensuring we were looked after well. All in all, one of the best hotels I have stayed in and perfect for anyone looking for that elusive quality that really makes a hotel special.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good location and will be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have visited Madeira for 4 holidays, and now we have for us the best. The staff are very friendly and very helpful, the two ladies on reception were most helpful, sorted out any queries we had. The bar staff at the poolside bar always had a smile and friendly word as they look after us. We will be returning again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel cannot be faulted for accommodation, but try and get a balcony if you can, which will enable you to enjoy the views. The food is very well prepared and presented in the restaurant in the old house, and adjoins a relaxing sitting room and a pleasant library. All the staff were pleasant, and very helpful. The gardens give a feeling of peace and tranquillity. The hotel courtesy minibus will take you to the harbour and back, but there are frequent low cost buses and taxis if you prefer getting nearer to the many facilities such as shops or bars and restaurants. Although my wife left her mobile phone behind, Fernando - the Head Receptionist, posted it back to UK arriving within 3 days at no extra cost.Yet another example of the excellent service which you don't always get elsewhere.

Room Tip: To see more view of this lovely hotel - go on Google Images and search "Hotel Quinta da Bela Vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from a week at Quinta da Bela Vista and it was an excellent choice.

It was out first visit to Madiera and we chose the hotel based upon previous TripAdvisor reviews. We were aware that the hotel is outside of the town, at the top of a steep hill, however there is a frequent courtesy bus and taxis are approx €7 from the centre.

From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, the fantastic staff made sure our visit was a good one. On arrival we were given a twin room due to a mix up with the booking, however after 30 mins we were in a double. The room was very spacious with two comfortable chairs overlooking the gardens, plus the balcony gave us a great view.

Breakfast was always plentiful and the food was of a high quality. The staff in the restaurant were excellent and very attentive to diners needs. There was a great choice at breakfast that was frequently changed to give variation unlike other hotels.

There were several elderly patrons staying in the hotel and I was impressed with the patience, care and concern shown by all the staff. It was nice to see the staff ensuring they all had a good time during their stay.

We had dinner several times in the Old House within the grounds and both times we thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Service was exceptional, as was the quality of the food.

The grounds of the hotel were well kept and the pool area was clean, tidy and also well maintained. The small gym was clean and contained enough equipment.

The reception staff were very understanding and patient with all our requests, even suggesting good places to walk to see more of Funchal.

Overall we were really happy with our stay at Quinta da Bela Vista and can highly recommend it. We'll definately be returning in the future.

If you find my reviews to be useful, please let me know by giving me a helpful vote.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bat Yam, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I spent six days at Quinta Da Bela Vista.
We had a great time there, but what spoild our vacation was the fact that our originally booked room did not meet our expectations and that is to say the least, though we were promised to get a " nice room with the garden view". The room had two seperated beds with no posibility to get them together though we had asked for a double bed. The overall look of the room is dated and the bathroom and toilets had a very bed smell. When we asked for another room with the same price,we were answered by Carla, the receptionist ,that they had no other room and the only option left was upgrading the room to a superior, which cost us extra 200 Euro!. The head receptionist did not even try to get us even a small reduction, what left us with a bitter taste.

However, I would like to acknowledge the entire staff at the dining room and restaurant, especially the man in charge who went out of his way to meet our requests and Paula, the receptionist as well, who did everything she could to make us feel at home. She is a remarkable woman.

I should acknowledge the breakfast buffet which was abundant and the food was excellent

If you are looking for peace and tranquility, the hotel is just the right place for you. Otherwise, look for a hotel at the Lido, where most of the hotels are located.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the upper floors with a balcony (if you can afford it) at the central building whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta da Bela Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Bela Vista

Address: Caminho Avista Navios, 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#15 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Bela Vista 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to give you the warm and genuine hospitality of the traditional Madeiran Quintas. There are many moments to be cherished at Quinta da Bela Vista, one of the most select and exclusive family properties on Madeira island. This five star hotel enveloped in two hectares of luxurious botanical gardens – the ideal place to relax and enjoy spectacular views - hosts a significant antiques private collection. Our commitment ensures every guest wishes are fulfilled, making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Quinta da Bela Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Bela Vista Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta da Bela Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.