We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Bela Vista

Save Saved
You added Quinta da Bela Vista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quinta da Bela Vista
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caminho Avista Navios, 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a fantastic week at Quinta da Bela Vista. It was our first time in this hotel.
The service is first class, breakfast excellent, service and food in the restaurant (old house) is really good and good price.
Gardens are big ans well keped. Swmming pool very big and pool bar with a beautifull view over the bay of Funchal.
We will be back for shure.
Thant you very much for all the staff for their good work.

Room Tip: Stayed in a Garden View room - Very quite and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    449
    63
    19
    7
    0
See reviews for
68
356
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a special wedding anniversary at this superb hotel and it truly lived upto or expectations and more. Upon arrival, we were met by Paula, who showed us to our hotel. Paula was professional, friendly and helpful throughout our stay...a big thank you! The room was beautiful..traditional and large with a big balcony overlooking the gardens and sea. Breakfast was lovely, with plenty of fresh fruit, maets and cheeses and a hot option. The pool area was also fabulous, very quite and peaceful and not overcrowded. In all we can't wait to go back.

Thanks to all the wonderful staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Bela Vista gives a clue, yes there is a great view from the swimming pool area over Funchal. I guess our disappointment started before we even got to the hotel. We arrived in Funchal after a long Levada walk late on Saturday afternoon and discovered there is no courtesy bus from town after mid day, nor is there one at all on a Sunday, these were our only two days at the hotel. Given that QBV is a good distance out of town up a very steep hill, which we naively walked the first time taking around 45 minutes, one would think that a true 5* hotel could run even a limited service for the weekend guests or is it 4* at the weekend?
On arrival we were competently checked in by a pleasant receptionist but that sense of the hotel being guest centric just wasn't evident. Firstlyy, as we were on half board we were told there was a set menu for us (fine) but if we wanted to eat a la carte we could so long as they knew by 3pm. We arrived at 4 pm so that ruled out day 1 option if we had wanted it. Secondly we were told there was a Jacuzzi and Sauna but we needed to book and give an hours notice, presumably to warm it up, save electricity or some other reason but again not very guest focused nor 5* where generally they are just always available.
On to the rooms, ours was a garden room, clean, airy but pretty ordinary and a bit dated. The TV which was years old ( no flat screen digital here and an awful grainy picture )no beverages (we were told we could order room service - but sometimes you don't want to -or could have a kettle but would need to buy the tea bags etc. Again is this 5*?), but there was free wifi, good bathroom, air con and safe
Evening meal, however was excellent in the old house. The five course set menu (€42) was interesting, well cooked and presented with efficient service, that was 5* and you didn't need the a la carte anyway!
Final bit of disappointment was the picnic for our high peaks walk. There was a choice of €12 or €16 option some minor difference. The receptionist pointed out that as we were walking the glass litre bottle of water (with bottle opener) they include possibly wasn't practical (agreed so why give it, maybe small plastic bottles would be better) Presentationally it was fabulous in a wicker basket, proper cutlery,flask of freshly squeezed orange juice, Tupperware containers (which unfortunately weren't leak proof so the sugary liquid from the fruit salad ended up over the bedroom floor and backpack - lovely). The hotel simply did not seem to have a grasp of what was needed for a picnic on a walking holiday, yet they cater for the company we used all the time.
In summary, a bit disappointing really, a good hotel just missed the mark on understanding and catering to individual guest needs although praise to the Food and Beverage team who seem to get plenty accolades in the reviews so must be consistently good, well done for that.

Room Tip: Try one in the main building as the garden rooms despite a nice aspect were dated
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay and enjoyed the unfussy personal attention. Meals in the old building were a delight. We had the half-board set meal - five courses of wonderful food and no need to worry about making the right choice from the menu. The wines recommended by the waiter were perfect. So nice to have a proper double bed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We visited the hotel for the second time, the last time being 12 years ago. It was a bit of a treat for us as we have had a hectic year. The great news is that the hotel is even better than we recall from our last visit. A truly 5 star place with service to match. The staff are pleasant and helpful, the rooms (we were given a free upgrade) were spacious and extremely clean. To cap it all the food, which we recalled as being excellent 12 years ago, was even better. We had the fixed half board evening meal during our 2 week stay, and I have to say the 5 course dinner was a delight, with a totally new menu each night. I have no problem with recommending the place to everyone, it is a place we shall return to sooner rather than later. Well worth the price.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I had our final two nights of a walking holiday here. The rooms allocated to our package are the older, standard ones and they are probably not the best, but do have a garden view, are very quiet and the beds are extremely comfortable. The staff courtesy, their hospitality and particularly the food in the Manor House restaurant, is superb. Others have commented on the food standard too. We had the breakfast buffet each morning and the 5 course 'half board' option on both nights (all included in our package with the Headwater holiday), with a glass of the house wine and it all looked identical to the more expensive a la carte option. We were more than happy to stick with the 5 course standard option. The swimming pool and gym look very nice but we didn't use them - we were on a walking holiday! Our only minor suggestion would be to improve the standard rooms; the bathrooms are a little old but still very clean. Above the snack bar near to the pool is a lovely seated lounge which overlooks Funchal. Smoking is allowed in here although we didn't experience anyone wanting to do that. The seating areas, all with antique furnishings, were most attractive and are scattered throughout the hotel buildings.

Room Tip: There is a range of prices - the oldest "standard" rooms are looking a bit tired. Garden v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week's stay at this superb hotel in Madeira. Other reviews have spoken of the excellent service from the highly efficient, yet very friendly staff, and we agree wholeheartedly. The hotel is an elegant home to the owner's collection of antiques and artefacts which he has amassed over many years. Everywhere is absolutely spotless, yet manages to remain comfortable and welcoming too. The gardens are beautiful and offer a pleasant stroll in the evening or early morning with a swim or a work-out in the gym if you feel up to it!

The staff are delightful - Paula, Carla, Alison and Fernando on reception during the day - are only too happy to advise and help with arrangements to make your holiday special and worry-free. Nothing seems to be too much trouble. And the same applies to the restaurant staff - Illarius (sp?) and his team of waiters and waitresses are just brilliant and the standard of service is impeccable.

Finally the food - superb is really the only word I can use. We ate at the two top rated Trip Advisor restaurants in Funchal during our stay and frankly, they weren't a patch on the Bela Vista restaurant. We had also had dinner at The Ivy in London shortly before leaving for Madeira and I have to say that the food at the Bela Vista was better.

All in all, this hotel was one of the nicest we have stayed at in many years of living and travelling the globe. We were grateful to everyone at the Bela Vista for enabling us to have a really wonderful break after a run of health problems - so much appreciated. Thank you all of you.

Room Tip: We had a superior room with balcony in the main building. It is not a large hotel so is pretty quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quinta da Bela Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Bela Vista

Address: Caminho Avista Navios, 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Business Hotel in Funchal
#15 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Bela Vista 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to give you the warm and genuine hospitality of the traditional Madeiran Quintas. There are many moments to be cherished at Quinta da Bela Vista, one of the most select and exclusive family properties on Madeira island. This five star hotel enveloped in two hectares of luxurious botanical gardens – the ideal place to relax and enjoy spectacular views - hosts a significant antiques private collection. Our commitment ensures every guest wishes are fulfilled, making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Venere, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Quinta da Bela Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Bela Vista Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta da Bela Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.