We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Bela Vista

Save Saved
You added Quinta da Bela Vista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
Quinta da Bela Vista
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caminho Avista Navios, 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 91 hotels in Funchal
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week's stay at this superb hotel in Madeira. Other reviews have spoken of the excellent service from the highly efficient, yet very friendly staff, and we agree wholeheartedly. The hotel is an elegant home to the owner's collection of antiques and artefacts which he has amassed over many years. Everywhere is absolutely spotless, yet manages to remain comfortable and welcoming too. The gardens are beautiful and offer a pleasant stroll in the evening or early morning with a swim or a work-out in the gym if you feel up to it!

The staff are delightful - Paula, Carla, Alison and Fernando on reception during the day - are only too happy to advise and help with arrangements to make your holiday special and worry-free. Nothing seems to be too much trouble. And the same applies to the restaurant staff - Illarius (sp?) and his team of waiters and waitresses are just brilliant and the standard of service is impeccable.

Finally the food - superb is really the only word I can use. We ate at the two top rated Trip Advisor restaurants in Funchal during our stay and frankly, they weren't a patch on the Bela Vista restaurant. We had also had dinner at The Ivy in London shortly before leaving for Madeira and I have to say that the food at the Bela Vista was better.

All in all, this hotel was one of the nicest we have stayed at in many years of living and travelling the globe. We were grateful to everyone at the Bela Vista for enabling us to have a really wonderful break after a run of health problems - so much appreciated. Thank you all of you.

Room Tip: We had a superior room with balcony in the main building. It is not a large hotel so is pretty quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    425
    61
    18
    7
    0
See reviews for
67
336
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
salisbury
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were lucky enough to get an amazing deal to stay at this luxury five star hotel in early March and the experience was well, lovely. From the moment we stepped through the doors we were made very welcome, all the staff spoke english (apart from the courtesy bus driver but he understood more than he spoke) - even the chambermaids.

The luxury of clean sheets and towels every day was fantastic and everything was kept sparkling clean. The room was furnished in standard hotel furniture but the public rooms all had lovely antique furniture and paintings. The pool was clean and the pool bar menu reasonably priced.

So, only four rated? Well, the gardens are lovely but the trees have been allowed to grow so tall that they blocked out the light from the room we were given, which meant we had to put the lights on during the day. Also the food was excellent but I expected the set menu to be cheaper than a la carte and 42.50 euros was a bit steep for the 4 course set menu in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the block to left of reception as these get the most light (but are probably more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have chosen this hotel guided by the Tripadvisor website, and I have had no regrets; many people have liked it and a very few haven’t; and I decided to have a go.

Madeira is a very beautiful island in the middle of the Atlantic with a dramatic weather; strong winds all the time and occasional rain that may last for days; a gamble which was worth taking. Madeira is a place to relax and be pampered (and gain some weight); most visitors are “mature” and appreciative of “tender attention.” And the place delivers it!

The main point: the service; the staff was very friendly and helpful. We all know that the success of businesses depends heavily on the provision of personalised service; but at the Quinta da Bela Vista the service reaches another level: a genuine concern for your stay and wellbeing - from the reception to the pool bar. For instance, Ms Magda at the pool bar was particularly warm, helpful, attentive, and efficient. One may look at any hotel staff as part of the business, but very rarely staff can be so honestly concerned about helping people to have the best time.

The hotel is beautiful; a quite haven hosting a gallery of wonderful pieces of restored antique furniture surrounded by a sub-tropical collection of trees and shrubs. The restaurant is a delight: the old and gorgeous building makes people feel special, and so are most of the dishes on offer; and of course, the pristine service. Only one minor drawback: the breakfast, a minor disappointment during my visit. Portuguese cuisine is characterised by a rich variety of breads, cakes, ham and so on. This is a five star hotel with a relatively small number of customers (thanks God for that). Its breakfast might be improved by offering of a variety of freshly baked cakes (better than the few available at the moment) and bread (avoiding the hard, dry and over baked croissants – a proper recipe is required and there are produces in Portugal to produce it), poached eggs (not fried), omelettes cooked to order, high quality ham (Portugal is the place for it) as opposed to unappealing paled processed meat.

Overall, never mind the breakfast; this is a special place which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

It is very difficult to criticise this hotel. Everything is absolutely superb. The location, the rooms, the food, service, all are close to perfect.
Very highly recommended.
Set 10 minutes walk up the hill from most Funchal hotels the peace and quiet here is wonderful. Hotel minibus runs downtown regularly and is very punctual. If you want the noise and bustle of Funchal you just go downtown but up here all is peaceful !
Beautiful gardens, great restaurant, friendly staff.
What more could anyone ask for ?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRID
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have just spent a lovely weekend at this wonderfull quinta-hotel, A friendly and helpfull staff ready to help whatever you need. Excellent food and a beatifull garden and facilites. We look forward to repeat soon

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had an excellent week at this hotel. It is set in beautiful grounds and has a dramatic view over Funchal bay and the hills. The hotel is meticulously cared for and the staff are very attentive and friendly. They can never do enough to please you. The food in the restaurant is unbelievably good and the chef catered imaginatively for a vegetarian diet, producing something different and original every evening. The free mini bus into town was bonus. Tea and cake on the terrace late afternoon is a must. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Choose as garden facing room with balcony in the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed a week at this quietly elegant hotel set in a peaceful garden high about the bustle of Funchal. Mini-bus service available to the centre. Lovely pool and superb food. All staff extremely helpful and friendly. You can be assured of high standards and a warm welcome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quinta da Bela Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Bela Vista

Also Known As:
Quinta Da Bela Vista Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Hotel
Quinta Da Bela Vista Madeira/Funchal
Address: Caminho Avista Navios, 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Business Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Bela Vista 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to give you the warm and genuine hospitality of the traditional Madeiran Quintas. There are many moments to be cherished at Quinta da Bela Vista, one of the most select and exclusive family properties on Madeira island. This five star hotel enveloped in two hectares of luxurious botanical gardens – the ideal place to relax and enjoy spectacular views - hosts a significant antiques private collection. Our commitment ensures every guest wishes are fulfilled, making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HostelBookers, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Quinta da Bela Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta da Bela Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.