We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel off the beaten track” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Bela Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quinta da Bela Vista to your Saves list
Quinta da Bela Vista
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caminho Avista Navios, 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel off the beaten track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Quinta da Bela Vista for about a week in October (for work reasons), and found the overall experience a very pleasant one. The accommodation was nice, the hotel had very nice gardens and a great pool area with views over Funchal. The staff were always very helpful and attentive, and there were lots of good options for breakfast. It is a little bit off the beaten track - about a 40-minute walk to central Funchal (I made the mistake of walking back to the hotel uphill at the end of the day, which nearly killed me) - but the hotel does provide a bus service into downtown Funchal (and a taxi only cost around €8-9). Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    69
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
71
379
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A fabulous hotel with very kind, attentive and warm staff. Chosen in preference to the main hotels along the "strip" in downtown Funchal which by comparison lacked any soul. Courtesy bus is available but taxi was only a 7 - 9 euros. Could not recommend it more highly. Stephen

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horley
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked this hotel last minute having been there once for a meal on a previous visit to Madeira (15 in all) We got a fabulous rate, not permitted to say but try it yourself.
We were given a room in the adjoining building to the hotel which has some half the total number of bedrooms. The room was spacious, well fitted with good bathroom and separate toilet and with TV and 6ft double bed, not zipped together twins. Linen all changed daily if required.
The carpets could all do with a shampoo but as in a pale orange, not a good choice in the first place. The hospitatily of the staff was excellent with Paula being the star.
The 3 acre gardens, pool and gym and jacuzzi are a bonus as is the tennis and frequent free bus to town 6 times a day. Free WiFi everywhere.
The area is very quiet and some 2 miles fom the centre of funchal. 2 nice pub cafes very closeby.
The buffet breakfast is the best in Maderia and the restaurant first class and not too pricey.
The bar drinks and coffees however, are riduculously expensive at 4.5e for a small beer and 3.50 for a coffee. Apart from this drift into the realms of fantasy pricing the hotel is a first choice for me next time. (bring your own beer)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Never a place made me feel so welcoming and so relaxed! Service and staff was amazing and so accommodating ! The restaurant is well worth a visit and the views of Funchal from the pool bar it s a must... And even better views if you can stay at the penthouse! Quinta Bella Vista is the perfect example of the great welcoming service from Madeira island!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dombås, Oppland, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent 14 days at this atmospheric hotel this year (2012). The locations ar frienly and homely. The staff is absolutely wonderful. During our stay we experienced a service high above average, and stunning surroundings. The hotel are best for couples from 35 years and older. Dress code is casual, but dress informal (US) for dinner. You are living in a beautiful garden with a nice view to the city from the pool area.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, but choose room with a balcony, then you can relly enjoy the scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our fifth visit to this hotel but after a four-year break. We were welcomed by the head waiter with a greeting of "Welcome Home". All of the staff (bar one) we had met before, some have been there twenty years. The standard of care and service is as high as ever (if that's a time warp then I love it).
Our arrival date was my wife's birthday so, although on b & b, I had emailed ahead for a table in the a la carte restaurant. Within half an hour of arrival a bottle of sparkling wine was delivered to our room with a Happy Birthday greeting. The meal was excellent and at a reasonable price for the standard and venue.
As far as the rooms are concerned they are first class looking out over the gardens. It's not a hotel for great sea views from most rooms. All linen was changed daily.
The views from the poolside are fantastic and there is a bar offering light meals and drinks during the day.
Small criticisms were that they seem to have cut back on the frequency of mini-bus departures to Funchal and the sauna and jacussi are fired up only on request.
It's a 45 minute down-hill walk into Funchal or about €8 by taxi. Walking back is not for the faint-hearted.
The breakfast buffet gives a great selection of hot and cold with plenty of fresh fruit.
Most of our meals were taken at the cafes and restaurants of Funchal.
I hope that it will not be another four years before we return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel is a converted mansion house set in beautiful gardens on the hillside above Funchal centre. It is small (circa 77 rooms), but has all the facilities of a larger hotel (pool, bar, fitness centre,tennis court, high quality restaurant, 24 hour service, spa treatments and well appointed bedrooms). Due to its size however the hotel had an intimate feel (the staff couldn't do enough), and it's location provided stunning views over Funchal harbour. As others have mentioned there is a courtesy bus into town and although this stops around 17.30 taxis are readily available and only cost 7-10 euros for the trip into or back from town. The only little criticism I would have would be the breakfast ; which was a bit limited.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta da Bela Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Bela Vista

Address: Caminho Avista Navios, 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Bela Vista 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to give you the warm and genuine hospitality of the traditional Madeiran Quintas. There are many moments to be cherished at Quinta da Bela Vista, one of the most select and exclusive family properties on Madeira island. This five star hotel enveloped in two hectares of luxurious botanical gardens – the ideal place to relax and enjoy spectacular views - hosts a significant antiques private collection. Our commitment ensures every guest wishes are fulfilled, making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Quinta da Bela Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Bela Vista Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta da Bela Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.