We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where no tour bus dare go!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Up Mountain Madeira

Up Mountain Madeira
Estrada da Camacha | São Gonçalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-311, Portugal
+351 925 964 335
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 78 Activities in Funchal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: we love our island and love to show and give you the real Madeira! The Up Mountain Madeira tours started in the beginning of 2012 , taking our visitors as friends that want to see and try Madeira, far away from the tourist crowds and boring, soulless tours and trafic tourist convoys. Our tours are always done by a certified guide, by foot or in an open classic UMM jeep, all done in a very calm safe and relaxed way. we have our shared jeep regular tours, with max 7 persons and also can tailor out your tour,for you and your party, focusing what you love the most, so if you think you got what it's needed, and brave enough to leave your cosy sofa, to really live Madeira, take a ride with us. discover the real traditional places, markets and people. Madeira is famous for its exuberant nature and its fantastic climate, but also for its people hospitality..and we know that Madeira has so much to offer and best is hiking trails, paths and levadas by foot or by jeep.No Crowds, No Rush, small groups, great adventures! we are a certified and bounded tourism animation company by the Portuguese government under license 118/M/2011 and all our activities are covered and insured
Altrincham, England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Where no tour bus dare go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Not exactly tour bus air conditioned comfort, (but actually beautifully air conditioned with the jeep's top down), this was an exciting fun trip with Nicolau. He collected us on time at our hotel as arranged and off we went on a very special drive to Porto Moniz: over the tops through forests; on dirt roads no tour bus would even look at; high across the Paul de Serra and down an incredibly steep and winding route to an excellent lunch stop at Porto Moniz.
After lunch, time to stroll around Porto Moniz before driving along the north coast, past small bays and towering waterfalls, before cutting inland with a stop at a small tabena da poncha for a glass of this Madeiran speciality. We were returned to our hotel a little shaken but very stirred. Nicolau is the exact opposite of a tour guide sitting at the front with a microphone. You are his guests, but quickly become his friends as he shows you the hidden Madeira and chats away with both insight and pride in his island home.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolauCamara, CFO - Chief of Fun Operations at Up Mountain Madeira, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
My friends, thank you so much for the beautifull words.. poncha as that efect shaken not stired, and some times the reverse. hehehe miss you

Nicolau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    4
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nicolau ROCKS!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Perhaps our best "tour" of all of our travels........Italian Days in Bologna tied or a close second. Don't be a tourist confined to a bus and a cookie cutter agenda. Hang out with an authentic, proud Maderian who will take you off the beaten path and show you some of the best the island has to offer. Nicolau is fun, personable, incredibly knowledgeable and most of all........passionate!!!!!! An instant friend. I can still taste the poncha!!!!!!!.........and thanks for imparting the wisdom that my heritage is converted portuguese sephardic!!!!!!!!! Quite an epiphany at this stage in my life.

The tour for an all day experience cost less than our taxi from the airport. Great value!!!!

Jeanna and I can't thank you enough!!!!!!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolauCamara, CFO - Chief of Fun Operations at Up Mountain Madeira, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello my friend, you dont imagine the proud and honored i am so you choosed me to show you the land were you have your roots heritage!!

Its not you that should thank me, but i should thank you

Remember you are Madeiran.. and a good Madeiran allways come home.. thats a proven teory :D

Take care my friend

Nicolau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My best experience in Funchal, will be back soon for this !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had Nicholau with us and he is the most amazing tour guide I ever had. He drove us all the way to the East and discovered the best scenery in Madeira. He is not a just tour guide but also the witness for my friend's proposal. He managed to prepare the flower and set up everything to surprise the couples. At the end, he brought us to a bar which one of the C Ronaldo 's friend opened. You should try the most traditional drinks - Pocha and Beer+ice-cream there.

If you want to find out real Madeira, please look for Up Mountain Madeira!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolauCamara, CFO - Chief of Fun Operations at Up Mountain Madeira, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
hello Alex, thank you for providing such a beautifull experience in my work!!

Coiunt on me on honkkong for the mariage heheeh

Big hig miss you all

Nicolau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“High spot of the week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We did the east tour. there were just four of us on the 4X4 (an UMM - which is French I believe) Soon out of Funchal you leave the rods and to drive through some hairy forest tracks and are encouraged to stand yp through the open top of the "jeep". Ducking for tree branches is essential though and great fun.
We didn't once ever feel worried for safety - and we are in our late sixties. Nicolai, as everyone says, is an excellent guide and he ensured we stopped at places off the beaten routes. One does feel superior as you pass the rows of coaches stopping for souvenirs and coffee and stop at a delightful coffee house with no-one else there - places you just wouldn't stop at if you had been on your own. Magic. Thanks Nicolai.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolauCamara, CFO - Chief of Fun Operations at Up Mountain Madeira, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello my good friend.. in fact wy would i stop in crowded souvenir shop with overpriced coffee.. if a litle bit more futher there is a local place, wiith local prices.. and much more calm? Im glad that the people that go with me are like your self..that really want to find the real Madeira.. thank you so much my friend for the nice words

Nicolau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best day in Madeira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We did the East tour with Nicolau. The drive on backside roads up the mountain standing in the
back of the jeep was exhilarating. We saw the real Madeira far from all the tourists.
Nice levada walk and very good lunch at a local restaurant. We ended the day by drinking ponche. Our biggest regret is that Nicolau was already booked for the West tour during our stay.
It was the highlight of our vacation in Madeira.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolauCamara, CFO - Chief of Fun Operations at Up Mountain Madeira, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hellooo, thank you so much.. you saw my jeep.. its small.. so i get full very easily :(..well next time i promisse, we will go to the west as well :)

Thankk youuu

Nicolau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up Mountain Madeira also viewed

 

Been to Up Mountain Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Up Mountain Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.