We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Cable Car

Monte Cable Car
Avenida do Mar | Jardim do Almirante Reis, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
+351-291-780-280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 101 things to do in Funchal
Attraction details
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Superb Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A trip on the cable car is something we always do on our visits to Funchal .We chose a clear ,sunny day ,early morning so we could explore the delights of Monte Village .
A visit to the church is a must ,as well as viewing the toboggans as they take off on their journey downhill .
The area provides commanding views of Funchal and the harbour .The Municipal Gardens of Monte are well worth a visit (free to visit ) and an effort must be made to visit the attractive village square and the drinking fountain of Our Lady of Monte .We had a coffee in a delightful café in the square whilst listening to a young girl playing an accordion .
A morning well spent .

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,831
    1,276
    273
    27
    7
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Big day for my wife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife is terrified of heights so this was real big deal getting her up in this cable car. You have great views over Funchal and €15 a head return is probably about right. So that's the height thing taken care of. Now it's the spiders.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

It's just a great way to get to the church at Monte - unless you're very athletic you'd never make the climb, otherwise. Yes, you do have to take pot luck on sharing a car but that's not really a problem. You also get a voucher to go shopping in the little tourist shop at the top.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“stunning views of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We brought a return ticket with a trip to the tropical gardens of Monte.

Each cable car takes 6 people is well ventilated (provided windows are all open) and are very stable despite 6 people moving around to take photos. Upon entering the car a photographer tries to take your photo. By the time you reach the top your photo has been printed and a group of pushy women try to sell it to you. We were not interrested and so cannot comment on the price. I did not apprecitate being set upon in this way - it was like saying no to a street vendor in Paris at a tourist spot. I.e. you gotta say no a few times before they get the picture!
There is a little restaurant at the top with very reasonable prices. We had two expressos and some choclate cake. What spolit the experience was someone puffing on a fat cigar which was very unpleasant and not good for my pregnant wife. You will find that much of Madeira allows smoking anywhere and I guess we are too used to relying on the smoking ban to ensure you are never seated mext to smokers when eating or drinking.

The view from the top is beautiful as is the ascent. You need to have a good walk around at the top to find the better view points as there are a lot of trees obstructing you view of the city below.

We went into the pretty church. Nearby there was a street vendor selling garlic bread and a chorizo sausage roll which we brought for a snack on the way down. nom nom very tasty! On the way down we waited around to ensure that we could have a car to ourselves.

This is a great way to get up to Monte to see some of the best views of the city.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“On a clear day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great experience. Super views. Get one way and come back down on the toboggan ride. Do it in the morning as the clouds tend to drop in the afternoon.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Cable Car also viewed

 
Porto Moniz, Madeira
 

Been to Monte Cable Car? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Cable Car, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.