We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quintinha Sao Joao to your Saves list
Quintinha Sao Joao
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Levada de Sao Joao 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Odiham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

If you want a modern hotel right in the centre of Funchal then this is not the hotel for you! However, if you are looking for a quiet , relaxing and friendly hotel a short walk from town, situated in lovely gardens then this is your hotel. We had a lovely week at the QSJ . The rooms were spacious , yes the mini bar is expensive but room service is good value. The rooms and bathroom are spotless as is the rest of the hotel complimented by beautiful flower arrangements. The breakfast buffet is vast and the service excellent!! We ate in the restuarant one night which had a interesting menu but with so many different and varying places to eat nearby you are spoilt for choice. Happy is fun and excellent value !!
All the staff were so friendly and helpful and went out their way to make you feel welcome.
This was out first time in Madiera and it won't be out last at his lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We are delighted to hear that you had such a successful holiday at the Quintinha de São João and even more so that you say that it will not be your last visit and that you intend on returning one day.

We are glad that you made use of or restaurant and bar facilities and that you enjoyed the experience. I will certainly pass on your comments to the rest of the team who will be very pleased that you felt so welcome – you definitely were!

Thank you for sharing your impressions with TripAdvisor and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    86
    20
    10
    0
See reviews for
64
486
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

What a stunning place, fantastic service, wonderful facilities, overall a fabulous hotel. For any couple this is a must place to stay in Funchal. The staff are great, very helpful whenever the need arises. The restaurant be it for breakfast or evening meals is excellent. The whole experience of the week in this hotel was fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We are so delighted that you enjoyed your recent holiday at the Quintinha de São João and thank you very much for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor.

I will pass on your comments to the rest of our staff and know they join me in saying how much we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel did not quite come up to the expectations I had from its reviews. We were in Room 207 which was facing towards a quite busy road - when sitting on our balcony there was significant traffic noise - but this was silenced by closing the patio doors. Wouldn't recommend Room 201 which would be right next to the road. There was also significant noise from vehicles at the adjoining large hotel - heard rather often when sitting by the outside pool. However, the gardens are beautiful with very tall trees etc and also quiet (other than traffic noise). The inside of the hotel is also very well appointed with things like old furniture, original art work and flower decorations. Most areas were carpeted or had "wooden" floors. We were amused to find that the third floor had thicker carpet for the "best" rooms. We had a nice big twin bedded room with bathroom, bed area, lounge area and small balcony. The beds we found really firm for our taste, but the sheets were changed virtually every day as were the towels. The cleaning was first class and daily of course. We were tickled by the fact that they came and turned down your beds every afternoon. We used the bathrobes which were supplied for going to and from the indoor pool which was on the second floor. Our room looked very slightly jaded though - the "wooden" floor was a bit tatty as was the bathroom shelf on which the robes were stored. We had B&B and enjoyed the selection offered. We did not particularly like the allegedly freshly cooked eggs - they were virtually cold when they arrived. However, there was plenty else to eat but this did not significantly differ from a good hotel's breakfast buffet except that the orange juice was very nice. We ate dinner there one night - it was OK but not worth the 43 euro we paid though again the service was good. We took 20 minutes to walk down to town and found a very good selection of restaurants. Amenities in the room: flat-screen TV with a few English channels, very pricey minibar, free wi-fi, free safety deposit, settee, other random not very useful furniture such as a desk and dressing table, and balcony with a small table and 2 chairs. If you wanted any extra hot drinks you had to buy them (we took a travel kettle). The worst bit was the bathroom - the shower was the sort that comes off the taps and was very difficult to adjust to the right temperature. The bath was OK for me to sit in, but some of the large people staying at this hotel could not possibly have sat down. Shower come shampoo was provided and soap and bath salts. Tissues and a hair dryer also supplied. I felt that they could definitely have maintained the swimming pools better - the walls of the outdoor pool could have done with a clean - the man just used a robotic cleaner to pick stuff off the floor of the pool. Both pools were heated. The indoor pool was very warm - which made it suitable for young children (of which there were just a few). The small gym had working equipment (but the fitness balls needed inflating). We enjoyed the games room and played both table tennis and pool. Their Guest Relations lady - Rosie - booked 2 trips for us and was pretty knowledgeable about the island. We loved Madeira and staying in a relatively small hotel. Not sure if we would go back to the QSJ. We didn't use the spa - it seemed very expensive.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We are sorry that you have doubts in returning to the Quintinha de São João in the future and that the hotel did not come up to your expectations.

Whilst making every effort possible to ensure your Quintinha and Madeiran holiday experiences are delightful and truly memorable it is naturally disappointing when we do not succeed.

Yours sincerely
André Barrto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

we have just returned from the Quintinha Sao Joao , its our second trip to the hotel and it never fails to be brilliant! The staff and the service is wonderful and we cant wait to go back ! We particularly like the pool and the spa

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you so much for coming back to see us again and thank you for your kind comments.

We also look forward immensly to welcoming you back to your home in Madeira in the near future!

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
Andre Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I shouldn't tell you all this,but when the Saturday 'Times' recently included this hotel in its 'Best 50 Summer Holiday Bargains',my secret that what this hotel costs against what it should in terms of quality,service and standards of staff and housekeeping,was out of the bag.If you want a relaxing week with top-class service surrounded by beautiful gardens along with staggering value for money,then you will not be disappointed.It is lovely.Unlike my other favourite holiday destinations,Benidorm,Lanzarote and Majorca,you won't need a holiday to recover from your holiday here.Totally relaxing.
This was our third stay here and we were surprised it was comparatively quiet for a UK Whit holiday week.It deserves to be full.We'd booked a hire car via Rosie,the Customer Liaison lady,for 3 days and as the Madeiran weather proved to be as mercurial as ever with 3 consecutive cloudy days,getting about the island a bit made a nice contrast to the rest of the week spent within the hotel grounds enjoying long lunches,sunbathing (when the sun was out !) and slumbering in the marvellous solarium and indoor pool (when it wasn't).As other reviewers have noted,the gym's good too,a boon for us keep-fit types as this part of Madeira is perhaps the only place I've stayed world-wide,Bangkok apart,that running outside is a no-no given the hilly (and that's an understatement !) nature of the local geography.
The restaurant food was excellent too and we ate there 6 nights out of 7.Massive tip - Do not miss the Masterchef night - really,really impresssive and great idea.Only slight criticism is that the new dinner menu is a little limited and you can quite easily go 'through the card' over a week.But enough bah humbug.
Massive tip 2 - Happy Hour - half price on what are already bargain drink prices and I found myself paying 11 euros or so for 3 beers and 3 cocktails.Marvellous.
Marvellous too are the staff,to a person.Professional,dignified,friendly and affable,from gardeners to cleaning ladies.
Back to my original theme though,and not long after our first visit,this hotel made another Saturday 'Times' list,namely that of 'Best 50 Luxury Hotels In Europe',which is probably a more fitting award given how good it is and the standards it seeks and attains.However,in terms of value for money for what you pay,the 'Best Holiday Bargain' award is pretty spot-on too.And how many hotels would made both of those lists ? Exactly.One.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your time, effort and support in placing your review on TripAdvisor. It makes for interesting reading and we like your “massive tips”!

We are deighted travellers feel that we are good value for money and are proud that we featured in the Saturday “Times”. Our regular guests always keep us up to par with what is going on and we were alterted to this fact. Thank you.

It appears that you have made full use of our facilities and spent your time in Madeira very well… a mixture of exploring the island and relaxing at our Quintinha is perfect.

We thank you for choosing the Quintinha São João for a third time and we look forward to visit number four in the near future.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

What can I say that has not been said about the hotel. It is a terrific hotel with the staff being ever so friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Yes it is a bit of a walk into the centre but taxis are available at no great cost. ,Our first visit, on our honeymoon, and hopefully not be the last to this charming,delightful hotel. If going to Funchal stay here but make sure there is a room for our return!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
We never tire of hearing that you have enjoyed your holiday and thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor.

It is true that nothing is too much trouble for us; if it can be done, we will certainly do it!

Thank you for choosing our Quintinha for your honeymoon and we wish you every happiness in the future, hoping that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back for many years and anniversaries to come.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

QSJ is a small hotel with personal service. We had a junior suite which was huge, with a dressing area, sitting area, separate shower and bath and a separate WC. The rooms are clean and well appointed with adjoining 3ft beds.

We were B&B so we walked into town in the evening which is 30 mins to the old town, down hill all the way. So you know what that means for the trip home. We walked most nights, but is was only €7 in a taxi if the walk is too much.

The service was attentive and polite. Drinks and snacks are reasonable priced and the patio is a great place for lunch or a pre dinner or after dinner drink.

We were very pleased we chose the QSJ.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your impressions of your recent holiday at the Quintinha de São João.

Our Junior Suites are indeed very large and well appointed, overlooking our gardens. We are pleased that you enjoyed our service and the patio of our Vasco da Gama Bar – yes, it certainly is a lovely place to finish off your day or enjoy lunch in the sun.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua da Levada de Sao Joao 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quintinha Sao Joao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.