We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned from the wonderful Quintinha Sao Joao” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quintinha Sao Joao to your Saves list
Quintinha Sao Joao
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Levada de Sao Joao, 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Just returned from the wonderful Quintinha Sao Joao”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

we have just returned from the Quintinha Sao Joao , its our second trip to the hotel and it never fails to be brilliant! The staff and the service is wonderful and we cant wait to go back ! We particularly like the pool and the spa

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you so much for coming back to see us again and thank you for your kind comments.

We also look forward immensly to welcoming you back to your home in Madeira in the near future!

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
Andre Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    95
    22
    10
    0
See reviews for
70
558
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I shouldn't tell you all this,but when the Saturday 'Times' recently included this hotel in its 'Best 50 Summer Holiday Bargains',my secret that what this hotel costs against what it should in terms of quality,service and standards of staff and housekeeping,was out of the bag.If you want a relaxing week with top-class service surrounded by beautiful gardens along with staggering value for money,then you will not be disappointed.It is lovely.Unlike my other favourite holiday destinations,Benidorm,Lanzarote and Majorca,you won't need a holiday to recover from your holiday here.Totally relaxing.
This was our third stay here and we were surprised it was comparatively quiet for a UK Whit holiday week.It deserves to be full.We'd booked a hire car via Rosie,the Customer Liaison lady,for 3 days and as the Madeiran weather proved to be as mercurial as ever with 3 consecutive cloudy days,getting about the island a bit made a nice contrast to the rest of the week spent within the hotel grounds enjoying long lunches,sunbathing (when the sun was out !) and slumbering in the marvellous solarium and indoor pool (when it wasn't).As other reviewers have noted,the gym's good too,a boon for us keep-fit types as this part of Madeira is perhaps the only place I've stayed world-wide,Bangkok apart,that running outside is a no-no given the hilly (and that's an understatement !) nature of the local geography.
The restaurant food was excellent too and we ate there 6 nights out of 7.Massive tip - Do not miss the Masterchef night - really,really impresssive and great idea.Only slight criticism is that the new dinner menu is a little limited and you can quite easily go 'through the card' over a week.But enough bah humbug.
Massive tip 2 - Happy Hour - half price on what are already bargain drink prices and I found myself paying 11 euros or so for 3 beers and 3 cocktails.Marvellous.
Marvellous too are the staff,to a person.Professional,dignified,friendly and affable,from gardeners to cleaning ladies.
Back to my original theme though,and not long after our first visit,this hotel made another Saturday 'Times' list,namely that of 'Best 50 Luxury Hotels In Europe',which is probably a more fitting award given how good it is and the standards it seeks and attains.However,in terms of value for money for what you pay,the 'Best Holiday Bargain' award is pretty spot-on too.And how many hotels would made both of those lists ? Exactly.One.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your time, effort and support in placing your review on TripAdvisor. It makes for interesting reading and we like your “massive tips”!

We are deighted travellers feel that we are good value for money and are proud that we featured in the Saturday “Times”. Our regular guests always keep us up to par with what is going on and we were alterted to this fact. Thank you.

It appears that you have made full use of our facilities and spent your time in Madeira very well… a mixture of exploring the island and relaxing at our Quintinha is perfect.

We thank you for choosing the Quintinha São João for a third time and we look forward to visit number four in the near future.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

What can I say that has not been said about the hotel. It is a terrific hotel with the staff being ever so friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Yes it is a bit of a walk into the centre but taxis are available at no great cost. ,Our first visit, on our honeymoon, and hopefully not be the last to this charming,delightful hotel. If going to Funchal stay here but make sure there is a room for our return!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
We never tire of hearing that you have enjoyed your holiday and thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor.

It is true that nothing is too much trouble for us; if it can be done, we will certainly do it!

Thank you for choosing our Quintinha for your honeymoon and we wish you every happiness in the future, hoping that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back for many years and anniversaries to come.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

QSJ is a small hotel with personal service. We had a junior suite which was huge, with a dressing area, sitting area, separate shower and bath and a separate WC. The rooms are clean and well appointed with adjoining 3ft beds.

We were B&B so we walked into town in the evening which is 30 mins to the old town, down hill all the way. So you know what that means for the trip home. We walked most nights, but is was only €7 in a taxi if the walk is too much.

The service was attentive and polite. Drinks and snacks are reasonable priced and the patio is a great place for lunch or a pre dinner or after dinner drink.

We were very pleased we chose the QSJ.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your impressions of your recent holiday at the Quintinha de São João.

Our Junior Suites are indeed very large and well appointed, overlooking our gardens. We are pleased that you enjoyed our service and the patio of our Vasco da Gama Bar – yes, it certainly is a lovely place to finish off your day or enjoy lunch in the sun.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Yet another fabulous stay in our favourite, beautiful hotel. We cannot thank the staff enough for their kindness. We have returned many times and will continue to do so. Thankyou to all. Rose and Chris Gradwell.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Gradwell,

Thank you very much for always supporting us and also for saying how much you enjoy your holidays at the Quintinha de São João.

We always look forward to your visits and hope to welcome you back as soon as possible for your next break in your Home in Madeira. You are part of the family!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Yes, really - simply the best hotel we have ever stayed in. This was a return visit for us, and I can only reiterate what I said in my review following our first visit a year ago. This relatively small hotel offers such a high level of excellent facilities that would be quite sufficient for a five star review. But the whole experience in staying here is thoroughly complemented by the truly lovely, friendly, efficient and courteous staff - all of them without exception. In addition, this beautiful small hotel provides a wonderfully warm Portuguese ambience throughout - from the large, extremely comfortable, and well equipped bedrooms, to the very attractive bar which opens on to the terrace overlooking the beautiful gardens, and the two swimming pools, not forgetting the restaurant where a fantastic breakfast is served offering a vast range of fresh fruits, cold meats, cheese, croissants, cakes, as well as bacon and eggs etc which are always available and cooked to order. This hotel is so very different from the vast impersonal hotels set in out of town locations and where you feel you could be anywhere in the world. This hotel provides a very integral part of your Portuguese experience, and for us that is such a major plus. We will definitely be returning - can't wait!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with balconies overlooking the wonderful gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We are so happy to read your review of your recent holiday at the Quintinha de São João and thank you very much for your continuing support. It is most heartening to read that you can reiterate what you said on your first visit and that you continue to find the Quintinha São João and Portuguese experiences to your liking. We pride ourselves on the fact that we provide an authentic and personal service and are so glad that we have achieved this where you are concerned.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff – I will be delighted to pass them on to the rest of the team.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and thank you for writing such a glowing and complimentary review.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Have just returned from a week long stay at the hotel and can only commend it and although as with everywhere there will be niggles I can honestly say I couldn't find fault. We stayed in a room on the ground floor with a terrace overlooking a part of the garden. The room was very comfortable and also quiet. I know other guests have mentioned road noise and barking dogs and whilst these were evident round the hotel they were never heard in the room.

The bar area was our favourite place to sit and relax the staff there were wonderful. Here they do a lunch/snack menu which is great value and we found ourselves eating lunch here most days. Happy hour everyday is also a must for pre-dinner cocktails at 3 euros each. Also due to the small nature of the hotel this area never feels too busy and is relaxing.

Breakfast is another treat with a large buffet selection as well as the cooked options you really shouldn't struggle to find plenty to your liking. We only went on a bed and breakfast basis and ate in the restaurant on one night. I've reviewed the restaurant separately but safe to say if you stay half board I can't see you being disappointed.

The swimming pool was also a great area to relax though it is right next to entrance to the big hotel next door so don't expect perfect tranquillity but then it pays not to forget the hotel is in the middle of Funchal. There were plenty of comfy sunbeds available whilst we stayed with umbrellas for when it got too much.

Overall this hotel was great and I would recommend it to anyone. All the staff were exceptional and it proved to be a little oasis of relaxation in a bustling town. I found Funchal to be great value for money and this place is no exception I would go as far as to call it a bargain. One point which no one else mentioned is that if you aren't inclined to get a taxi in and out of the town it is halfway up a rather large hill christened by Rosie who works at the hotel "cardiac hill". There are a couple of routes into the town and it is a 15-20 minute walk but it is steep especially on a warm day though a perfect excuse to indulge in dessert.

Fantastic stay a proper little gem!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write such a detailed and complimentary review of your recent stay at the Quintinha de São João. We are so very happy that you enjoyed yourselves and your final words are wonderful when you describe us as “...a proper little gem!!”

Yes, our bar is a great place to relax and we are glad that our Happy Hour met with your approval. We have recently changed things to suit our guests even more and have introduced a system whereby our guests can choose their Happy Hour when they wish!

I would like to take this opportunity of thanking you for reviewing our restaurant separately. Your support is much appreciated and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua da Levada de Sao Joao, 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quintinha Sao Joao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.