We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ideal place if you are looking for a cosy place in Madeira” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quintinha Sao Joao to your Saves list
Quintinha Sao Joao
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Levada de Sao Joao, 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The ideal place if you are looking for a cosy place in Madeira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I have just returned from my 4-day stay at Quintinha Sao Joao. I can only recommend this hotel because of the cosy atmosphere. The members of staff are very friendly and nice, professional but not formal, customer - oriented and helpful. The hotel is very relaxing and peaceful: the ideal place if you need to detox from a very busy life in a city like London.

Even if I was there by myself, I have never felt alone as I was feeling connections. Last but not least, some members of staff speak foreign languages very, very well.

Thank you all for having made my stay so good!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so much for showing your support for the Quintinha de São João and for your very kind comments.

We so want you to feel “at home” and are delighted that you found our staff very friendly and nice, professional but informal. Travelling as a single passenger may sometimes be lonely but it will certainly never be the case at the Quintinha!

I shall share your comments with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    93
    21
    10
    0
See reviews for
70
547
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Funchal, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had an excellent Romantic Two day break with 3 course meal and wine included also spa treatment per couple, On arrival was shown to room by receptionist great room very large with separate sitting area. Full body massage with Orange oils this was excellent and very relaxing. I booked it for my wonderful husbands Birthday, on arrival we had a Bottle of Bubbly and fruit complementary. The room we were given 212 is right next to the indoor swimming pool on the roof terrace which was good. We had a excellent meal in the hotel Restaurant, and all the waiting staff were great and very friendly. The day of my wonderful Husbands Birthday we also had a Cake and bottle of Bubbly given to us, all in all a most excellent stay. Diane Bennett Faja Da Ovelha

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Mrs. Bennett,

We are delighted to hear that your Romantic Package was so successful. What a lovely present for your husband and how nice that you were able to share it with him!

We are glad that the bubbly and cake went down well. Many congratulations.

Yes, we agree with you about the package. It gives you a chance to sample all the hotel’s facilities with special emphasis on the Spa and the Restaurant.

Fajã da Ovelha is not far away from Funchal so we do hope that you will call in and see us when you are in town.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gower, Wales
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with friends after staying a week in a villa up North of the Island.
Hotel is a little gem, beautiful gardens to sit in and read and have a quiet drink, an outdoor and indoor swimming pool. Swam in the indoor pool which was lovely and warm and very welcoming.

We had a really nice bedroom with a balcony and could see a little bit of the view through the trees. Bedroom was large and very spacious with a seating area at one end.

Breakfast is wonderful with excellent variety and choices. Enough to set you up for the day!
After breakfast we caught the hotel's shuttle bus in Funchal town. Easy to walk, but it's downhill and not good for my husband's knees. Taxi back was about 5 euros, again saves walking up the hill.

We ate in the restaurant the first night after our happy hour in the bar, a nice way to start the evening! Meal in the restaurant was really nice and beautifully presented. We could have eaten here every night but wanted to sample other restaurants in Funchal town itself.

The two restaurants in Funchal I can recommend, one is LONDRES and the other O Tapassol in the old town. There is also a cafe/bar literally just down the road from the hotel and we had lunch there one day. It doesn't look like much from outside, but the food is home cooked, fresh and is excellent. The fish was fantastic and so cheap. Go upstairs though. Locals eat here so that says it all.

Back to this hotel......I have to say that the staff are wonderful. They make you feel so welcome and at home. All the staff we met were really nice from the bar, restaurant, breakfast and reception. Well done to you all.

We have been to Madeira 3 times but the first at this hotel. On my next visit, I will look no further than Qunitinha Sao Joao, it has everything I look for in a hotel to make my stay comfortable and relaxing.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony and ask for a room on a high floor for a better view overlooking the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We are so pleased that you decided to finish off your holiday at the Quintinha São João and thank you very much for your delightful description of our hotel – A little gem just sounds so special!

We are delighted that you enjoyed our breakfasts, your meal in the restaurant, our facilities and staff. I shall certainly pass on your kind words to the rest of the team and I know that everybody will join me in thanking you for writing your comments on TripAdvisor and hope that you come back to stay with us again soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was our second visit and such a delight to find many of the staff still there and remembered us. The hotel is small and very welcoming and an excellent local bus will get you up the hill in no time at all. The courtesy car is also available. The food in the hotel is very good and beautifully presented - even the fruit left in our room was sliced beautifully. The spa is so relaxing with many treatments available. The indoor pool so clean and warm. Rooms are spacious very clean and very comfortable beds. When we go back to Madeira we will definitely go back to this lovely hotel with staff who smile and are so happy to look after you. Taylors from Aberdeen

Room Tip: Been in 2 rooms and both good - 1st floor is nearer the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Taylor,

It was a pleasure for us to see you both again and thank you very much for coming back! It is true… we really do remain a team and you will always see many familiar faces!

We are grateful for your continuing support and are delighted to read that you enjoyed your second visit as much as the first. We now look forward to welcoming you back a third time!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wombourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

excellent hotel . Me and my wife relaxed and enjoyed each others company in the beautiful surroundings, with first class staff.Close to city centre on a slight hill.
Food great, swimming pool great. Will go again!

Room Tip: high floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We are simply delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent holiday at the Quintinha São João and thank you very much for saying so.

Every now and then, it is just wonderful to relax and pause from busy and demanding lives and we are so pleased that this was your experience at the Quintinha.

We look forward very much to your next visit.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

If you're looking for a relaxing holiday in the most sublime setting,look no further. Every detail is cared for to perfection.
The building and atmosphere are perfect and with Cocktail Parties and Happy Hours,you could be forgiven for thinking you were living a Colonial Lifestyle.
Massive rooms and sumptuous breakfasts complete the luxurious experience.
Nothing seems too much bother for the attentive staff and calmness resonates.
A hidden gem that's worth finding.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
This is exactly the ambiance we wish to create! Living a “Colonial Lifestyle” is a great description of what we are trying to achieve and thank you for sharing this image with TripAdvisor.

Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our staff – yes, we so wish to cater for all our guests’ desires and we are truly genuine in this.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our “hidden gem”.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I was most impressed with this hotel in the following respects:
- staff were courteous and cheerful
- although the hotel was full there was no sense of crowd
- bedroom was extremely large
-hotel furnished to a very high standard
-food was excellent particularly breakfast
- drinks in the bar were modestly priced
It is our firm intention to stay there again

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent holiday so much that you decided to write about us so kindly on TripAdvisor. Many thanks.

Above all, we are delighted with your last point that it is your firm intention to stay here again. We look forward immensely to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua da Levada de Sao Joao, 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quintinha Sao Joao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.