We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a small special hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quintinha Sao Joao to your Saves list
Quintinha Sao Joao
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Levada de Sao Joao 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“a small special hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is tucked away down a small side street and looks rather nondescript from the outside but once inside it is lovely, decorated in the style of an old manor house.
The gardens are small but beautiful, and the outdoor pool is once again on the small side.
The rooms are spacious and clean.
The staff are polite and friendly.
Breakfast is a feast.
The only down side is that it is a 10 minute walk to the main street for any cafes restaurants etc, and it is a rather steep walk back home afterward (a taxi is around 4 euros)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for leaving your thoughts regarding your recent holiday at the Quintinha São João on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you describe us as a small special hotel – this is the way we see ourselves too!

We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Madeira.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    86
    20
    10
    0
See reviews for
64
487
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I find this a difficult hotel to review, on arrival we realised we had made a mistake with our choice of this hotel and immediately tried to change, but with it being the October holidays there was no availability at other preferred 5*hotels, so we were stuck with it for a two weeks, for us the main issues were the outdoor pool area which is very badly designed, with half the loungers by 1pm in the shade, and the other half on a slope making it awkward to lie on as everything slips down, the umbrellas (which were grubby and worn)were fixed and if you wanted a bit of shade had to work round them, we eventually after a couple of goes gave up and tried the indoor pool which is enclosed in a greenhouse on the roof of the property, again this was not a success as the temperature inside was unbearably hot and the pool was like a bath I itched for an hour after swimming here suspect there are a lot of chemicals in this pool. It was only in the middle of the second week that we found out the sides of the greenhouse slide up to let in some air.! The gardens of which they are very proud is a small area which can be strolled thro in less than 30 seconds, and they fail to mention the owners house which takes up a huge area of the grounds,the photographs have been taken at very clever angles not to show this but the lounging area with the hammock is the front garden of this house and is not a very welcoming place to sunbathe. There are benches and seats of various kinds but are dirty and in need of repair with nail heads sticking out.
Directly opposite the hotel are several villas all of which have dogs, they barked all the time which is tolerable in the day but not so good at 2am in the morning and at 6am it was non stop for at least 20 minutes I never had a whole nights sleep for 2 weeks, I realise that this is outside the hotels control but worth considering if you are fancying a lie in.
We ate at the restaurant twice and both times it was a disaster, my husband had a Goan meat curry that had lumps of fat thro it, the second time the fish was inedible, and was just taken away without comment from staff, I feel quality of ingredients need to be looked at, also overpriced for what it was, breakfast was average.would have preferred to have had a whole banana and not cut up pieces. We did eat lunch and that was fine.
I don't like being so negative about a place but after reading other reviews I feel like we were staying in a different hotel , I get the impression other reviewers have been loyal to this establishment and have not experienced other 5* hotels in Funchal I must admit by the end of our stay I was mellowing in my opinion of the place as the rooms were a good size and the lounge / bar area very nice we sat there in the day reading our books but I must give my initial feelings and say this is not a 5* in any sense and please take the time to read all reviews in the average section before choosing this hotel.
The spa was very good and it was definitely 5* only saving grace as far as I am concerned.

Room Tip: We were in junior suit 211 good size room looks into the owners house but a great view of the mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you felt you had made a mistake in choosing the Quintinha São João for your holiday in Madeira. As a “Quinta” we are a totally different product from the large hotels and the experience we offer is one of the true Madeira. We are situated in an area of one hectare and there are lots of secluded areas to sit and enjoy the 300 different plant species.

The “owner’s house” is the beautiful original Portuguese manor house, of which is an essential feature of a “Quinta”. Our photographs do not show this because this is not available on offer. Funnily enough, there was a Tour Operator who showed the house in their brochure and we were inundated with requests for rooms in here!

The “Quinta” experience, together with the service, tranquillity and relaxation is truly unique and we are sorry that you did not enjoy it.

To be fair, we prepare our fruit at breakfast to make it pleasant for our guests to behold as well as to taste but if you had wanted a whole banana then, of course, we would have been delighted to supply this to you.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Such friendly, helpful, courteous service by all members of staff we encountered made this hotel stand out. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the heated pools which were well maintained and never busy. The breakfasts were excellent and the lunch and dinner menus were very good. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend Quintinha São Joao to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday with excellent personal service.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your impression of the Quintinha São João with us and TripAdvisor. I shall certainly be delighted to convey your comments to all members of staff and I am certain that they will join me in saying how heartening it is to hear that their genuine efforts have not gone in vain.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and are just so happy that your holiday has exceeded expectations.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel we were allocated a room we weren't happy with but they managed to change our room the next day and were very helpful in all aspects throughout our holiday. The staff were really friendly and did all they could to make our stay enjoyable. The hotel is quite a steep walk up from Funchal but we needed the exercise to counteract all the good food and drink we consumed!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony and a high floor. The rooms near the road can be a bit noisy but it di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We are sorry that you were not happy with your initial room but are delighted that we were able to remedy this fact quickly.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and TripAdvisor and are simply delighted that you enjoyed our staff and the food and drink and had a great holiday!

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

+
Excellent smaller hotel with high standards of personal and friendly service; all hotel staff spoke good English. Sensibly priced thus very good value. Large well furnished bedroom, with seating area and a small balcony (balcony was a free upgrade for us for whatever reason - we weren't complaining!). Pleasant secluded garden. Two nice swimming pools, the indoor one interestingly at 2nd floor level, over the top of rooms and the bar/lounge area. Useful secure basement car park. Useable free wifi Internet access in bar/reception area. Free daytime shuttle bus to centre of Funchal. Rosie the courtesy desk adviser is normally available to help you plan your week if you want. A British ex-pat who's lived in Madeira for over 20 years - she is very friendly and helpful, a definite selling point for the hotel. Happy hour - half-price drinks between 6.30 and 7.30 - was very welcome and several cocktails were tried. Good/plentiful running-buffet breakfast, with the option of ordering hot food as well - all interestingly referred to as 'eggs', though everything for a full-English was also available. A bit outside the centre of Funchal, so a bit of walk there if you weren't taking the bus or taxi - 20 minutes to main shopping street, 25 minutes to market/old-town restaurants. Overall would definitely recommend/visit again.
-
A couple of minor examples of hotel-style meanness: 1) a charge to put your own items in the mini-bar fridge; 2) ludicrously expensive room wifi cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and for leaving your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you found us good value and that you enjoyed your room upgrade.

You have given a very comprehensive and complimentary overall view of the Quintinha and we are delighted to see that you would both recommend and visit us again.

One item that confuses and concerns me is the fact that you have said that the room Wifi cost is expensive! It is not the policy of the hotel to charge for Wifi in the rooms nor, indeed, in any area of the hotel. We are in the process of updating our routers and equipment for the bedrooms and under no circumstances would we consider charging for a service that, at present, is by no means first class. The bedrooms receive a poor reception and for this we do not charge. I would be grateful if you would let me know personally as to the charge for Wifi and I will look into it most seriously.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We visited for our 10th anniversary at the beginning of September. Thoroughly enjoyable stay where the family atmosphere and genuine care from the staff encouraged the guests to form friendships and relax, the stress and strain ebbed away from us. Highlights for us included the BBQ in the gardens and the Masterchef on the Friday night. If you enjoy peace, quiet and friendly and engaging people you will not be disappointed. Thank you for a last very memorable "coupley" holiday before our first child arrives, we'll need the memories of the calm and tranquility.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your you kind comments and for reviewing the Quintinha on TripAdviser.
It is such a pleasure to see that you enjoyed our staff and yes, the care is 100% genuine! It is also interesting and indeed very heartening to see that you too found the family atmosphere most enjoyable and that you have formed some lasting friendships amongst our other guests!

We are so pleased that you liked “Masterchef” and the BBQ. It is all a bit of fun and we really like doing it!

Many congratulations on the imminent birth of your first child and we hope that we will meet him or her in the future.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua da Levada de Sao Joao 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quintinha Sao Joao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.