We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Run Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quintinha Sao Joao to your Saves list
Quintinha Sao Joao
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Levada de Sao Joao 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Kent UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well Run Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Lovely clean hotel. Large room, comfortable beds and good bathroom. The double bed was two singles pushed together but we didn't find this a problem. The hotel has two pools, both kept nice and clean. Always sun loungers available. Breakfasts are very good with a buffet and cooked on offer. No complaints at all. Location is just outside Funchal rather than the majority which are west of Funchal the Lido area. In my opinion it is a much nicer location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Quintinha São João. We are delighted that you found our location, facilities and breakfasts to your liking.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Funchal and yes, we agree with you about our location!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    86
    21
    10
    0
See reviews for
65
500
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed bed and breakfast for 3 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend. He had requested a junior suite but we were more than pleasantly surprised with the size of the 1st floor balcony room overlooking the gardens and patio area. The room and the entire hotel was extremely clean to a high standard and the only fault found with the room was the two single beds pushed together which when we asked at reception we were told that there was no alternative as the hotel was full (not good).
The wine tasting was educational (well done Sandra) and a good opportunity to get to know some of the other guests and the mementos at the end were a nice touch.
We found the restaurant to be rather disappointing with a limited menu and long waits for courses to arrive although this may be due to the "masterchef" evening they were launching.
Breakfast leaves you spoilt for choice with a wide range although the cooked option always seemed to be only lukewarm on arrival. The poolside service and food was excellent as were the cocktails!
A big thank you to Andreia for recommending and booking a table for us at Armazom Do Sal where we celebrated my birthday in fine style and then were greeted with a lovely cake and bottle of something bubbly in our room to round off a memorable birthday.
I would definitely recommend the spa facilities and the massage I had was expertly done.
QSJ is ideal for a relaxing/romantic break for couples and I would definitely consider staying here again. The location is great being a 15 min walk downhill from the old town (6 euros in taxi back) and a 15 min walk uphill to the Fort Sao Joao which you can see from the pool area of the QSJ and once in the fort you get magnificent panoramic views over Funchal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your impressions of your recent stay at the Quintinha São João.

The majority of our rooms are indeed twin bedded and, as shown in our photographs, they are placed together. We are, however, very happy to make the beds up as doubles when requested. It is correct that we having been enjoying a very busy summer and apologise for the fact that it has not always been possible to organise a room change.

We are pleased that, on the whole, you enjoyed our catering and spa facilities and we thank you for choosing our hotel in which to spend your birthday – it was our pleasure to provide the cake and sparkling wine.

We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again – perhaps for a bit longer next time.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Having read the previous reviews I think my expectations were perhaps a little bit too high.

My partner and I stayed bed and breakfast for the week commencing the 26th August.
The room was clean and a good size. We were given two twin beds shoved together which wasn't ideal and although the beds were made up every day there seemed to be a policy of not changing the sheets in the one week period. A change would of been nice. I cannot fault the level of cleanliness in spite of this, the cleaning ladies were excellent.

Breakfast was problematic. The two gentleman working in the dining room were reluctant to take our requests for coffee and were highly skilled at avoiding eye contact with us. Eggs were served on request but it was important that if you ordered them you were not in a rush to go any where in the short to medium term. This was regardless of the time we went in for breakfast or how busy they were. I ordered a cheese and tomato omelette on our final morning. It appeared to have minuscule amounts of tomato init but this was more than compensated for by the amount of egg shell that had been added.

Rather stupidly we booked to eat in the restaurant one night. The silence and dead atmosphere in the room were oppressive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We are sorry that our hotel has not come up to your expectations but, in our defence, we would like to make the following observations:

Given that your booking was for a standard twin room without balcony, I am surprised that you have stated the obvious. In all our twin bedded rooms, the beds are placed together and certainly no “shoving” is involved. In addition, we would like to point out that we had upgraded your room free of charge to one with a balcony;

At least one sheet is changed on a daily basis – the top sheet is moved to the bottom and a fresh one is placed on the top. Having checked our laundry records, it was confirmed that this was indeed the case in your room during your stay;

Your references to our restaurant are somewhat surprising. Our restaurant staff consists of 6 persons – two of which indeed are men. All the staff are dedicated to providing excellent service so I can’t imagine that anybody would deliberately avoid “eye contact” in order not to bring you coffee. All our cooked dishes are made to order, and not left to congeal in a warmer. This is why, at the busiest times in the morning, the dishes take a little longer;

We provide background music in the restaurant and, given that we have been enjoying a high rate of occupancy including theme nights, are mystified as to where the “dead” ambiance stems from but you are, of course entitled to your opinion.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

What a little slice of heaven. We have just returned home after 9 nights at thIs hotel. The staff are great and have the right balance of friendly but not intrusive. From reception, resturant, room cleaning ladies, pool bar and the spa team they could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
“A little slice of heaven” is a lovely way to describe our Quintinha! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the combination of our staff and facilities and are so pleased to hear that we are friendly but not intrusive.

Thank you very much for posting your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just a few of the highlights - free room upgrade to a suite for our three boys, surprise champagne and cake on my husband's birthday (don't even know how they knew about this), endless good-humoured patience with our children constantly losing all their room keys, and - this was the best thing for me - receptionist helped my 10 year old return home a lost kitten he found outside and was worried about one evening.
Also - lovely relaxing luxury pool area and spa, lots of books there for anyone to read, great games room and gym for the boys + separate pool for them to splash about a bit more.
This hotel has character, wonderful staff and everything needed for a great holiday. I would definitely go back whether with the family, alone, as a couple...
I read some of the more negative comments on this site and would reassure readers considering this hotel. There is a busy road adjacent at an angle at one end, but this was not something that bothered me at all (and I hate traffic noise). Maybe just ask for a room at the other side in which case you will be surrounded by peaceful gardens. Also, yes the walk back from town was quite steep but only about 15 minutes long. We often took a taxi back, but mainly just through laziness as we were on holiday.
Thank you to all the charming helpful staff who made our holiday so enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
On behalf of all the staff at the Quintinha I would like to say how much we enjoyed reading your review on TripAdvisor and to thank you for sharing your experience. It was a pleasure to have you and your family staying with us and it is most uplifting and motivating to hear how successful your holiday was!

We look forward very much to welcoming you back – be it as a family or a couple! The pleasure is all ours.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

It was an absolute delight to stay at this hotel for our week in Funchal. The room was very spacious, accommodating a king size bed and a living area. The amenities of the hotel were very good, swimming pools inside and out (a modest size) but pleasant in the heat. The gym, games room, bar etc were all very accommodating and the staff were very friendly, especially the two gentlemen behind the bar. The breakfast offered a wide variety for you, cooked, continental, cereal etc so set us up for the day ahead. The cocktail happy hour offered great value for drinks before you went out for the evening, and the managers meet and greet night was a nice touch. The hotel is not too far from central Funchal, but it is up a steep walk, this was no obstacle for us and to be honest everything is 'up' from central Funchal. If I return to Funchal in the coming years I would look this hotel up first as accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
... and it was a delight for us to read your review on TripAdvsor - we are so pleased that you had a lovely stay at the Quintinha.

We are glad that you enjoyed our amenities and that the breakfast choice set you up for the day ahead as this is our aim. Thank you too for mentioning our friendly staff – it will give me great pleasure to pass this on.

We certainly hope that you will return to Funchal in the future and we look forward very much to welcoming you back to yoyr home in Madeira.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here by accident, having originally booked self catering accommodation which was not up to scratch. My daughter had been staying at this hotel and managed to book us in. It was truly wonderful, and I have to say it was the best hotel I've ever stayed in over my 70 years. This was due to everything a good hotel needs to make it top rate - exceptionally clean, extremely large and superbly furnished bedrooms with fantastically comfortable beds, surrounded by lovely well kept gardens, delicious breakfasts (both hot and cold) - but more than that, all the staff were absolutely lovely, warm, friendly, courteous and efficient, every single one of them. Most of the hotels in Funchal are located way out of the central area, but Quintinha Sao Joao is only 10 minutes walk into the town centre - OK, 15 minutes back uphill, but even at the age of 70 this was not too taxing. But if you are too unfit, a taxi takes only two minutes and costs only 5E. We can't wait to return and I think they will have to prise me out next time.

Room Tip: The junior suites are more than anyone would ever need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
It was a very fortuitous accident and we were delighted to welcome you to our Quintinha after what had been rather a traumatic first impression of Madeira for you.

Thank you very much for your generous words regarding the staff and our facilities and for sharing them with us – I will most certainly pass them on to the rest of the staff.

What a lovely expression – having to prise you out of the hotel! We look forward immensely to your next visit.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua da Levada de Sao Joao 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quintinha Sao Joao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.