We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peerless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Save Saved
You added Quintinha Sao Joao to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Levada de Sao Joao 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 91 hotels in Funchal
2 reviews
“Peerless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our second stay; excellent in every respect. The owner and staff combine service and friendliness without being obsequious . Thank you again for a memorable holiday. Special thanks to fellow guests Jacaranda Essex for their kindness in showing us the island, and Rosie for her advice about places to see . We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, and look forward to future visits.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are simply delighted that your second visit was “excellent in every respect” and we are grateful to you for sharing this.

It is such a pleasure to welcome guests back and especially so when we see that you holiday was memorable. Yes, Jacaranda Essex are definitely the right people to show you the island – after all, they have been 19 times! We are glad too that Rosie’s advice was useful.

Thank you for saying you would recommend our Quintinha and we look forward to seeing you back on many future visits.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    485
    80
    18
    10
    0
See reviews for
61
450
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I can confirm that this hotel was just as we expected it to be based on the previous reviews we have read on Trip Advisor. The staff are very friendly, helpful and in most cases speak very good English. The hotel is very clean and you have plenty of space to relax in even when it is full.

The range of breakfast food is extensive and we did not have any problems ordering hot food once we had established what the routine was. We did eat in the restaurant on a couple of occasions and it is comparable quality and price wise with many of the restaurants in Funchal. It also means that if you wish to avoid the trip to and from Funchal in the evening you can be assured of a good evening meal if you need it. It also has a Goan section to its menu which provides an alternative to the standard fish/meat courses.

The rooms are large and spacious and I would recommend those rooms with the balconies overlooking the gardens as it is nice to sit outside with a bit of privacy if you wish. You may find the mattresses firm but as a previous reviewer has stated do ask for a topper if you like a softer mattress.

In terms of location it is a 10-15 walk back up a hill if you choose to do so and the QSJ is located on the edge of a residential area away from the between the centre of Funchal and the modern hotel complexes in West Funchal. However it does have a main road nearby which can cause some traffic noise for those rooms at that end of the hotel site. Generally though this is a quiet hotel for mature couples. Do not expect lively entertainment in the evenings as this is not the QSJ's style. We had a very nice evening during our stay listening to a young lady playing a selection of tunes from musicals on the bars grand piano.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your review - we really appreciate every single one.

We are very pleased that you had such a good time and that the Quintinha lived up to your expectations and the reviews posted on this site.

We are delighted you enjoyed our buffet breakfasts and thank you for your kind comments regarding your dining experience. We do try to provide our guests with as much variety as possible and have now started our summer dining outside in the gardens in front of the original house. This is a weekly event and is proving most successful! It is such a pleasure seeing everybody sitting outside in the cool of the evening whilst enjoying the cuisine and service of our staff.

You are quite right – the style of our entertainment tends to be low-key but, as you say, how lovely it is to sit on the terrace and listen to the tinkling of the ivories.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We just spent two nights at the Quintinha and felt like we had visited some slightly elder family friends. We arrived a bit late with the ferry from Porto Santo and were glad the taxi driver knew the place - not sure we would have gotten that right at once even if they have good maps at their web site. We have a very friendly welcome in the reception and were informed that because we had asked for a queen size bed, we had been upgraded to a suite- I've had bigger problems than that... The young lady took us to the room and our luggage arrived few seconds later. We felt like we had our own little apartment with a good sized bedroom, living room and bathroom as well. All furniture looked rather classical and the bathroom was very well equipped with robes and slippers. The shower is in the bath tub and since the tub is deep, it is a little difficult to get in and out - a separate walk in shower would have been even better. Since had eaten on the ferry we went down for a night cap and had a nice talk with some other guests. The small size of the hotel contributes to the feeling that we are all there visiting some well to do family - one couple had been returning for more than ten times. And we did find a pot coffee maker in the living room - my husband had several goes at it - but for those who doesn't have the same brand at home a small "how to use this" would have been good. We did figure it out, but one coffee became more watered down than intended. And reading the comments of other guests, I know that it is my own fault that I didn't ask for a mattress topper when I found the bed slightly hard like most beds in Portugal. I will do so next time.

Next morning we had a good breakfast, but for some reason I was never given a menu for the cooked food or asked if I wanted some eggs. But I was quite happy with a large choice of all other possible breakfast foods- loved the cheese tray with some really good cheeses. And the coffee was quite good.

I had seen the offers for the spa online and decided to treat myself a little. Dulce was most welcoming and I enjoyed her care quite a lot and so did my husband when time came for his pedicure as well. We found the prices for the spa reasonable compared to several other five stars hotels we have been to. My only problem was the Jacuzzi. It is set at floor level, and I'm having joint problems and there was no reeling or something to hold on to on the wall close to it. Another guest mentioned the same problem, so that is a small idea of who to make this place even better. (And have a look at putting some reeling where there are steps around the property - quite a few of the guests are 50 +)

Since we were there for the fiesta of St.John, we were invited to a drink with the manager and decided to join many of the guests for the buffet dinner they proposed that evening. Before we got that far we got a nice surprise as we were preparing for the evening - a bottle of bubbly and a small cake was brought to our room with the compliments of the management. The nice lady at the reception had noticed from my passport that it was my birthday :-). Such a nice surprise! We enjoyed talking to some of the other guest during the cocktail party and the food of the buffet was also mostly very well presented and tasted quite good. They even had some musical entertainment to close of the night.

After another good breakfast, were again, no offer for eggs was made, but where we asked for and got some nice omelettes. We used the offer to get some information from their most friendly and helpful Guest Manager Rosie. She gave us lots of good ideas for our planned trip around the island and we used several of her suggestions for other hotels around the island as well. Again, it was as if we visited friends and got their tips for local travel. We did mention to her that we loved the all of the staff with one small exception.

I really liked the hotel and its small size, also friends to those of us with some walking limitations. I think my husband found it a bit too calm and old-fashioned, but he had to agree that we did have a great time there and I think I might be able to talk him into returning at a later date :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for the highly informative and in-depth description of your recent stay at the Quintinha São João. We are delighted that you have taken the time and trouble to let other TripAdvisor users know how much you enjoyed your holiday and you have painted a very real picture of our hotel – especially when you mention that you had the feeling you were all there visiting some well to do family! What a lovely comparison.

Thank you for bringing our attention to the confusing workings of the coffee machine in your room and our failure to advertise the eggs served at breakfast. We freshly cook all hot items and at the time of order so our apologies for the lack of information – for both these points.

Yes, we are a very traditional hotel and our Feast of St. John is one of our favourite celebrations of the year. St. John is, of course, our patron saint and we have great pleasure in indoctrinating our guests in the real Madeira - both gastronomically and traditionally!

We are glad that the information we gave you was helpful and that you enjoyed our little surprise for your birthday. It was our pleasure.

We look forward to your next visit and please remind us when you make your booking that you would like the mattress toppers.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Funchal is a busy, bustling capital city. So it's a good thing that if you're after true relaxation, Quintinha Sao Joao is out of the centre. The estate the building was on once extended all the way into town but was then sold off piecemeal. Today, it takes a good 30 minutes to walk down into old town, where most of the restaurants are, or slightly less to wander down to the hotel quarter on the sea front where there are other good ones. The only downside is the walk back up the hill afterwards! The hotel does have a shuttle bus but we did not use it.

We stayed on a B&B rate and ate evening meals in Funchal, but for most of the rest of the time we remained in the hotel grounds as it was just so nice to be there. The staff were really helpful and friendly - all Portuguese except for the English Rosie who is guest liaison and can book you tours/trips or just give lots of great advice.

Breakfast was fantastic - the buffet spread was extensive and they're also happy to cook you hot food (bacon and eggs etc). I can't say enough good things about this hotel - it's in the top two we've ever stayed in, anywhere.

Room Tip: Get a garden view with a balcony if you can - very relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are truly delighted to read your complementary review on TripAdvisor and would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your reflections on your recent holiday at the Quintinha São João.

In our opinion, we are in the most excellent of locations and are, as you so rightly say, away from the hustle and bustle. It is well worth that 30 minute walk to the old town to enjoy the “real” Madeira and sit outside one of the restaurants sampling the local cuisine.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff. We are here to help and so want you to make the best of your stay whether it is just rest and relaxation with plenty of good food or something a bit more adventurous!

We look forward to your next visit to your Madeira home!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is a well run,clean and comfortable establishment with some excellent staff. Other reviews will confirm this, so I shall focus on some lesser mentioned issues. We had a lovely room on the top floor by the road. Road noise was not really an issue (because of double glazing) apart from when enjoying the terrace. There were complaints about noise by people in rooms nearer the pool bar area on evenings when functions were being held there. The hotel is set on the hillside above the centre of Funchal. The walk to the centre takes about 15 minutes but is a pretty steep descent. The taxi journey back up the hill costs about 5 Euros. If you hire a car, the hotel has a reasonably sized underground car park but the entrance is very steep and quite narrow. There is some parking outside on the road, but the road is narrow. Be warned that the entrance road to the hotel can only be taken when driving up the hill otherwise you have to descend into Funchal through a tunnel and round a busy roundabout to retrace your steps back up the hill on the other side. There is a reasonable route from the hotel to the expressway, but do ask the hotel for directions before you arrive as you can get hopelessly lost in Funchal.
We did not eat in the hotel restaurant - the prices appeared to be quite high and the service from the waiters at breakfast was not that good. The bar menu, served until 6.00pm, is more reasonably priced and the food is quite good but the menu is quite limited. Service at the bar and at the pool bar is excellent.
While this hotel is undoubtedly a good one, maintenance is perhaps not all it should be. Our extractor fan in the bathroom didn't appear to work and the basin had obviously leaked at some point, damaging the shelf below. We also heard stories of people taking plugs out of sockets and the whole socket coming away from the wall - we witnessed this happening in the dining room with the toaster. Nothing, however, can detract from the atmosphere at this hotel created by some wonderful, friendly and extremely helpful staff. This is why so many people choose to return to this predominantly couples orientated hotel year upon year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your in-depth review of your recent holiday at the Quintinha São João. We are sure prospective guests will find your information most useful.

We are sorry that you experienced maintenance problems and I shall be looking into this personally.

Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our staff – it is our pleasure to serve you. Yes, it is true and has been especially so this last month – we have had so many repeated guests and you can only imagine how happy this makes us!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Madeira.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel is beautifully furnished and the staff are a delight, always friendly and helpful. The ambience is quiet and the rooms are kept very clean. The gardens are beautiful and a credit to the gardeners that maintain them. The area around the outside pool is quite small with 20 loungers, the indoor pool is warm and very well maintained. Happy Hour at 6.30pm is a must to get to know other guests! The Manager's cocktail party was a nice gesture albeit we never saw the manager at all during our stay.

We stayed bed and breakfast but ate in the hotel 3 times but felt the menu may be rather limited if you were to eat there every night. As a previous reviewer has commented the 'Fish Night' was not a success for a lot of the guests. We were not informed when we booked a table and were more than a little surprised especially as my husband does not eat fish. Fortunately, it was soon remedied and we were offered the a la carte menu. Better communication to guests perhaps through information sheets on the breakfast tables would be really useful especially about events taking place in the hotel such as the wine tasting.

The 8-seater courtesy bus goes into Funchal at 10am & 2.30pm with returns at 12noon and 5.30pm, Monday to Friday; we found the times a bit restrictive and only used it once. Anyone with reduced mobility may need to use taxis as the location is very hilly. There are no local bars or shops in the area around the hotel. Everything is down hill.
We noticed there were a number of barking dogs at properties very close to the hotel, some left out at night, which could cause a nuisance although we appreciate it is difficult for the hotel to address this issue unless the dog owners are prepared to be co-operative.

If you want a well serviced hotel with personal service and individual style then this hotel will suit you well.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms overlooking the garden and the original quinta are quiet with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Quintinha São João and appreciate your time and effort in sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor.

We are so pleased that you found our facilities, ambiance and staff to your liking. We do pride ourselves in our 1 hectare garden and sub-tropical vegetation.

I would like to apologise for not meeting you during your stay. I have myself been away from the island and this is the reason I did not attend the weekly cocktail party. I most certainly hope that we will meet on a future occasion.

Thank you for your constructive comments regarding the delivery of information – I am looking into this at the moment.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent Staff very helpful, room spacious. Small but beautiful gardens the flowers were so delightful. Food was good although I think when staying half board a little change in menu midweek would be a good idea. The only downfall was the Fish night!! which we hadn't been made aware of, not a good idea! the starter that night a green salad was very poor lettuce a little red pepper and a small amount of mayonnaise, very poor. But it wouldn't stop me from returning, we thought it was the best Hotel we have stayed in!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Quintinha São João. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and that you found us the best hotel you have stayed in! Your comments are most appreciated and I shall circulate them to the rest of our staff – they will find them most motivating.

We are sorry that you didn’t enjoy our fish night – we go to immense trouble to try to vary things for our guests and our Chef visits the market for the best possible produce on these mornings so we can assure you that there is no fresher.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua da Levada de Sao Joao 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quintinha Sao Joao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.