We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and relaxation - total bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Save Saved
You added Quintinha Sao Joao to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Levada de Sao Joao 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Bristol
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Luxury and relaxation - total bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Funchal is a busy, bustling capital city. So it's a good thing that if you're after true relaxation, Quintinha Sao Joao is out of the centre. The estate the building was on once extended all the way into town but was then sold off piecemeal. Today, it takes a good 30 minutes to walk down into old town, where most of the restaurants are, or slightly less to wander down to the hotel quarter on the sea front where there are other good ones. The only downside is the walk back up the hill afterwards! The hotel does have a shuttle bus but we did not use it.

We stayed on a B&B rate and ate evening meals in Funchal, but for most of the rest of the time we remained in the hotel grounds as it was just so nice to be there. The staff were really helpful and friendly - all Portuguese except for the English Rosie who is guest liaison and can book you tours/trips or just give lots of great advice.

Breakfast was fantastic - the buffet spread was extensive and they're also happy to cook you hot food (bacon and eggs etc). I can't say enough good things about this hotel - it's in the top two we've ever stayed in, anywhere.

Room Tip: Get a garden view with a balcony if you can - very relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are truly delighted to read your complementary review on TripAdvisor and would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your reflections on your recent holiday at the Quintinha São João.

In our opinion, we are in the most excellent of locations and are, as you so rightly say, away from the hustle and bustle. It is well worth that 30 minute walk to the old town to enjoy the “real” Madeira and sit outside one of the restaurants sampling the local cuisine.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff. We are here to help and so want you to make the best of your stay whether it is just rest and relaxation with plenty of good food or something a bit more adventurous!

We look forward to your next visit to your Madeira home!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    488
    81
    18
    10
    0
See reviews for
62
451
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is a well run,clean and comfortable establishment with some excellent staff. Other reviews will confirm this, so I shall focus on some lesser mentioned issues. We had a lovely room on the top floor by the road. Road noise was not really an issue (because of double glazing) apart from when enjoying the terrace. There were complaints about noise by people in rooms nearer the pool bar area on evenings when functions were being held there. The hotel is set on the hillside above the centre of Funchal. The walk to the centre takes about 15 minutes but is a pretty steep descent. The taxi journey back up the hill costs about 5 Euros. If you hire a car, the hotel has a reasonably sized underground car park but the entrance is very steep and quite narrow. There is some parking outside on the road, but the road is narrow. Be warned that the entrance road to the hotel can only be taken when driving up the hill otherwise you have to descend into Funchal through a tunnel and round a busy roundabout to retrace your steps back up the hill on the other side. There is a reasonable route from the hotel to the expressway, but do ask the hotel for directions before you arrive as you can get hopelessly lost in Funchal.
We did not eat in the hotel restaurant - the prices appeared to be quite high and the service from the waiters at breakfast was not that good. The bar menu, served until 6.00pm, is more reasonably priced and the food is quite good but the menu is quite limited. Service at the bar and at the pool bar is excellent.
While this hotel is undoubtedly a good one, maintenance is perhaps not all it should be. Our extractor fan in the bathroom didn't appear to work and the basin had obviously leaked at some point, damaging the shelf below. We also heard stories of people taking plugs out of sockets and the whole socket coming away from the wall - we witnessed this happening in the dining room with the toaster. Nothing, however, can detract from the atmosphere at this hotel created by some wonderful, friendly and extremely helpful staff. This is why so many people choose to return to this predominantly couples orientated hotel year upon year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your in-depth review of your recent holiday at the Quintinha São João. We are sure prospective guests will find your information most useful.

We are sorry that you experienced maintenance problems and I shall be looking into this personally.

Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our staff – it is our pleasure to serve you. Yes, it is true and has been especially so this last month – we have had so many repeated guests and you can only imagine how happy this makes us!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Madeira.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel is beautifully furnished and the staff are a delight, always friendly and helpful. The ambience is quiet and the rooms are kept very clean. The gardens are beautiful and a credit to the gardeners that maintain them. The area around the outside pool is quite small with 20 loungers, the indoor pool is warm and very well maintained. Happy Hour at 6.30pm is a must to get to know other guests! The Manager's cocktail party was a nice gesture albeit we never saw the manager at all during our stay.

We stayed bed and breakfast but ate in the hotel 3 times but felt the menu may be rather limited if you were to eat there every night. As a previous reviewer has commented the 'Fish Night' was not a success for a lot of the guests. We were not informed when we booked a table and were more than a little surprised especially as my husband does not eat fish. Fortunately, it was soon remedied and we were offered the a la carte menu. Better communication to guests perhaps through information sheets on the breakfast tables would be really useful especially about events taking place in the hotel such as the wine tasting.

The 8-seater courtesy bus goes into Funchal at 10am & 2.30pm with returns at 12noon and 5.30pm, Monday to Friday; we found the times a bit restrictive and only used it once. Anyone with reduced mobility may need to use taxis as the location is very hilly. There are no local bars or shops in the area around the hotel. Everything is down hill.
We noticed there were a number of barking dogs at properties very close to the hotel, some left out at night, which could cause a nuisance although we appreciate it is difficult for the hotel to address this issue unless the dog owners are prepared to be co-operative.

If you want a well serviced hotel with personal service and individual style then this hotel will suit you well.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms overlooking the garden and the original quinta are quiet with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Quintinha São João and appreciate your time and effort in sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor.

We are so pleased that you found our facilities, ambiance and staff to your liking. We do pride ourselves in our 1 hectare garden and sub-tropical vegetation.

I would like to apologise for not meeting you during your stay. I have myself been away from the island and this is the reason I did not attend the weekly cocktail party. I most certainly hope that we will meet on a future occasion.

Thank you for your constructive comments regarding the delivery of information – I am looking into this at the moment.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent Staff very helpful, room spacious. Small but beautiful gardens the flowers were so delightful. Food was good although I think when staying half board a little change in menu midweek would be a good idea. The only downfall was the Fish night!! which we hadn't been made aware of, not a good idea! the starter that night a green salad was very poor lettuce a little red pepper and a small amount of mayonnaise, very poor. But it wouldn't stop me from returning, we thought it was the best Hotel we have stayed in!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Quintinha São João. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and that you found us the best hotel you have stayed in! Your comments are most appreciated and I shall circulate them to the rest of our staff – they will find them most motivating.

We are sorry that you didn’t enjoy our fish night – we go to immense trouble to try to vary things for our guests and our Chef visits the market for the best possible produce on these mornings so we can assure you that there is no fresher.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We enjoyed a week at this lovely hotel The ambiance was quiet and calm and the room was comfortable , quiet and spotless. The staff were always friendly and helpful especially when I had to attend the hospital due to a fall.
Facilities and food were good. A gem of a find. We shall return! Thanks to all the staff at Quintinha Sao Joao.
Linda Lewis

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Lewis,

This is a marvellous feed-back regarding your stay with us at the Quintinha São João!

We are so sorry that you had a fall and hope that it didn’t spoil your holiday. The entire staff of the hotel thanks you for your comments on TripAdvisor and we are delighted that you found us a “gem”.

We hope to see you back soon at your Madeiran home,

Yours sincerely

André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We spent the first week in may here. The hotel was lovely though the gardens were'nt as big as we thought from the pictures. The staff are all friendly helpful and polite. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a great laugh with the restaurant team! The only downside to the hotel was the menu. We stayed half board and it did get very repetative.
We had exactly the holiday we wanted, quiet grown ups hotel, no kids a really lovely time. Maderia is beautiful and we hope very much to go back. The hotel? Most certainly this one!
Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts on your recent holiday at the Quintinha São João on TripAdvisor. Your time and effort are much appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that you had exactly the holiday you wanted and that you will be returning to us on your next visit to Madeira.

We are sorry that you found our restaurant menu repetitive. In accordance with popular demand, we have placed our à la carte menu at the complete disposal of our guests on half board so that they may sample our Goan cuisine, vegetarian options and all our chef’s specialities. We also hold a surf or turf night, alternating each Wednesday.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff – nothing is ever too much trouble.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Quintinha soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We made a return visit to the Quintinha Sao Joa after a number of years and were very impressed with the facilities; the pools, the large bedroom and balcony overlooking the garden, the ever helpful staff and the quiet atmosphere. Just as I remembered!

It was also interesting to discover how many of the other guests had been before and a tour event organiser we met remarked that she believed 'most of the guests she met were returnees or word of mouth recommended'.

Part of the attraction lies in its location, far enough out of the town for a pleasant walk but not in the ugly ribbon developed jungle of hotels on Funchal's west side.

Overall an excellent stay, why aren't all hotels like this?

Room Tip: A balcony room overlooking the well tended garden - couldn't be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We are delighted that you returned to see us again – thank you so much! We also appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor and are so pleased to hear that our hotel (and probably most of the staff!) are just as you remembered.

We are very fortunate in that our guests do come back and see us and also suggest the Quintinha to their friends and family – excellent Ambassadors!

We look forward to your next visit and hope that it will be before long.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua da Levada de Sao Joao 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quintinha Sao Joao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.