We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quintinha Sao Joao to your Saves list
Quintinha Sao Joao
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Levada de Sao Joao, 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

A wonderful hotel. You can tell how good a hotel is by the level of service - and this hotel is faultless. From the welcome at reception to the bar staff and restaurant staff to the gardeners - people couldn't do enough to make the stay perfect. All the facilities of a large 5star hotel but in a friendly comfortable smaller hotel.

Breakfast was terrific with local tropical fruit everyday and cheese, local speciality cakes and full cooked breakfast, cooked to order. Friendly and efficient service.

We had an offer of free half board throughout our stay. After reading some poor reviews of the restaurant we decided to try first night but weren't sure if we would end up goings to town each evening - it was free so didn't matter. We absolutely loved the dinner - the food was fantastic with a wide range of choice as you could choose anything from the a la carte menu. They also have a interesting Goan menu which my daughter loved. I also have to mention the restaurant staff, welcoming, friendly and very professional. The restaurant manger took time every evening to talk to us about the food, Madeira and give plenty of tips of things to do. It really added a lot to our stay at the hotel.

Our room (211) was brilliant - overlooking the garden towards the mountains - incredible views and very quiet. The hotel is situated a pleasant 15 min walk from the centre - away from the busy resort hotel area but close enough to walk to the centre and the sea. The hotel runs a minibus to town several times a day and a taxi is only 5 euros.

Room Tip: Ask for a high quiet room. All rooms are good, but one or two look directly over the terrace bar or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay.

The biggest compliment you could pay to all of us at the Quintinha São João is that you found us to be welcoming, friendly and professional. We are well aware that this does make the difference wherever you may be and all this comes down to the simple fact that no, we can’t do enough to ensure your stay is perfect. I shall obviously be passing on your comments to the rest of our team who I know will join me in thanking you for your encouragement so that we may continue in this direction.

Thank you also for your positive comments regarding our cuisine and restaurant experience – we are so pleased that you enjoyed your half board meals and that you sampled our Goan speciality.

We look forward to having the pleasure of having you with us once again very soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    93
    21
    10
    0
See reviews for
70
548
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eye, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We love small hotels and with 34 rooms the Sao Joao is ideal. From the moment we checked in we were treated as honoured guests and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spacious, clean and well serviced, the bathroom similar. Public rooms were extensive with an old fashioned style. Pools clean and of good size for a small hotel. Restaurant and bar good with very friendly teams; breakfast with amazing choice of hot and cold food.
A small example of their service - we were going on a levada walk on our own and wanted to find the bus that would take us their. Our bus guide was confusing - this seems normal in Madeira! Not only did reception clarify timings, they directed us to the correct bus stop. At this stop, were two other tourist couples moaning bitterly about the buses and eventually gave up waiting. Ours turned up when expected and took us high into the hills for Euro 2.70 each. The fare was more than repaid by our people watching on the bus with a group of teenage boys at the back playing the fool.
We will definitely return to the Sao Joao. It is away from the bulk of the hotels and the location is a compromise being away from the rush and bustle of central Funchal but only a 15 minute walk. A courtesy bus is available and taxis are reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We would like to thank you for posting your positive comments on Tripadvisor about your recent stay.

It is our aim to emulate the old Portuguese Manor Houses of bygone days and our entire staff works everyday to recreate the feeling of being welcomed into a luxurious family home for our guests.

We are touched to hear that the efficiency of our staff helped you succeed in exploring the island and added to your Madeira experience – as I have said previously, the Quintinha wants you to go back home with the feeling that you really have visited our wonderful island and not just “any old place”. We are delighted to hear that we have succeeded where you are concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

From when we first stepped into the reception area. We were greeted so warmly. Shown to our room which was really nice and had everything you could wish for. After a good night sleep we went down to breakfast and wow everything was fresh and looked so appetising. The staff were very friendly and worked very efficiently. We used the pools and both were kept very clean. there was a singing group on one night and had a really good sing along. which was held by the pool near the garden. We could smell the flowers which are everywhere. We went for our anniversary and my 50 and all I can say is it was everything I could of wished for. I want to say a big thank you to every member of staff for making our holiday so special.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
It was such a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services at the Quintinha São João and I thank you very much in behalf of the entire team for leaving these comments on Tripadvisor !

Indeed, the satisfaction of every individual guest is very important to us and we are thrilled that we achieved this goal. Thank you also for choosing our hotel for your anniversary and birthday – we are most honoured and so very happy that it was everything you could have wished for.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you on a future occasion!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Just returned yesterday from Madeira. What can I say, Hotel was fab. We walked into town and back twice per day, only used the hotel bus once.
We did not use the spa, my husband used the indoor pool every morning before breakfast.
I do not want to say anymore as you will all book and it will be full when i try and book next year.
So i am keeping the rest to myself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
It was such a pleasure to start the day with your lovely words! Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent holiday at the Quintinha São João with TripAdvisor and congratulate you on keeping fit!

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon; maybe it will be possible for you to try one of our spa treatments next time!

Looking forward to that occasion!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Couldn't fault this hotel, high standards, excellent service but at a moderate price. It offers what a good hotel should do. Very impressed and will recommend to others. Only downside was that there were no tea/coffee making facilities so we were obliged to use the bar service during the day.

Room Tip: We had a room with sitting area and a balcony overlooking the garden which meant we had a lot of spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor, following your recent stay at the Quintinha São João.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were impressed by our services and will recommend us to others.

On your next visit, please e-mail us prior to your stay and we shall see what we can do with regard to tea/coffee making facilities. We look forward to seeing you again!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have travelled for work and pleasure for over 30 years. This hotel experience was overall the best I have ever had, and my wife agrees. There is a feeling of old world elegance, but it isn’t old world it is actually a modern hotel. Its design appears to be from a bygone age, but it has all the best new buildings have to offer. The hotel is a peaceful, tranquil place to relax, but it is in the city with all that a city offers.

Sometimes it is difficult to say what makes something work, where other places do not, when each component is analysed individually they are no better than somewhere else I have stayed. But put together they really work and they really work well.

However let me try to explain. The reception is not a massive statement of look at me look at my open spaces, it doesn’t have a doorman with hat and long tailed jacket. It is large enough to do the job and do it well. But it does tell you immediately that it is a spotlessly clean, well maintained and well run establishment that has an understated elegance. The sole aim of the staff is to immediately make you feel welcome and look after you’re every need from the moment your taxi arrives at their door (which you can get them to organise 30 Euro from the airport). They succeed, they are expecting you, they let you know this is your vacation and they will make every effort to make it a great experience. They deal with your luggage; they take you to your room and ensure that you are happy with it. Only when they are sure you are satisfied and you have everything you need and want do they leave you. This is achieved in a most charming manner.

The rooms again are beautifully maintained and equipped, that feeling of elegance again. Oh and the space, these are not pokey little rooms where it is difficult to find space for your luggage. These rooms are big and thoughtfully laid out. Other reviewers have already commented that the standard rooms are more like suites. I fully agree with those statements.

The open areas around the hotel offer comfortable sofas, with a real home from home feeling. Books are all over the hotel, some left by previous guests, some by the hotel to show you Madeira.

Breakfast, somewhere a comment was made that breakfast is the same every day. Well that is true, but the choice really does mean that you could eat something different every day for a week and still be nowhere near having tried everything. All the hot breakfast options are freshly cooked for you, not the get it from under the keep it the hot light and dry it mode of many hotels. Yes fried eggs do have a runny yoke if that is your request. The scrambled eggs taste good and don’t have a rubber texture. The coffee is good with hot milk if you want it, smoked salmon in abundance. How anybody can find fault beats me. It is served from 7:30 to 10:30.

I can’t comment on dinner at the hotel, we ate at restaurants in the centre. Funchal is a foodie’s heaven. Our favourite was Armazen we went twice in the week, wonderful food and atmosphere.

The bar area has again that elegance, with attentive but not overzealous staff. There are very good cocktails to be had in the bar.

There are two pools, one is glass covered so effectively indoor, but achieving and outdoor feel. The other is an outdoor pool. Neither pool is large, but equally not tiny so big enough for some exercise if you want. My wife used the spa facilities and raved about the treatment as the best she has had and not bad from somebody who is a qualified in aromatherapy.

The location, it is a walk downhill into town. There are a number of routes they take around 10 minutes walking quickly or longer if you are strolling. We walked from the hotel to the cable car in about 30 minutes, but we were walking quickly. Overall we walked down and taxied back after dinner out. The hotel is a city hotel, cities are busy and noisy. So anybody expecting just to hear the sound of birds in the trees can think again. I doubt whether there is anywhere in Funchal that it is possible to avoid some traffic noise. That said we live in a very quiet village where there really isn’t traffic noise, and the levels in the hotel grounds didn’t bother us. At night we didn't hear any traffic noise.

The Quintinha Sao Joao is at the edge of the old town, and as such is close to all the best old Funchal has to offer. To the west is the new concrete tower hotel part of the city, rows of new build ugly hotels and all that go with them. The Quintinha is not part of that, and all the better for it, it feels like Madeira, not another Costa.

So finally what really makes this place tick all my boxes, it is the staff. They are simply the best team of hotel staff I have ever come across. Friendly, helpful, humorous but most of all dedicated to making your stay the most pleasing experience they can. My specific example: We were talking to somebody who had stayed at the hotel in the past; we commented that we thought the beds were a bit on the firm side for us. The couple looked puzzled and said they had asked for mattress toppers. So back at the hotel we commented. The receptionist looked dismayed, but then rightly questioned “Why did you not ask us, we are here to help?” That was the nearest we had to an admonishment from a member of staff. The lady in question smiled and charmed as usual, her question was more than fair; as they proved over and over again they are there to help. Help they did from then on the beds were perfect with a mattress topper.

So to all the staff at the Sao Joao thank you we really enjoyed our time with you. You made us want to come again.

Room Tip: Based on what we saw they are all good rooms. But the garden view rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
This is marvellous feed-back regarding your stay with us at the Quintinha de São João! The entire staff of the hotel thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for your generous comments. You have depicted exactly what we are trying to achieve with the hotel – the modern facilities that everybody has come to expect in life, living in harmony with the old world atmosphere and service from days gone by. We can’t tell you how pleased we are that we have achieved this as far as you are concerned.

Muito obrigado! We hope to see you back soon at your Madeira home.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Friendly staff, big rooms, cheap but great food. All very positive. The hotel has two swimming pools, one outside, one in some kind of glasshouse on the 2nd floor (which was great as the weather wasn't that fantastic while we were here).

Room Tip: If you need WIFI, make sure to mention it when you book the room, access in our rooms (102 & 103...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
It was a real pleasure to welcome you to the Quintinha São João and thank you very much for sharing your impressions on Tripadvisor!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us, and that the service of our team and facilities lived up to your expectations.

We are disappointed for you that our weather was rather inclement but are pleased that you enjoyed your total Madeira experience away from the tourist zone!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Madeira.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua da Levada de Sao Joao, 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quintinha Sao Joao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.