We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smiles all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quintinha Sao Joao to your Saves list
Quintinha Sao Joao
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Levada de Sao Joao 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“smiles all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

we have just arrived home feeling rested and relaxed after spending a week at this lovely hotel.The room was spacious light and airy,and the beds comfortable as was the whole hotel.we opted for half board after reading the good reviews about the restaurant and were not dissapointed, the breakfasts were great and the evening meals varied, we enjoyed the fish night in particular and the hot chocolate pudding was to die for The best thing about this hotel though was the wonderful staff, they were always willing to go the extra mile to make guests feel welcome. A***

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
How can we not smile! It was such a pleasure to read your wonderful, warm comments! The entire team of the Quintinha São João join me in thanking you very much for taking the time to share them on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us and especially delighted that you enjoyed our restaurant and cuisine! Yes, the chocolate bomb is well worth sampling!

We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon and the A***s are much appreciated.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    83
    19
    10
    0
See reviews for
62
468
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with a comfortable feel. The bedrooms are large and well laid out. Perfect hotel if u want peace and quiet. Excellent friendly service from all staff. It was just too quiet for my husband and I as we like a bit of atmosphere. Not rowdy but just some! Often we were on our own in the bar after 10pm. The restaurant food is lovely! However I would recommend b&b and not half board as the menu can be repetitive but don't miss eating there. The Goan food is superb. Outdoor swimming pool very small.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
How happy and delighted we were to read your kind comments regarding your recent holiday at the Quintinha on TripAdvisor, and to know that our service and facilities pleased you. We are glad that you took time to sample our Goan cuisine – this is our speciality and completely authentic as recipes have been passed down through generations on my father’s side of the family and have been taught to our chef using the exact spices and condiments.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Quintinha São João in the near future for another peaceful and relaxing stay.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

WOW! This Hotel is excellent.
We have never experienced staff as helpful as the women in reception.
Breakfast are Great and you are waited on with a smile.
We stayed for 6 nights in April for some relaxation after the big day.
The room was lovely a spacious and the facilities were great. We had a full body massage which was very good.
We were saying half board so only ate Dinner here on the first night which was very enjoyable.
There are plenty of lovely restaurants in town especially the yellow Forte restaurant which was our favorite.
We hired a car form the airport and once we found the Hotel it was easy to park in the underground car-park.
We said we would definitely be back for our 5 year anniversary(But leaving any future children at home with grandparents)
If not before.
Loved It!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor, had a lovely view of the Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
It was a real pleasure to welcome you both to the Quintinha São João for your "mini moon" recently and thank you very much for leaving such wonderful comments on Tripadvisor!

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, this will be such a great motivation for them. It is very important for our team to personalize every stay as much as possible and to make you feel as special and as individual as you indeed are. We are thrilled that we managed to achieve our goal!

We look forward to welcoming you back but do so hope that it will be prior to your 5th Anniversary!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Leaving behind a host of small domestic crises, transport glitches and some ghastly spring weather in the Uk, we arrived dishevelled and unkempt in Funchal, and were immediately charmed by the wonderful atmosphere of the Quintinha. Despite the fact that my travel companion announced our arrival by the untimely (and inappropriate!) dropping of a large bottle of duty free gin as we were checking in, nothing phased the professionalism and exceeding good humour of the staff..(and many many thanks for not laughing at our sudden manic need for an ice bucket only five minutes after walking through the door!)

Check in was (ignoring the gin) smooth, friendly and informative - full information on the location of facilities, the bar, gym, pools etc was explained, and we were shown personally to our rooms with luggage following shortly after. Our twin room was light, spacious, and very well furnished, overlooking the beautiful gardens at the rear of the hotel. Some of the rooms on the other side of the hotel are closer to a road, so if this would be an issue for you I'd recommend asking to be located away from this area, but traffic noise was negligible, even when we were over that side of the hotel.

We had booked half board, a very good deal via travel republic, and were very happy with the standard of food we received - the menu remained the same, but there was plenty of choice, and even after a week there were still several items I'd like to have tried. On one evening (chef's night off?) a simpler "barbeque" type choice of fresh chicken, pork or beef was offered, but the quality of this was, as before, very high. I can only say that we must have been staying in a completely different place to the reviewers who have had issues with the quality of the catering, since we found consistently high standards of service, food and beverages at both breakfast and in the evenings. I can particularly recommend the Goan prawn curry, and the Sea Bass. Delicious. :)

We love cocktails, and so were frequently to be found (especially at Happy Hour!) in the Vasco de Gama bar, where a large variety of well mixed and delicious cocktails were served. Many thanks to Patricia, and the other bar staff whose suggestions for new things to try were much appreciated!

We took advantage of both pools, indoor and out: both are well maintained and very pleasant, and very quiet...the maximum number of users while we were there was half a dozen at the most. I can't comment on the spa as we didn't take advantage of this, but the list of treatments available looked very extensive. Their is also a well equipped gym with weights, cross trainer, cycle etc, and a very well equipped games room, with pool table, table tennis, chess and draughts boards.

What really stands out about the Quintinha is the quality and attention of the staff - some of whom we spoke to told us how much they like working there, and have been at the hotel since it opened in 1998. Quality tells and we loved every minute of our stay...thank you so much!

In conclusion: This is an absolute gem of a hotel, small, friendly, and welcoming. Everything about this lovely place is a delight, especially the dedicated staff who go out of their way to make your stay as perfect as possible. 11/10!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for submitting such an in-depth review of your recent stay at the Quintinha São João on TripAdvisor. How beautifully you describe your experience and honestly, reading this has brought us much joy.

Apart from the unfortunate experience on your arrival, we are glad that everything just got better and better. You certainly seem to have made use of most of our facilities and we hope that you will return to avail yourselves of things you have missed, such as the Spa.

I have had great pleasure in relaying your kind comments to our staff who join me in saying how motivating they have been. It is indeed true – many of us have been here since the very beginning and we work together as a team and every victory regarding a guest’s holiday is reason for celebration!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was the second time we have stayed at this hotel, the first being in 2005, and it was even better this time with the addition of an indoor & outdoor pool together with a spa.
It also made it very convenient to be able to fly direct from Leeds with Jet 2 including transfers & baggage.
The hotel is spotless, the rooms are large and comfortable and all the staff are tremendous.
The breakfast was good quality, however we didn't try dinner in the restaurant as there many good restaurants in town, our favourite being the 'Olives' on Rua da Queimada da Cima, 47 which was not too far to walk.
The sheer ambiance of this small five star hotel is wonderful and we would hope to stay again sometime in the future.
We had an half day tour with Theresa in her taxi organised by Rosie. This was excellent value and Theresa was very informative and jolly good company

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for being so thoughtful in giving your appreciation of the time spent during your stay 2nd visit to the Quintinha São João.

We were delighted to welcome you back and pleased to hear that you enjoyed our renovations since your last visit. We do not rest on our laurels and strive to provide the facilities, comfort and service that our guests deserve and have come to expect from their home in Madeira.

Needless to say, we were thrilled that you had a memorable experience and that you found the staff tremendous. Please know that we will be sure to share your positive feedback with all of the team (and Teresa).

We look forward to your third visit in, hopefully, the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our first trip to Madeira and we couldn't have been happier with our choice to stay at this hotel. We do not like the large chain hotels and prefer smaller properties. Quintinha Sao Joao was perfect for us and they provide a very personal touch. The staff were very helpful and friendly - and Rosie offered lots of great advice on where to go and what to see during our stay. We did most of what she suggested and it was all very enjoyable. The rooms were spacious, well furnished and spotlessly clean and we had a nice balcony overlooking the garden. There was a wide choice of quality produce on the breakfast buffet and the option of ordering freshly cooked hot eggs etc. over and above. We would not hestitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your glowing review for the Quintinha on TripAdvisor! We are absolutely delighted that you chose our hotel for your first trip to Madeira and even more so to hear that we met your expectations and that your holiday was such a success.

We are aware of how important it is to get the most out of your visit – whether you just want to relax and unwind or be a bit more adventurous. Our staff are always excited to share all aspects of our island and we like to personalise our advice – we are glad we made the right suggestions where you are concerned.

Thank you for saying you wouldn’t hesitate recommending the Quintinha and look forward to your next visit so that you can visit the places you didn’t manage to get to on this occasion.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was my second visit to this beautiful hotel and I wasn't disappointed. The hotel was opened in 1998 (I think) and it has all the mod cons that you would expect from a modern hotel. However, the decor has been enhanced by a wonderful blend of antique furniture, pictures and prints. The various lounge areas are appointed with comfortable chairs, tables and have a really luxurious and spacious feel to them.

The bed was absolutely huge with excellent quality sheets, there was a very nice lounge area in the bedroom leading onto a balcony overlooking the wonderful gardens.

As for the breakfast, my partner said it was the best breakfast choice he had ever experienced. The hotel caters for every European style of breakfast you can think of complete with homemade bread, rolls, cake and preserves - and a glass of sparkling wine should you wish to start the day with a fizz!

The staff are attentive without being obtrusive and the housekeepers keep the bedrooms, bathrooms and communal rooms absolutely spotless.

We hope to return later this year to experience a week of being spoilt rotten!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to leave your thoughts regarding your recent holiday on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your support and are glad that you found our staff attentive yet unobtrusive. This is our aim.

It is great to hear that you like our new soft-furnishings. We fully intend keeping up with our very high standards and each year work on enhancing a particular aspect og the Quintinha. Yes, we opened in 1998 so will be 15 this year – and many of our staff has been with us since the beginning.

I was going to say please don’t leave it so long this time until your next visit but I see that you hope to return later in the year – excellent news and we look forward immensely to welcoming you back.

Your sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua da Levada de Sao Joao 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quintinha Sao Joao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.