We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Moon in April” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quintinha Sao Joao to your Saves list
Quintinha Sao Joao
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Levada de Sao Joao, 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mini Moon in April”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

WOW! This Hotel is excellent.
We have never experienced staff as helpful as the women in reception.
Breakfast are Great and you are waited on with a smile.
We stayed for 6 nights in April for some relaxation after the big day.
The room was lovely a spacious and the facilities were great. We had a full body massage which was very good.
We were saying half board so only ate Dinner here on the first night which was very enjoyable.
There are plenty of lovely restaurants in town especially the yellow Forte restaurant which was our favorite.
We hired a car form the airport and once we found the Hotel it was easy to park in the underground car-park.
We said we would definitely be back for our 5 year anniversary(But leaving any future children at home with grandparents)
If not before.
Loved It!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor, had a lovely view of the Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
It was a real pleasure to welcome you both to the Quintinha São João for your "mini moon" recently and thank you very much for leaving such wonderful comments on Tripadvisor!

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, this will be such a great motivation for them. It is very important for our team to personalize every stay as much as possible and to make you feel as special and as individual as you indeed are. We are thrilled that we managed to achieve our goal!

We look forward to welcoming you back but do so hope that it will be prior to your 5th Anniversary!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    93
    21
    10
    0
See reviews for
70
547
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Leaving behind a host of small domestic crises, transport glitches and some ghastly spring weather in the Uk, we arrived dishevelled and unkempt in Funchal, and were immediately charmed by the wonderful atmosphere of the Quintinha. Despite the fact that my travel companion announced our arrival by the untimely (and inappropriate!) dropping of a large bottle of duty free gin as we were checking in, nothing phased the professionalism and exceeding good humour of the staff..(and many many thanks for not laughing at our sudden manic need for an ice bucket only five minutes after walking through the door!)

Check in was (ignoring the gin) smooth, friendly and informative - full information on the location of facilities, the bar, gym, pools etc was explained, and we were shown personally to our rooms with luggage following shortly after. Our twin room was light, spacious, and very well furnished, overlooking the beautiful gardens at the rear of the hotel. Some of the rooms on the other side of the hotel are closer to a road, so if this would be an issue for you I'd recommend asking to be located away from this area, but traffic noise was negligible, even when we were over that side of the hotel.

We had booked half board, a very good deal via travel republic, and were very happy with the standard of food we received - the menu remained the same, but there was plenty of choice, and even after a week there were still several items I'd like to have tried. On one evening (chef's night off?) a simpler "barbeque" type choice of fresh chicken, pork or beef was offered, but the quality of this was, as before, very high. I can only say that we must have been staying in a completely different place to the reviewers who have had issues with the quality of the catering, since we found consistently high standards of service, food and beverages at both breakfast and in the evenings. I can particularly recommend the Goan prawn curry, and the Sea Bass. Delicious. :)

We love cocktails, and so were frequently to be found (especially at Happy Hour!) in the Vasco de Gama bar, where a large variety of well mixed and delicious cocktails were served. Many thanks to Patricia, and the other bar staff whose suggestions for new things to try were much appreciated!

We took advantage of both pools, indoor and out: both are well maintained and very pleasant, and very quiet...the maximum number of users while we were there was half a dozen at the most. I can't comment on the spa as we didn't take advantage of this, but the list of treatments available looked very extensive. Their is also a well equipped gym with weights, cross trainer, cycle etc, and a very well equipped games room, with pool table, table tennis, chess and draughts boards.

What really stands out about the Quintinha is the quality and attention of the staff - some of whom we spoke to told us how much they like working there, and have been at the hotel since it opened in 1998. Quality tells and we loved every minute of our stay...thank you so much!

In conclusion: This is an absolute gem of a hotel, small, friendly, and welcoming. Everything about this lovely place is a delight, especially the dedicated staff who go out of their way to make your stay as perfect as possible. 11/10!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for submitting such an in-depth review of your recent stay at the Quintinha São João on TripAdvisor. How beautifully you describe your experience and honestly, reading this has brought us much joy.

Apart from the unfortunate experience on your arrival, we are glad that everything just got better and better. You certainly seem to have made use of most of our facilities and we hope that you will return to avail yourselves of things you have missed, such as the Spa.

I have had great pleasure in relaying your kind comments to our staff who join me in saying how motivating they have been. It is indeed true – many of us have been here since the very beginning and we work together as a team and every victory regarding a guest’s holiday is reason for celebration!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was the second time we have stayed at this hotel, the first being in 2005, and it was even better this time with the addition of an indoor & outdoor pool together with a spa.
It also made it very convenient to be able to fly direct from Leeds with Jet 2 including transfers & baggage.
The hotel is spotless, the rooms are large and comfortable and all the staff are tremendous.
The breakfast was good quality, however we didn't try dinner in the restaurant as there many good restaurants in town, our favourite being the 'Olives' on Rua da Queimada da Cima, 47 which was not too far to walk.
The sheer ambiance of this small five star hotel is wonderful and we would hope to stay again sometime in the future.
We had an half day tour with Theresa in her taxi organised by Rosie. This was excellent value and Theresa was very informative and jolly good company

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for being so thoughtful in giving your appreciation of the time spent during your stay 2nd visit to the Quintinha São João.

We were delighted to welcome you back and pleased to hear that you enjoyed our renovations since your last visit. We do not rest on our laurels and strive to provide the facilities, comfort and service that our guests deserve and have come to expect from their home in Madeira.

Needless to say, we were thrilled that you had a memorable experience and that you found the staff tremendous. Please know that we will be sure to share your positive feedback with all of the team (and Teresa).

We look forward to your third visit in, hopefully, the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our first trip to Madeira and we couldn't have been happier with our choice to stay at this hotel. We do not like the large chain hotels and prefer smaller properties. Quintinha Sao Joao was perfect for us and they provide a very personal touch. The staff were very helpful and friendly - and Rosie offered lots of great advice on where to go and what to see during our stay. We did most of what she suggested and it was all very enjoyable. The rooms were spacious, well furnished and spotlessly clean and we had a nice balcony overlooking the garden. There was a wide choice of quality produce on the breakfast buffet and the option of ordering freshly cooked hot eggs etc. over and above. We would not hestitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your glowing review for the Quintinha on TripAdvisor! We are absolutely delighted that you chose our hotel for your first trip to Madeira and even more so to hear that we met your expectations and that your holiday was such a success.

We are aware of how important it is to get the most out of your visit – whether you just want to relax and unwind or be a bit more adventurous. Our staff are always excited to share all aspects of our island and we like to personalise our advice – we are glad we made the right suggestions where you are concerned.

Thank you for saying you wouldn’t hesitate recommending the Quintinha and look forward to your next visit so that you can visit the places you didn’t manage to get to on this occasion.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was my second visit to this beautiful hotel and I wasn't disappointed. The hotel was opened in 1998 (I think) and it has all the mod cons that you would expect from a modern hotel. However, the decor has been enhanced by a wonderful blend of antique furniture, pictures and prints. The various lounge areas are appointed with comfortable chairs, tables and have a really luxurious and spacious feel to them.

The bed was absolutely huge with excellent quality sheets, there was a very nice lounge area in the bedroom leading onto a balcony overlooking the wonderful gardens.

As for the breakfast, my partner said it was the best breakfast choice he had ever experienced. The hotel caters for every European style of breakfast you can think of complete with homemade bread, rolls, cake and preserves - and a glass of sparkling wine should you wish to start the day with a fizz!

The staff are attentive without being obtrusive and the housekeepers keep the bedrooms, bathrooms and communal rooms absolutely spotless.

We hope to return later this year to experience a week of being spoilt rotten!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to leave your thoughts regarding your recent holiday on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your support and are glad that you found our staff attentive yet unobtrusive. This is our aim.

It is great to hear that you like our new soft-furnishings. We fully intend keeping up with our very high standards and each year work on enhancing a particular aspect og the Quintinha. Yes, we opened in 1998 so will be 15 this year – and many of our staff has been with us since the beginning.

I was going to say please don’t leave it so long this time until your next visit but I see that you hope to return later in the year – excellent news and we look forward immensely to welcoming you back.

Your sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a hotel with a difference. Unlike so many of the large 5 star concrete blocks that inhabit tourist resorts this is a small hotel where service to the guest really matters. The staff make friends with you and it matters to them that your stay is enjoyable. We were upgraded from a junior suite to a larger one and shown to our room by the receptionist. It was well laid out and equipped although I would have preferred a slightly larger TV and the provision of tea making facilities rather than a capsule coffee machine at 1euro a cup. The downstairs lounges, pool areas, gardens were all delightful and uninstitutional as so many hotels have become. Breakfast choices were excellent although we weren't given the menu until day 4 to discover that there was a full cooked breakfast available not just eggs as the waiters implied. They could also be encouraged to wish their guests a cheerful good morning in their respective languages like the rest of the staff.

The hotel is managed/owned locally and there was a reception by the General manager on tuesday evening. What became clear was the way he has built his staff into such an excellent team. My wife's birthday was celebrated by a cake and sparkling wine delivered to the room!

The reception staff were all outstanding and Rosie concierge/guest adviser helpful and fun. The hotel is well away from the Funchal 'hotel sector' and it's traditional feel added to the atmosphere. I don't say this of many hotels but I want to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Many thanks for your kind and detailed review! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Quintinha São João and that we met your expectations. We are also delighted that you liked our little surprise for your wife’s birthday, and our cocktail party. I must admit that I take a particular interest in meeting our guests and feel that this is a relaxed way to do it!

We can see by the tone of your review that you were looking for a holiday in the “real” Madeira and was not disappointed. As I have said before, we wish our guests to really experience life in Madeira and are so pleased that our traditional atmosphere met with your approval!

Yes, it matters wholly to our staff that your stay is a success and that you leave with the intention of returning. It is wonderful to read that you feel that the Quintinha is an exception to your rule and that you want to come back – and we can assure you that we are very much looking forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay. We found the staff helpful and courteous . Even the cleaner made sure that everything was satisfactory and clean. Rosie (tourist liaison) also went out of her way to make sure we had the information necessary to plan our trips. All the staff made a valuable contribution to the success of our stay. We had a large room with a balcony and enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pool. The decor and furnishings were much better than one gets in the chains. The only negative I can think of is the kitchen. The food was not tasty and fortunately we had not booked half board. There were days when we did not feel like going out , after being out the whole day and were always disappointed by what was served up. The resturant was definitely not value for money considering the really good food we had outside. So I would recommend this hotel on a bed and breakfast basis.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
It was a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Quintinha São João and thank you for submitting a review on TripAdvisor. Your wonderful comments about our services and staff are greatly appreciated and present a great source of motivation to us all!

We are glad also that you enjoyed your room and swimming pools but sorry our cuisine was not to your liking.

We would love to welcome you back in a not too distant future!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua da Levada de Sao Joao, 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quintinha Sao Joao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.