We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quintinha Sao Joao to your Saves list
Quintinha Sao Joao
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Levada de Sao Joao 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Northern England
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed a week in a standard room, which had a balcony over the lovely garden and was quiet all week. As others have said, service is remarkably friendly and helpful. Rosie provided information on ways into town, restaurants, walks and anything else you would want to know. When she was not there, the front desk staff stepped in and performed concierge services with a smile and patience. The rooms are large and comfortable in a home-like way. We did not mind the hilltop location and liked its relative proximity to the centre of town compared to the giant developments in west Funchal. We walked valiantly to and from the hotel (sometimes twice) to help burn off the many extra calories we consumed each day! It is not essential to use taxis, although in the heat it can seem like hard work at the final stretch (up hill). Others have commented on the few niggles, and I concur. It feels mean to be told not to use the fridge (or be charged 5 euros for doing so) and it would also be nice to be allowed to take a piece of fruit from breakfast back to the room for later, or perhaps to have a fruit bowl at reception as hotels frequently do. These 'rules' detract from the otherwise welcoming attitude of the staff, who do their best to make you feel at home. Surely an extra euro per night would cover any loss of minibar business and the fruit. My other niggle is the late start of breakfast, with cooked food not usually available till almost 8 a.m. and the buffet not open till 7.30. For those wanting to join excursions that pick up shortly after 8, it's a real rush; it made us reluctant to sign up for those excursions. Service at breakfast was noticeably less welcoming in some cases, as others have commented. The buffet itself was very varied, with changing cakes and fresh fruit. The cooked items were beautifully prepared, and only once was our poached egg not done to order. Lunch at the bar in the garden was a lovely experience, and we greatly enjoyed the bean and sausage soup (a bargain at 2.50 euros). In short, a very relaxing experience overall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the trouble you have gone to.

We are delighted that you found our staff helpful and friendly and that our information proved useful. We so want you to have the best Madeiran experience possible and are pleased that you valiantly (a lovely expression!) walked into the town centre. It appears from your comments that you agree with us – our location is perfect for those wishing to sample the “Real Madeira”.

As we have stated before, the bars in our rooms are advertised as minibars and not ‘fridges – you would be astounded at what these can be used for so yes, we do make a nominal charge of 5 Euros for your entire holiday – however long our guests are staying. As far as taking the fruit from breakfast is concerned – this will not present a problem on your next visit because we place fresh fruit in the room of all guests returning to stay with us on a daily basis and free of charge.

I will certainly personally question our chef and restaurant manager as to why you found the cooked food was only available from 8 a.m. Our restaurant opens for full breakfast at 7.30 p.m. Prior to this, breakfast is also available in your rooms at any time so we would have been delighted to have organised this for you on any morning you had an early start for an excursion.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Quintinha São João.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    83
    19
    10
    0
See reviews for
62
468
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

There's not much to be said that others have not already recorded here. A small hotel, but with excellent staff and good facilties - the "standard" double room we had would have qualified as a "junior suite" in many places, I think. The public spaces are plentiful and nicely furnished. Yes, there is some traffic noise, but never too intrusive for us, and, in any case, a price worth paying for the location conveniently close to Funchal centre.
The breakfasts were excellent. We ate in the restaurant on three evenings and two of the meals were excellent, the other occasion was satisfactory, though maybe that was down to my choice of dish and personal tastes - not something I would normally choose at home and other people had the same dish and said they thought it was good so...
We visited for two weeks on a B&B package with Jet2.com and thought overall this was excellent value. We will return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We read each and every review most attentively and, as you have taken the time and trouble to make your comments, we feel you deserve the courtesy of a personal reply.

We are delighted that our Quintinha came up to your expectations and that you enjoyed our facilities, staff and cuisine. Thank you for expressing these details.

We entirely agree with your comments regarding our location – I know that I have said this before but we want our guests to experience the “Real Madeira” and feel that our proximity to the original centre of Funchal and the old town definitely helps towards this.

We look forward to your return.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed one week in a spacious junior suite with a balcony and found the hotel an excellent choice within walking distance from the center. Service was very friendly everywhere as well as efficient, and the staff created a familiar atmosphere which is never possible in larger hotels. Cocktail party was a great idea. The bar is lovely and like a large living room with several sofa groups, enlarged by the terrace where one can be even closer to the garden. The breakfast was very good and included fruits and warm dishes by order. Hot stone massage in the spa felt great after several days of levada walks and is warmly recommended, like the hotel as a whole. This will be our choice also next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to share your thoughts regarding your recent holiday with the TripAdvisor followers.

We love the Quintinha São João and know we are a little biased but are delighted that you feel the same! This is great news.

Apart from the fact that I like to meet our guests personally, I think that our cocktail party is a bit of an “ice-breaker” and it is a pleasure watching our guests chat together and enjoying the evening.

You seem to have made full use of our facilities and enjoyed the amazing levada walks, which are so special to Madeira.

We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy some more of our hospitality in the future and thank you for your kind comments about our staff.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel itself is pretty small regarding the number of rooms, but this has a very positive effect on the quality of the service. All staff was very friendly, helpful and always at service. The rooms were clean, the bathroom okay, we had a little veranda with a view of the beautiful and well-maintained gardens.

There is one outside and one covered pool on the roof. The first one had some leaves from the surrounding trees in it, but this is the price you pay for the lovely surroundings.

The quintinha is situated a 20 minute walk away from downtown (30 for the old town/zona velha) or you take a taxi for 5 Euros. There is a free shuttle service, but only once or twice a day.

The only weak point is the restaurant (but this is part of another review of mine): breakfast has been plenty but pretty much the same for a whole week with slightest variations on the fruit offered. The diner was - to put it simply - not good at all and in particular overprized for the quality of the dishes.

We will surely be back once again and hope, that until then the very few issues with the restaurant are solved.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Quintinha and thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you liked our facilities and found our service to be friendly and helpful – we really aim to please. We are in the process of making various changes in our Restaurant so we hope that it will satisfy you on your next visit – which we look forward to.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the table tennis! Another highlight was the club sandwich. Best ever. Only there for two nights but loved the ambience and feel of the hotel, lots of nice old furniture. Pool isnt the biggest but its a charming place overall. Certainly a lot different to the more modern hotel we stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed the table tennis and sampled our club sandwich – a great favourite!

We are glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This gorgeous hotel has pretty much everything you could wish for: Great position about 30 minutes walk down into town. (I do mean down and confess we always took a taxi back, but that cost never more than 6 euros). The staff are really friendly: Ask Rosie for her restaurant recommendations which were all excellent. The rooms are large, with seating areas and balconies. Our ground floor room had a view over the lovely garden. I guess higher up there may be sea views. We didn't use the indoor pool as the outdoor one was heated. There were always enough sunbeds and the pool area is sheltered which was useful as the weather was changeable.
Breakfast is plentiful, fresh and there is a very good selection, especially of fruit. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but did have tea and cake in the bar area. The bar is lovely and on a couple of evenings there is a really good pianist. We also had a spa treatment. The happy hour deal was excellent and meant I had a hot stone massage for 36 euros. Bliss!
I would definitely return to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving your review regarding your recent holiday in Madeira – we are sure that TripAdvisor followers will find it most informative.

From our point of view, we are ecstatic to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday and so delighted that you found our service, advice and facilities lived up to your expectations.

We are glad that you tried our tea and cake! Our full Quintinha Tea is very popular and includes sandwiches and home-made scones and jam! What could be nicer that sitting on our terrace enjoying this?

It is obvious from your comments that you had a wonderful holiday and this means so much to us. Thank you for sharing these.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a real gem of a hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful- nothing is too much trouble. Lovely rooms, excellent public areas and leisure facilities. It was a first visit to Funchal and we were so relieved to have avoided the strip of larger, commercial hotels on the front.

It is a steep walk downhill into town, but easy and manageable ( we did it twice every day), with plenty of taxis available for the return, uphill! (5/6 Euros).

We didn't have dinner in the hotel restaurant but breakfast was very good and catered for every taste.
Will definitely return soon.

Room Tip: We loved our garden floor room with a little balcony and enjoyed watching a family of blackbirds ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Your kind review has really brought a smile to our faces! I have shared your comments with the rest of the team and to be told that our Quintinha is possibly the best hotel you have ever stayed in is just fantastic.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed our location – being in the “real” Madeira is so important and a very special experience – well worth the walk!

We look forwards to welcoming you back – as soon as possible!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua da Levada de Sao Joao 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quintinha Sao Joao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.