We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel for quiet couple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Save Saved
You added Quintinha Sao Joao to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Levada de Sao Joao 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small hotel for quiet couple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Delightful small hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfasts and advice on restaurants etc from the manager. Be prepared for a pleasant 20 minute downhill walk to the centre of town, but this means an uphill walk home. Would definitely recommend this quiet hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write your comments about our Quintinha on TripAdvisor.

It was lovely to have you to stay with us. We are delighted about the comments you made regarding our breakfast and advice - we take great pride in all aspects of our work here, so it is lovely when our endeavours are noticed and mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another relaxing holiday!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    480
    76
    17
    10
    0
See reviews for
60
442
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

What a delight this hotel is. We booked this hotel after a tripadvisor search. It didn't disappoint. From the moment we were picked up at the airport to check out a week later we were looked after very well. The hotel is very well run, really friendly staff, super quality rooms which were kept beautifully clean. The decor of the hotel is splendid. The only down side for me was that the restaurant didn't seem to reflect the ethos of the rest of the hotel. The breakfast was good lots of choice and freshly cooked eggs etc. Diner was ok but rather expensive. There are much better restaurants in the town. I always felt I was not made as welcome in the restaurant as I was in the hotel. Nevertheless I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are in the corridor to the restaurant. Any room on the 1st or 2nd floor is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review for us on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it. Your opening sentence made us really happy and it was a delight to have you staying with us! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found that our staff and facilities lived up to their reputation.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and are most grateful that you would consider recommending the Quintinha de São João.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wass
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have just returned from the Quintinha Sao Joao and had a really excellent relaxing break. This hotel is very good, with superb standards and extremely helpful staff who all take a real pride in making this a fantastic place to stay. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the town centre although on most occasions we got a taxi back since it was uphill and after all we were on holiday! We only ate in the restaurant once and whilst we found it far better than other hotels we have stayed in recently, the standard of restaurants in Funchal is very high and it did lag behind the others we ate in during the week. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and we will return. My tip is to book the hotel, flight and transfer separately rather than book a package tour as we saved quite a bit by doing it this way.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your support in writing a review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you think we give value for money and that you had a relaxing break.

We work hard to maintain the high standards we have set ourselves so it is most rewarding to hear that you feel we have succeeded and that you enjoyed the service of our staff. We try to get the balance right by being helpful without being intrusive. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant on the occasion you chose to dine in.

We look forward very much to welcoming you back to the Quintinha on your next visit to Madeira.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay in this hotel. The location is ideal, being a short walk to the centre of town. Walking back to the hotel was not a problem, although all uphill. A taxi is always an option and not expensive. Our room was very spacious, clean, well equipped and having the balcony was lovely. Breakfast was good with a varied choice each day, with an option of ordering eggs cooked to order. We ate in the restaurant on 2 occasions and I would have to disagree with some of the other reviews. The service was efficient, food was good and the wine reasonably priced. This is a lovely hotel, the staff, without exception, were extremely friendly and helpful. If ever I'm lucky enough to visit the beautiful island of Madeira again, I would definitely stay return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We believe that if guests take time to write reviews on Tripadvisor we should take time to say thank you. So thank you!

We are delighted that you enjoyed our restaurant cuisine and service – both for breakfast and dinner.

Customer Service is one of our main priorities along with a friendly and welcoming atmosphere...we constantly strive to get the balance just right. Happily it seems as though we have succeeded where you are concerned!

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

It is a ten minute walk downhill from the hotel to the centre of town (The Cathedral). Takes more like 15 mins coming back up, but we did not find this a problem and prefer this location to being out along the coast in one of the newer hotel development areas. The Quintinha has lots of character including interesting old furniture and pictures. We made use of the games room (table tennis, pool, chess and draughts) and the indoor pool (fairly small but good, with towels and sun loungers). Reception staff were cheery, efficient and helpful.

Our bedroom was large, clean and very pleasant, with a good bathroom including power shower - although the bath was not all that long. Whilst the hotel is generally very peaceful there was some slight traffic noise in our room (which was at the end of the building nearest the main road), but not enough to bother us.

We had one evening meal in the restaurant, which was disappointing. But there are lots of good places to eat in Funchal so if you don't mind the walk then no problem. In contrast, breakfast in the hotel was very good bordering on excellent. There was a very broad range of choice, including cereals, cake, sliced meat, cheese, croissants, bread rolls, yoghurt and superb fresh fruit. Cooked breakfast was also available, which whilst not up to the standards of the best "English breakfast" was quite acceptable - and this is Madeira not UK so play to their strengths and enjoy the fruit!

Room Tip: High (3rd floor) rooms have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor and would like to say that we value every single one. We are certain prospective guests will find it useful.

We have a dedicated, professional and helpful team who ensure our guests feel welcome and at home – we are so gratified that this is evident.

We do our utmost to provide the best buffet breakfast possible to cater for the tastes of all the nationalities staying with us. We specially prepare all our fresh fruit daily to save our guests the trouble of even peeling the succulent delights of our island!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This review will just repeat what others have written about this gem of a hotel. We enjoyed everything about it: welcoming, knowledgeable staff (yes: you can't go wrong with Rosie!); spacious, comfortable room, well supplied; quiet location. Having later seen the "hotel zone" via the open-top bus tour, glads we chose our location rather than there. The walk into town is downhill & easy: so the walk back is a bit more challenging but not difficult. We used the shuttle twice and it was fine. We didn't use the pool, etc. facilities and used the restaurant for breakfast only. There are major works going on along the waterfront, ideal for the anoraks amongst us! Unlike the H & S conscious U. k., one can stand and watch from just a few meters distance. Recommend dining in the Old Town. We hope to return to this hotel for another week of winter sun next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you are in agreement with past reviews and love the word “gem”!

We are pleased that we came up to your expectations and that you enjoyed our facilities and found our staff to be welcoming and knowledgeable. I couldn’t agree more with you as far as our location is concerned – ours is a true Madeiran experience and positioned for you to enjoy the “real” Funchal!

We are also pleased that you plan on returning to us in the future which is always a very good sign. We look forward to welcoming you back for another week of winter sun and pampering next year!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics U.K
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Needed that weeks winter break from the ongoing misery of the UK weather. Chose Madeira as it was reachable within a few hours and the temperatures were predicted to be pleasant in February.
My review will echo many of those recently posted in that on the whole this is a very fine, clean, well presented hotel with excellent staff who make you feel very welcome.
The hotel sits just above the main town and is walkable for those 50ish within 10 minutes. The trek back uphill wasn't as bad as I was expecting and had been portrayed by others. Personally didn't feel the need for the shuttle bus service, although we did take a couple of taxi's back in the late evening after excellent meals in town.
That brings me nicely onto this hotels downfall, and that is the restaurant. Again, the staff were very attentive and friendly but,as one fellow guest put it, at times the service was a bit in the 'Fawlty Towers' league. Main problem was on the Monday we arrived when it appears all the guests who had descended on the Hotel that night chose to attend dinner at the same time.
This must surely be a regular occurrence, but the staff plainly couldn't cope with the volume and openly admitted as such. Consequences were big delays in receipt of food, and a barely warm seafood starter.
Out of loyalty we booked for Valentines night and must say the food was very good, but again this was a long dining session with big waiting periods between courses.
Breakfast is good. Not brilliant, just good. Could do with a more varied choice of menu over the week.
We liked the Vasco de Gama bar and took advantage of 2 for 1 happy hour - 6.30-7.30pm. A tad more alcohol in the cocktails wouldn't have gone amiss though.
Enough moaning ! - this is genuinely a classy little hotel which we would return to.
The public areas are stylish and I wouldn't have been too surprised to see Poirot tottering through towards the bar.
Our mini suite was very spacious and well presented and the balcony was a good spot to admire the well kept gardens and glimpse of the sea between the trees.
Hint - Take advantage of the delightful Rosie who will steer you in the right direction for meals out and bus tours etc. Rosie tells it how it is, and she was spot on with her recommendations (Rosie- you're still welcome in our gang!).
Due to this being our first time in Madeira we didn't spend enough time at the hotel to make best use of all facilities, but did manage a couple of nice swims in the warm indoor pool, and took in a couple of massage therapies to aid the relaxation. All very nice !

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the best aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you both very much for such a thorough review, we really appreciate each and every one and are certain that prospective guests will find it very useful.

We know you had great time whilst you were here and are pleased that Rosie’s recommendations proved successful. She says that she would be delighted to be welcomed in your gang (her words)! We are delighted that you found all our staff welcoming and excellent – this is such an important feature of the Quintinha São João and we are always thrilled to hear this has been made evident.
We now look forward to your next visit and perhaps you can spend a bit more time enjoying our facilities, ambiance and spa treatments.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua da Levada de Sao Joao 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quintinha Sao Joao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.