We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quintinha Sao Joao to your Saves list
Quintinha Sao Joao
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Levada de Sao Joao, 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Helensburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute through Thompson after reading previous TripAdvisor reviews. It lived up to our expectations with a large and comfortable room and friendly, efficient and capable staff.
Although described as having a garden view, which was wholly accurate, we also had a pretty good sea view as well. It must be noted that we were lucky as all rooms won't have a sea view. Nothing wrong with just the garden view though.
The rooms listed as available were twin rooms so I sent an email asking if a double was available, which is what we were given.
It was my wife's birthday during our stay; when we returned to our room after dinner out on that day there was a cake, a bottle of sparkling wine with plates, cutlery, serviettes and glasses waiting for us. A very nice and welcome touch.
You may notice in other reviews about the traffic on the nearby road. It is quite busy but even with our balcony door open there wasn't a problem with noise. Don't misunderstand, the hotel itself isn't on a busy road - the immediate surroundings are very quiet and it's away from the main hotel zone of Funchal, although the city is only a 15 minute walk away. All uphill on the way back but there is a courtesy bus to and from the hotel a couple of times a day.
I do have a little criticism but not enough to take away the 5 stars I've awarded this hotel: We booked half board but would go for B & B for another visit. There was nothing really wrong with the food but it didn't live up to the 5 star standard of the rest of the hotel...and what happened to breakfast on our final day - 28th Jan!! We chose to have something cooked although there is plenty of choice from the buffet. Everything was cold and the eggs actually had a skin formed on the yolk. I know I should have sent it back but seemed a shame to end an excellent week on a sour note.
All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay and we would have no hesitation in returning to Quintinha Sao Joao when visiting Madeira again.

Room Tip: A couple of the rooms on the ground floor are passed by everyone going to the restaurant so would pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We are delighted that you booked the Quintinha Sao Joao for your recent holiday in Madeira and even happier that it lived up to your expectations! Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are honoured that you spent your wife’s birthday with us and are pleased that you enjoyed our little gift. Thank you also for letting us know beforehand of your requirements of a double bedded room rather than two singles – wherever possible we do our best to ensure your satisfaction and comfort.

We are sorry about your experience with breakfast on your final day. I am looking into this as the reason we have our cooked selection made to order is to avoid this happening. As far as the half board meals are concerned we have, from the 1st February taken off our “menu of the day” and guests on HB can now choose 3 courses from our à la carte menu. It is still early to reach a conclusion but it appears to be successful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Quintinha on your next visit to Madeira.

Yours sincerely

André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    93
    21
    10
    0
See reviews for
69
540
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We had been looking forward to our second visit for some time - we were not disappointed! We had requested that we stay in a similar room to the one we stayed in for our first visit last year. We were therefore thrilled to find that we had been allocated the same room (113) and we immediately felt as though we had arrived home. Upon entering the room we found that refreshing plates of watermelon and a bottle of mineral water had been left for us. These were very welcome after our long journey and greatly appreciated. We made more use of the Quintinha's facilities during this visit. A relaxing facial at the spa was particularly enjoyed. Lunch and afternoon teas on the terrace were also excellent. Rosie helped us choose a minibus tour of the island and arranged for us to be collected for the tour from the hotel - so easy! A restaurant reservation was also made for us at Beef & Wines nearby (also recommended). Our week sped by all too quickly. We were fortunate to have glorious weather and I now write this review looking out of my window into cold wet British weather, feeling more than a little bit homesick for our 'home in Madeira'. Needless to say we intend to return very soon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for writing your comments on TripAdvisor and a very delighted “thank you” on behalf of all of us for coming back a second time!

Guest satisfaction and comfort are paramount to us. To us the fine details are of the utmost importance and we are pleased that you felt you had arrived home.

We are also delighted that you sampled more of our facilities during this visit. This is the beauty of a holiday here – if you wish to do absolutely nothing then fine and if you would like to try some new experiences and visit a bit more of Madeira then we are full of ideas!

The weather continues to be warm and sunny and your “home in Madeira” awaits your third visit very soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We found this hotel via Tripadvisor and booked independently - the hotel via its website (actually Booking.com), the flight from Monarch, and the transfer via Travel Republic (£32 for 2-way private transfer from the airport, which we thought good value). Amazingly, it all worked without a hitch. We left England as the snow began to fall, enjoyed a week of sunshine, and returned as the thaw began.
Independent booking is sometimes cheaper, but often it just gives you more choice. We like B&B, because we can choose where and how much to eat.
We loved the hotel. Our room was enormous, spotless and comfortable. We liked the breakfasts, good choice, with minor changes each day. We ate the €38 a la carte plus wine dinner twice, and enjoyed it.
The staff were delightfully friendly, which makes it a comfortable and relaxing place to stay. We thought we got good unbiased advice on tours and walks (Madeira Happy Tours) and on places to eat. This was both from reception and from Rosie. Another advantage over a package.
Minor negatives: It is quite a long, steep uphill walk from the town and this gets tedious after the first few times (we are far too tightfisted to take taxis). WiFi only works near the window in the room. The view is largely obscured by the mature trees in the garden, which may also affect sunbathing.
We had an outstanding tour of the northwest of the island with Happy Tours, a levada walk in the only rain of the week, and did the spectacular Pico Areiro Pico Ruivo walk, which must be one of the great walks of the world.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you very much for the time and trouble you have taken in writing a review of your recent holiday at the Quintinha Sao Joao.

Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our staff – I can speak on behalf of all of us and say that it was a pleasure to have been of service to you.

As far as our Wifi is concerned, we have a very good and free service in Reception, the bar and on the terrace. We are currently looking to improving Wifi in the bedrooms.

It seems that you have truly made use of our facilities and have explored a good deal of the beauty Madeira has to offer. I am in total agreement – the walk between the peaks is as dramatic as it is scenic and a wonder to behold!

We hope that you will return in the near future and enjoy further delights of both Madeira and the Quintinha.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have recently returned home, from a 2week stay at the Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel, feeling very relaxed and refreshed. We arrived on New Years Eve, the Gala dinner was excellent and we then walked into Town, takes about 15mns, to see the firework display that was so spectacular.The Staff and Management were always very polite & helpful, the bedrooms clean, large and comfortable. The food choices, were to a very high standard, with a very good selection of options at breakfast. We also had some "flexy" "Table D,hote vouchers which worked very well, so you could eat in some nights if the daily menu was to your liking (or eat out if preferred). We felt the portions on the 4course evening meals were just right and food excellent. The health spa is very good indeed, very clean, staff very helpful and you can relax and unwind! The gardens are quite private and I am sure will be very colourful in the spring and "all in all" a very relaxing, enjoyable holiday. Thankyou to all the Staff & Management in making our holiday so enjoyable !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of the Quintinha São João on TripAdvisor. Above all, it is wonderful to hear that you have returned from your holiday relaxed and refreshed.

You stayed with us over one of the most exciting periods of all.. the New Year! Funchal is ablaze with lights and fireworks and one can’t help but be mesmerised by the whole spectacle.

It is ideal to use the “flexi-dine” system as this enables you to have be best of both worlds and are delighted to hear that you found the meals taken in the hotel to be just right and excellent.

I shall pass on your comments to our team – rest assured they will be delighted!

We look forward to Welcoming you back to the Quintinha soon – perhaps in the Spring!

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The overall experience in the hotel can be judged as excellent. Most important is the extra mile the staff is willing to go in order to provide full comfort during your stay. Not only are they kind, but they are extremely helpful, a valuable combination. The rooms are large and comfortable, breakfast is good and there is a decent variety to choose from. The inside swimming pool is small, but it still gives the possibility for some indoor exercise in the winter. The only minus would be the spa, where the amenities are crowded and the level of privacy and cosiness is thus insufficient. Its opening hours should be prolonged as well. The restaurant in the hotel is very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your kind comments regarding our staff and for leaving them on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that it is evident that we do wish to go the extra mile to ensure your comfort and satisfaction. You may be assured that this is our principal endeavour.

We are glad that you enjoyed our restaurant, breakfast and facilities. You have mentioned the opening hours and I am pleased to inform you that these are under revision at the moment and we will have varying opening hours depending on the season. We are surprised to learn that you felt there was a lack of privacy in the Spa as we take care in booking the various facilities such as the hammam, sauna and jacuzzzi per room so as to avoid this. We will look into this closely.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Quintinha de São João at a later date.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have just spent 10 days at this hotel and rate it as quite the best we have encountered. The service is first class and good humoured. Nothing is too much for them to make your stay enjoyable. The resident tour guide suggested all sorts of tours and restaurants which this being our first stay in Madeira proved invaluable. The hotel has one of the best restaurants in Madeira; 2 excellent swimming pools; along with a luxurious spa. We will return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to post your review for the Quintinha Sao Joao on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and the fact that you say that it is the best hotel you have encountered makes us feel very proud. We are totally dedicated to the service of our guests and you are correct – nothing is too much trouble.

As it was your first visit to the island we are pleased that we were able to give you invaluable information and that you took advantage of this service. It is so important to get the most out of your holiday.

We now look forward to welcoming you back to our Quintinha for your second visit to Madeira in the near future.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairndow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel
This hotel just misses being a really top rate hotel. On the plus side are:
An exceptional group of staff - friendly, efficient and warm without being in any way servile. A good sign of quality of management is that most of the staff have been there for years and years.
An excellent buffet breakfast, with great variety, especially of breads and fruit. Every cooked breakfast is prepared to order, as it should be. Too many so called top hotels are lazy and sloppy when it comes to this area of food, and pre-prepare cooked breakfast.
Good public areas with comfortable arm chairs and attractive furniture.
An indoor and outdoor pool and spa area add some star rating, but sadly they have cut into the garden area too much. There is a pleasant veranda area, surrounded by plants and trees, which must be wonderfully cool in summer - but in winter is a bit on the chilly side.
I would advise NOT to book half board. There are plenty of good restaurants in town (c 25 mins walk), and, unless you firmly want a 4 course meal every night, the a la carte menu is really not much more expensive and has a far greater variety.The set menu is a little on the ‘safe’ side, and a little bland, maybe trying to be all things to all people and falling a little ‘between the stools’. There is no Goan food on the set menu , for instance, and yet the chef is noted for that style of cooking. However I mentioned this in passing to the reception staff and they arranged for us to ‘swap’ food for a few nights - but you have to ask!
But is was undoubtedly the staff who shone and made our holiday a top class one.
When booking (especially in winter) ask for 2nd or 3rd floor room so you get the sun on your balcony. 1st and ground floors are shaded.

Room Tip: 2nd floor better, esp in winter.Ground floor shaded
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Many thanks for posting your review for the Quintinha São João on TripAdvisor.

We thank you for your many positive comments and are delighted that you have enjoyed our service and facilities. I have personally taken on board your comments regarding our Half Board option and am pleased to say that it has, in fact, been under discussion and revision for some months now. As from the beginning of February we are altering our procedure and, instead of having a separate menu for Half Board, we are offering our guests choices from our à la carte menu – any starter, main course and dessert – thus affording a greater choice and, of course, opening up our Goan specialities.

I have passed on your comments to our staff who join me in expressing their pleasure that your holiday was such a success.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua da Levada de Sao Joao, 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quintinha Sao Joao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.