We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we will return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quintinha Sao Joao to your Saves list
Quintinha Sao Joao
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Levada de Sao Joao 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So good we will return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We loved staying at your hotel. It is quietly elegant and very comfortable. Our room was bright and spacious with a lovely view over the gardens. The separate seating area is an excellent idea, perfect for reading and relaxing. The buffet breakfast was a feast and the evening meals were amazing. The food is delicious, beautifully prepared and presented. Service in the dining room is very professional, attentive but not intrusive. Andre Barreto, the General Manager, and his staff say that they will do all in their power to ensure their guests have an enjoyable stay, And they certainly do! We have personal experience of this and are very grateful for the help they gave us. We definitely recommend your hotel.
Les and Ann Wiiliams Ipswich Suffolk

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Williams,

It has been a lovely ending to the year reading your glowing comments about our Quintinha on TripAdvisor. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to support us – we are most grateful.

We are delighted to hear that we have come up to your expectations and that you enjoyed our facilities and service. As you say, this is of the utmost importance to us and we are so happy to hear that we have succeeded where you are concerned.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again on a future holiday and, in the meantime, wish you a happy, healthy and prosperous New Year.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    86
    20
    10
    0
See reviews for
64
486
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Co Down, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We picked this hotel using TripAdvisor reviews and if anything they understated the excellent experience of this hotel.
My wife and I visited Funchal for a week and had an faultless stay. The staff were cheerful, helpful, very attentive and eager to help in every way as soon as we arrived at the front door. The room was excellent, with a balcony overlooking the garden. Thought it would be a bit noisy because of a relatively busy road on the other side of the garden wall but the opposite was true, the place was a hidden oasis of calm. The hotel is very tastefully decorated in typical Madeiran style with a skillful blend of modern and antique furnishings.
The restaurant has to be one of the best on the island and never disappointed although we did sample a couple of others coming back for our last night.
The location of the hotel is also very convenient; a pleasant 10 - 15 minute walk past Quinta Vigia, a historic manor house and gardens which are now the official residence of the President of the Autonomous Region of Madeira, to the centre of Funchal Returning to the hotel is better accomplished by taxi (about €6) as some of the roads are a bit steep for my 69year-old legs.
A summary - First class in every department!

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
What lovely words: “First class in every department!” We are really heartened to read your review on TripAdvisor and would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your comments with other travellers.

We pride ourselves in providing a truly Madeiran experience and a haven from busy day to day life. We are delighted that we have succeeded in this where you are concerned.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our restaurant – we are all so pleased that you enjoyed our cuisine.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A first class experience. Lovely spacious room with balcony overlooking the garden. Traffic noise if you sit out - but close windows and the outside disappears. Very quiet. Service faultless - professional and very friendly. The hotel benefits from its size - small enough to be personal but five star in everything. Many staff have been there several years, and it shows it their excellent service. It is a 15 minute walk into the centre - and unless you are very fit, a taxi back! Restaurant top notch - innovative, good portions and tasty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
It was a pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor and we would like to thank you for your generous comments.

We are very proud of the fact that we have so many “long-serving” staff (many since the hotel opened 14 years ago) and would agree with you that small is beautiful when it comes to personal service. We are also gratified to hear that you found us professional and friendly as we strive to attain the right balance regarding this so we are delighted that we have got it right where you are concerned.

We are glad too that you enjoyed our cuisine and I shall personally relay this to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Quintinha in the near future.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A 7 night stay in October was a truly wonderful & relaxing experience. From the moment we arrived the staff were courteous attentive & throughout our stay were so helpful; always with a smile. The decor inside the hotel was perfectly in tune with the character of the hotel especially thro' the choice of period antiques & paintings. The room was larger than we expected,clean & extremely comfortable. If I had to find a fault it was only that the pop up plugs in the bathroom sink/bidet did not hold water, just needs a little maintenance. Will certainly return on our next visit to Madeira.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden area are nice & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you very much for the wonderful comments on TripAdvisor and for staying with us on such a special occasion as a birthday treat!

Our apologies for the problems with the plugs in the sinks and bidets - I will get our Maintenance department on this immediately.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Decided to book this 43 bedroom, 5 star Hotel in Funchal and we were highly delighted that it ticked all our boxes for luxury, service, food and accommodation. We were looked after by attentive staff and they made our visit special with their advice and courteous manner on all occasions. The facilities were ample and very easy to locate from the games room to the swimming pools (both outdoor and indoor) and the fitness room (big enough for me). We were well informed by Rosie for all our trips and excursions and advice on restaurants, Walks and the area totally without any need to ask twice. The hotel Restaurant - A Morgadinha was excellent with great food and service - so please try this out even if not a resident. Breakfast was great with wide choice and freshly cooked main course - omlettes were brilliant! The cocktail bar was well used for tea / coffee / drinks and of course afternoon tea at 9.90 euros (good value).
Even though this hotel is away from the harbour it is well worth the effort and keeps you exercising with walking to and from the town, and taxis were used when required (prompt service) at no cost other than the trip and tips. Recommend highly so hope others will follow our lead. Many Thanks to the Staff.

Room Tip: No problems with our first floor en-suite room with a garden view - very tidy and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are delighted too that you chose our hotel for your recent holiday in Madeira and even more so to hear that our Quintinha ticked all your boxes for service, food and accommodation.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor and with other travellers - I am sure they will find them most useful.

I shall take great delight in relaying your praise to our staff and on behalf of them, I would like to thank you for expressing your pleasure in this way – it is most motivating.

Our afternoon tea is, as you so rightly say, excellent value for money and there is little nicer than sitting on our terrace sipping tea and enjoying homemade scones, cakes, jams and sandwiches!

We thank you for your recommendation and hope to have the pleasure of your company on further visits.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

A superb quiet hotel with wonderful service. This was our fourth visit to the hotel. The rooms are lovely, clean and bright. The food is always excellent. The bar staff are very polite and the service is first class. There are two small swimming pools one indoor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
The fact that this was your fourth visit to the Quintinha does, in itself, say it all! We thank you so much for your continuing support and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

It has been a huge pleasure to have had you to stay with us again and look forward to the relish of your next visit.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piriapolis, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights in November 2012. Absolutely wonderful experience. The staff could not be more helpful. It seems that our wishes were their commands. Allowed us to stay later than check-out time because we had a late afternoon flight to Lisbon. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with garden views and climate control.A great deal at these prices! The restaurant cuisine specializes in Goan cuisine and it was delicious. They prepared our food to our specific tastes in spiciness and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Planning to return next year for my wife's birthday and frankly can't wait!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
What a lovely way to describe our Quintinha! Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. Your support and kind words are much appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that you are planning a visit next year and it will be a pleasure to “help” celebrate your wife’s birthday.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua da Levada de Sao Joao 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quintinha Sao Joao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.