We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional, friendly, peaceful hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quintinha Sao Joao to your Saves list
Quintinha Sao Joao
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Levada de Sao Joao 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Traditional, friendly, peaceful hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a fantastic week at this beautiful hotel. From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful and we could not fault anything about the accommodation or service. Rooms were generously sized and traditionally decorated but with all mod cons including air con, flatscreen tvs and dvd player and refridgerator. Balconies overlooked the beautiful gardens and upper floors had views over Funchal - some towards the mountains and others towards the sea. We opted for B&B which enabled us to sample a variety of restaurants in the town - several following recommendations given by the hotel's extremely helpful concierge Rosie Borges. None of these disappointed. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and varied - continental style but eggs and 'traditional english' options cooked to order. The sparkling wine on offer with breakfast every day was a special treat - as was the 'cocktail of the day' which we looked forward to sampling after a hard day's walking the levadas. The location of the hotel is perfect - within 10 minutes walk of the town centre but away from the hustle and bustle of the chain hotels on the coast in the lido area. Although it is a challenging walk back uphill to the hotel, the peace and quiet and relaxing ambience when you get there is well worth the effort. We would highly recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Your comments and review on TripAdvisor are very much appreciated and we are sure that it will be very useful to future guests.

It is our aim to keep the traditional Madeiran feeling throughout the hotel but, of course, we are aware of the need to supply all the mod cons that we have all come to expect in our day to day lives. We are delighted that you have picked up on this – it means that we are transmitting the desired atmosphere.

We are glad too that you enjoyed the sparkling wine and our freshly cooked breakfasts – we hope to provide you with little treats that make your holiday all the more agreeable!

Thank you for saying that our location is perfect, cocktails a fitting reward after your levada walks and Rosie’s recommendations useful. All these ingredients go together to make a holiday at the Quintinha de São João just that little bit special.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    86
    20
    10
    0
See reviews for
64
486
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanau, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at Quintinha Sao Joao in July for one week on a leisure trip. Overall we found the hotel very enjoyable. It is very well looked after, with well appointed, large rooms and well-equipped facilities. We found that everything was spotlessly clean and the way attention was given to detail (decoration, flowers etc) made us feel very welcome and special. We particularly enjoyed the reasonably priced Vasco da Gamma Bar and the pool areas (the hotel has an indoor as well as an outdoor pool, given that it has only some 40+ rooms, we found that it offered more than enough space for us to enjoy some privace if we wanted to). The staff were all friendly and helpful and we felt that we were treated very well throughout our stay. The hotel manager even held a "General Manager's Cocktail Party" during our stay which is a thing I have never experienced before.

The two minor downsides we experienced were on the one hand the quality of the coffee at breakfast: for a 5-star-hotel we found it simply inadequate to serve instant coffee, especially given the fact that even at the pool bar (like everywhere else in Madeira) a good, freshly brewed coffee was available. A simple coffemaker would be a vast improvement here.
Secondly, one needs to be aware that the hotel is more noisy than it looks on the pictures. The Rua des Maravilhas (spelling?), a main street connecting the city centre and the motorway is right next to the hotel garden so that it can become a bit noisy, especially in rush hours. As we wanted to stay in downtown Funchal, we felt that the street noise was inevitable and it was not really something that bothered us during our stay, but we think that it is worth noting when looking at the pictures.

Still, we felt that the hotel was a very good choice offering good value for money, an impeccable service and well appointed rooms so that we would definitely consider staying there again when returning to beautiful Madeira.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors offer views on Funchal while rooms on lower floors mostly have garden views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for your time and trouble in posting a review of your recent holiday at the Quintinha de São João on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and that our facilities and staff met with your expectations. We agree with you that the finishing touches are most important and that is why we pay so much time and attention to detail like the fresh flowers – we are, after all known as the “Island of Flowers” so we must make the most of this! We are glad too that you liked our Cocktail Party – I enjoy meeting you our guests very much and it is a good opportunity for a “get together”.

We have always said that we are in a privileged position as far as our location is concerned and, of course, Funchal is a major city but we also consider ourselves a little oasis with a definite Madeiran feel as opposed to establishments in the more touristy area.

We are sorry you did not enjoy the breakfast coffee but it is so very difficult to satisfy all tastes and all nationalities. Our coffee at the bar is, of course, individually made “expresso”.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Madeira.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Having recently stayed at the Q.S.J. for our 18th. time, we feel highly qualified to recommend this wonderful hotel, as we have done on several previous occasions. It is truly "Our home in Madeira."

Our holiday this year was as magical and memorable as on our very first visit in 2000 ! We experienced the same genuine care and attention from all the staff who have contributed so much to make our visits perfect.

Special mention must be made of Carlo who ensures that every meal is a delightful experience.
The amazing breakfasts, with so much choice of fruit, meats and cheeses, as well as the usual cooked food, are a great way to start the day. There is also a wide choice of light lunches, served by Antonio and his bar staff, which may be enjoyed on the terrace or by the pool.

Dinner is served in the A Morgandinha Restaurant by friendly and competent waiters and is always beautifully prepared and presented.

Rosie, Guest Relations, who is at her desk every weekday, is the focal point of advice and information on every aspect of Madeira. She has at her fingertips details of levada walks, jeep safaris, car hire, boat trips, taxi tours, concerts, shopping and, in fact, anything and everything the holidaymaker would need to know.

The fully-equipped gymnasium provides the energetic guest with the opportunity to keep fit, while the Spa is marvellous for massages, manicures and pedicures. We made good use of these facilities. The pool and the surrounding gardens are great for relaxing and sunbathing ~ we particularly enjoyed the superb hammocks.

The charming General Manager, Andre Barreto, personally welcomes everyone to his weekly cocktail party. This gives the guests a good opportunity to chat and get to know one another.

We were fortunate to be staying at the Quintinha for the occasion of the Feast of Sao Joao and we were able to enjoy the traditional four-course meal with a plentiful supply of drinks in honour of Sao Joao, held in the most beautiful gardens. It was a perfect evening, in a perfect setting at a perfect hotel.

In all our travels we have yet to find a hotel which comes near to the high standards of the Q.S.J.
We are now making our plans for our next visit.

Room Tip: Select a room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
No prizes for guessing your identity! 18 times in the 14 years that we have been open is amazing and we would like to thank you so very much for your continuing support and preference.

Thank you too for submitting your comments to TripAdvisor – it was with great pride that I read this and will certainly pass on your kind comments to the rest of the staff – most who have been here since your first visit!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Great hotel and fantastic staff. Very clean and very well looked after. Large clean room. Nice view of the garden.
The staff cannot do enough for you. From our first arrival to departure always made to feel welcome.
We arrived early at 11.00. We were shown around the hotel and our room was ready for us. They insisted on taking our bags to the room with a smile. Food is very good indeed and the breakfast / dinner room staff were always more than happy to help and with a smile. The guys in the bar always provided a good service and again with a smile and were more than willing to chat. The staff provided us with good recommendations of where to eat and visit. We used the taxi recommended by the staff and found this better value and more worthwhile as the lady provided a great history of the island. She also stopped at various places along the way to talk about the view and take pictues. Great location, close enough to walk and far enough away for peace and quiet. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your recent stay on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you were made to feel welcome from the moment you stepped into the Quintinha. This is very much our intention and we thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff – I will be most pleased to pass them on.

It is not always easy to make recommendations as tastes differ immensely but we like to suggest what we ourselves would like to do, see and taste if we were visiting our island for the first time! In addition, we would only place you in the hands of professionals.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

This place is a gem. It is beautifully maintained, the facilities were all we wanted but the whole stay was made special by the wonderfully helpful staff. We followed their recommendations and this added to our holiday, including using their recommended taxi to visit the island attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you very much for leaving your comments regarding your recent holiday at the Quintinha de São João. Your support is much appreciated and we are delighted that our recommendations were the right ones, enabling you to get out and about and to get the most out of our beautiful Madeira.

I am sure there are parts of the Island you haven’t explored so we look forward to welcoming you back soon so that you may put this right.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We arrived early and at checkin bumped into a couple my wife ended up having to sit with on the plane as TAP had messed up our reservation and we got split up.

Staff were superb, friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough.

Hotel was spotless, service was great, room service was not over priced. Food was excellent. Room was large with balcony, large bathroom, plenty of seating room and comfy beds.

We had a romantic package which meant we experienced the spa which was smaller than center parcs but as in small hotel it was empty and had it all to ourselves, the package gave us an inclusive meal at the hotels Goan restaurant and the food was excellent, we also went to the valentines meal and that was great value as toooo much wine was included! not good as we had a 2.5hr ferry trip the next morning - thankfully first class so we had a private loo to pray to!

I tried the small gym and indoor swimming pool which were very nice and kept my body moving.

Need to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We are delighted that you opted for our “Romantic Package” and that you so obviously enjoyed it! It was an excellent choice and one that has proved very popular indeed. It includes the best of everything – a relaxing massage, Goan cuisine (the speciality of the house) and more.

There is, however, a moral to this story... don’t book a day trip to Porto Santo the day after one of our special evenings! We strongly believe that these should be enjoyed to the hilt.

We are pleased that you need to come back – nothing would please us more.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two weeks in June. A Quinta was recommended to us and we were so pleased we chose this one. We were greeted at Reception by the friendliest of staff and this set the tone for our stay here. The location was perfect with a 10 minute downward walk to the centre of Funchal and the joy of a courtesy bus or taxi for the return journey back up the rather steep hill! The bedrooms were perfect with plenty of room, lovely comfy beds with lounge area and balcony. The bathroom was roomy with bath and shower plus the usual soaps, gels etc. We chose the half board option and I'm glad we did. We thought the food was really good and well presented. So well done to the Chef and staff, but I must also mention Carlo and his staff in the dining room who were so nice, good fun and nothing to much trouble for them. A mention also for Antonio and his staff in the bar/pool bar who again provided a wonderful service. Rosie on the courtesy desk was on hand regularly with all sorts of information regarding trips and she managed to get us tickets to see a Mandolin concert at very short notice which we thoroughly enjoyed and would recommended seeing if the opportunity arises. We discovered on chatting to other couples that people return to this hotel on a regular basis which only goes to prove how good it is. The only downside and it is a very minor point was that at lot of couples opt for the B&B option and go into Funchal for their evening meal. This meant the bar area in the evening was very quiet and did not have a great atmosphere. Music was provided to break the silence and a pianist on hand a couple of times a week, but perhaps other entertainment options could be considered.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor room with garden view. It was very quiet and picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your informative and complimentary review of the Quintinha de São João. Your support is very much appreciated.

We are most encouraged by your comments regarding our staff. I shall certainly pass them on to all concerned. It is wonderful to hear that we are achieving our goal - to give our customers the best holiday with the best service possible. It is true that we have many guests returning to stay with us and that in itself is most motivating. We are honoured that they consider the Quintinha their home in Madeira!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua da Levada de Sao Joao 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal
Quintinha Sao Joao Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quintinha Sao Joao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.