We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not 5star” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Palacio Resort Hotel

Madeira Palacio Resort Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Madeira Palacio Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Madeira Palacio Resort Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 265 | (Hotel closing for renovations 11-15-06 until Fall 2008), Funchal, Madeira 9000-250 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
A TripAdvisor Member
“not 5star”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2006

I stayed at this hotel over easter 2006. It is not the 5star hotel it claims to be,the bedrooms especially are in very poor condition. We learned from staff that the hotel is due to close for 18months for renovations and it certainly needs these. There are plenty of excellent hotels on Madeira unfortuneately we believed the holiday companies brochure which described this as a renovated hotel.Please do not make the same mistake.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    3
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2006

This was our secong trip to the Pallacio. We travelled with Strawberry world and were picked up at the airport in a Limo with a charming driver. The hotel staff remembered us from 4 years ago and gave us a lovely welcome. The public areas have been upgraded and are very smart. Our bedroom was clean and comfortable and had a sea and pool view. The bedrooms are due to be upgraded but have all that is neccessary and we were given complimentary fruit wine etc. The food was of a high standard and the hotel has 3 restaurants. I would recommend bed and breakfast as oppsed to half board purely for variety and there are so many great places to eat in Madeira. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. The spa was exceptional

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2006

I was expecting a 5 star hotel and on arrival everything appeared ok. We had our luggage taken up and car parked and were greeted with a bottle of Champagne. However the breakfasts were a major disappointment with all the hot food being cold, even when they first opened at 07:30. The staff were a mixed bag with some only to happy to please and others complaining about how bad it was to work there and other members of staff.

Myself and my partner were probably the youngest customers there (25yrs) and I did not think this would be a problem, however the older guests thought differently and we had several unnecessary rude comments which made us feel very unwelcome.

We were also not informed that there would be a champagne party that required black tie which meant unless you were a returning guest or always took your tux on holiday there was no chance go going.
I would recommend one of the newer hotels nearer Funchal if 5* is sought but personally I will stick to a Villa in the Algarve where the food is better, people are more friendly and you don't get ripped of at every occasion as happens a lot in Funchal, not to mention the drunk taxi drivers trying to run people over!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2006

We also found this hotel to be more 3 star than 5. The food was very mediocre, I have stayed in better b&b's in England than this. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful, but the beds were awful, and the pillows worse. We obviously made a very bad choice with this hotel and after 4 days were glad to be going home.

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2006

We have stayed at the Madeira Palacio many times and have always enjoyed staying there, we have reccommended the hotel to many of our friends who have also returned. The staff are the hotels biggest asset and nothing is to much trouble for them, the views are fantastic the hotel is clean and comfortable without being stuffy. We will return at least twice in 2006 and can't wait to get there, we book direct and the hotel send a car to the airport to collect us fantastic service.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2006

We booked this hotel through Expedia as a last-minute Christmas treat. Our main criteria were some measure of luxury and a well-appointed indoor pool and spa, should the weather keep us indoors. We were guided by previous Tripadvisor reviews. The Palacio came up trumps and we were delighted with our choice. The accomodation was more than adequate, and the customer-service ethic of the staff was excellent.

Bedrooms were a good 4-star standard with roomy balconies and the twin-washroomed bathrooms approached 5-star. We always think that it is a treat to have complimentary towelling dresing gowns.

The public rooms are extensive, spacious and elegant, with outstanding ocean views.

One area for improvement is that the bedrooms lacked full satellite TV coverage (though they had Eurosport, CNN and BBC World) so I had to go to the well-appointed clubroom to watch live soccer. The clubroom also had free internet access.

The outside pool was excellent and the poolside service was very attentive although the menu was limited.

The new inside spa and pool was unquestionably worldclass and offered much better facilities than the ritzy Reids Hotel. In fact the weather was very good over Christmas 2005 so we were able to use the outside pool and sun deck for four days out of our five.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us, being on the edge of town - therefore more leafy and quieter that most Funchal hotels. The free bus to the town centre (a 10 minute trip) was efficient and frequent through to 18:00 hours. Alternatively we could walk downhill to the town, for much of the way along along a spectacular cliff-top promenade, and get the hotel bus back up the hill.

The hot breakfast buffet is extensive and sets you up for the day ahead. The hotel restaurants were pretty good although you do want to get out to other places from time to time so we would not recommend a full-board package. The cafe-bar opposite the gates was remarkably cheap, cheerful and good, and there are plenty of other restaurants around. The hotel's Christmas Eve gala dinner of 7 carefully designed dishes with unlimited wine and liquers was excellent value at 75 Euros.

All-in-all the hotel offers good value for money at the mid to upper end of the market, and it is a good place for couples or families.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2005

Having read other peoples reviews I think I must have stayed somewhere else!
The hotel and staff are tired.More like a 3 Sar.
The food was badly cooked and quite poor.
In particular around the pool I found the service poor and the food 3 star.
Eating out was the only sensible option.
The hotel is in an inconvenient and not a very nice area.
Massive hills to access the coastal walk.
Comfortable beds and reasonable quality bathrooms.
I suggest the management saty at the Cliff Bay Hotel to find out what a real 5 Star hotel is like.

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeira Palacio Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Palacio Resort Hotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 265 | (Hotel closing for renovations 11-15-06 until Fall 2008), Funchal, Madeira 9000-250 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Madeira Palacio Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Madeira Palacio Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Palacio Hotel Funchal
Hotel Madeira Palacio
Madeira Palacio Resort Hotel Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Palacio Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.