We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel do Carmo

Save Saved
You added Hotel do Carmo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel do Carmo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa do Rego 10, Funchal, Madeira 9054-512 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Odder, Arhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel has everything if you want nearness to the city, spacious rooms (with or without balcony), good beds, swimming pool (on the roof). Breakfast buffet is better than average, and the staff i very helpful (they all speak english). Only thing missing is wifi in the rooms, you have to go to the lobby or the bar to experience a wifi connection. This hotel is hereby recommended :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaJFreitas, Diretor de vendas at Hotel do Carmo, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for comments posted on TripAdvisor. We try our best to make your stay at Funchal as pleasant as possible.

We have a dedicated, professional and helpful team who ensure our guests feel welcome and at home – we very happy that you recognized it.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Yours sincerely

Mónica Freitas
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    72
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
68
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Excellent 3 star hotel in great location for accessing Funchal by foot. We spent a weekend here having emailed the hotel in advance to request twin rooms and to advise of our time of arrival. They responded very promptly and were able to meet our request and when we did arrive the reception staff were also fully aware of our email and requirements. The rooms were basic but clean and met our needs. As reviewers have commented before the breakfast was surprisingly good and the bread extremely fresh. The outdoor pool on the top floor was a bonus and a real sun trap which we had to ourselves all morning. The staff were helpful and friendly, the bar was pleasant - all in all an ideal hotel for our holiday. We will definitely use it again and have no hesitation in recommending it to others looking for a good value stay in Funchal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaJFreitas, Diretor de vendas at Hotel do Carmo, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for comments posted on TripAdvisor. We are trying our best to make your stay at Funchal as pleasant as possible.

We have a dedicated, professional and helpful team who ensure our guests feel welcome and at home – we very happy that you recognized it.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Yours sincerely

Monica Freitas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I was going to write a long review, but DoraandNigel have covered most of it already (see their review below). In short, friendly and very helpful staff, comfortable clean rooms, and superb location. A really good base for exploring Funchal on foot. The harbour, marina, cable car and bus termini are within an easy 5-10 minutes walk. Countless places to eat and drink within easy staggering distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Excellent first impression, reception staff made us very welcome & gave us a lot of information which was useful to our stay. The on arrival drink was a nice touch & much appreciated.
Our room (405) had great views to the north & Monte from the balcony. The room was adequate for our needs & was clean & well serviced on a daily basis. The bed was firm & comfortable with the benefit of a quiet location. Breakfast was served in a large, airy dining room. The choice of food was good, we enjoyed our continental option. Catering staff were readily available to replenish food & clear tables. It was nice to see a member of management clearly visible & regularly checking details in both the restaurant & bedrooms. Reception staff were pro-active in offering assistance, arranging tours & taxis etc. We didn't leave or enter the hotel without being acknowledged by a member of the reception staff which we appreciated. The hotel bar was pleasant to sit in with the option of an outside patio area .We enjoyed the 1960's theme with quirky photos in each room & memorabilia in the public areas. The hotel was ideally located within a 10 minute easy walk of both the Old town & cathedral areas where there were numerous bars, restaurants & sites of interest eg cathedral, promenade ,marina, Worker's Market, Cable car to Monte etc . We had a very enjoyable 10 days & would definitely recommend the Hotel do Carmo to anyone visiting Funchal.

Room Tip: Pick a north facing room with balcony for the best view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week whilst on holiday in Madeira. It is very conveniently situated near to the centre of Funchal.
It's a short walk to the main bus stops, the cable car and a good range of restaurants and bars in the old town. There are also handy supermarkets and a taxi rank.
Room was comfortable and and had all the facilities needed, including a pretty decent, a bath and a balcony. Don't expect luxury, but everything worked. There are good views from the roof terrace, but views from the rooms are limited to nearby buildings and streets. Staff were helpful, polite and unobtrusive. There was a good range of food on offer at the breakfast buffet, although it was quite busy some mornings. We particularly liked the fresh fruit and scrambled eggs. The small toaster was unable to cope during busy periods!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
algarve
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is an old hotel which the owners have tried to modernise with a degree of success,it has a suberb location with everything nearby and a better location than the west coast hotels which is very touristy.The staff are "excelent" one especially Nadia was really helpful.
This hotel is rated 8.3 for me it should be 9

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have stayed at the Hotel do Carmo Three times and have never been disappointed.The staff are professional,helpful and extremely friendly. Comfortable rooms with practical en suite. Breakfasts excellent. The location is in Central Funchal close to all amenities including the cable car, promenade and the old town. We will definitely be back again next year.
P&D North Wales

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel do Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Carmo

Address: Travessa do Rego 10, Funchal, Madeira 9054-512 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Funchal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel do Carmo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel do Carmo is 3 stars hotel right in Funchal's city center, with an ideal position to discover the city's main points of interest. There are supermarkets, pharmacies, banks and shops nearby. This hotel is a very good example of late nineteen sixties interior design, which confers it an identity and style of its own. It has 80 bedrooms all equipped with a 32'LCD television with cable TV, a telephone and a private bathroom. They are uniquely decorated with photo panels with icons of the sixties. All of its furniture and decorations are also clearly identified with this period. Most of them (49) have a balcony. Hotel do Carmo has a Restaurant were breakfast and other meals are served. The Bar on the reception floor has a nice terrace and a television where clients can watch Sports TV channels. Billiards and Free Wi-Fi are also available in this area. On the last floor there's an outdoor swimming pool with a wonderful view over the bay and the surrounding mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel do Carmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Do Carmo Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel do Carmo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.