We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua das Hortas 4C, Funchal, Madeira 9050-024, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Christmas Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I visited Funchal as an alternative to a City Break/Christmas Markets type break and picked this hotel due to its central location in the old town. I agree with previous comments that this is probably not a 4* hotel, but then again I didn’t pay 4* prices.

I was also aware of the comments regarding the breakfast so this came as no surprise and so would be unfair of me to comment further except to say that it is as described in the reviews, and the tea really is that bad. I have never taken my own tea bags anywhere but if I was to return to this hotel and certainly would and ask for some hot water.

The good points however more than made up for this. The staff were pleasant and welcoming, especially Elsa or Elisa on reception who was an exceptionally pleasant and helpful lady. I just hope that I didn’t upset her when I said that I would definitely be returning if only to see if the tea had improved. A bit of English humour that was probably misplaced at that time so apologies Elsa or Elisa, no offence was meant (but the tea really is not good).

We were only there 4 nights and on half board. The food in the evening really was good, with two choices for starter, main and sweet and was cooked to order which is something I’ve not seen in ages. The food was that good I didn’t eat out once, although I probably would if I was there for a week – just for a change.

The location was just what we wanted for wandering around Funchal in the evening. The Christmas lights were lovely and the Christmas atmosphere around town likewise, and not an overpriced bratwurst bar in sight. We did take a bus ride to the hotel zone to revisit the Hole in one Bar. The whole area seemed very dead compared to when I was there in the summer and I’m really glad we were based where we were in the Windsor.

So for an alternative to a Christmas Markets break over on the continent I would give Funchal full marks as long as you’re not looking for a rowdy time. Live music, festive stalls, and Christmas lights all combine to give Funchal real charm over the break (and it’s warmer to).

I would definitely go back to the Windsor if I went again, for the location, the lovely staff, and good food (and to take Elsa/Elisa a card and chocolates).

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper perhaps ask for a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    55
    53
    25
    17
See reviews for
26
88
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

its supposed to be 4 stars but we would only rate it a 2/3 stars, the room was very basic, a lack of power points should you want to recharge anything. very noisy no double glazing to help muffle noise, you could not leave a window open. beds very creaky mattress too hard. breakfast choice very limited, tea was horrid, coffee not much better.we assume as the hotel seemed to cater mostly for germans that it suited them. Having said this the central location of hotel somewhat made up for the overall poor quality of the hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley Surrey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was our third trip to Madeira but the first time we have actually stayed in Funchal. The town itself is large and very hilly so if you have walking difficulties as I do, it is important to pick your hotel carefully. The Windsor Hotel is ideal in many respects as it is central, close to shops and restaurants, near many tourist spots like the cable car and the various tropical gardens. It is also near the coast where the terrain is flatter and easier to walk.

Having researched the hotel and read the reviews and we had no real complaints about it at all. The people who moaned about old bed sheets and towels, yellow water, old Tv's, smelly rooms and an "eerie" looking hotel must have stayed in a different place. We found it clean, the cold buffet breakfast as expected, the staff friendly and helpful. The evening meal was limited to a choice of two starters, two main dishes and two desserts which might have been a problem to fussy eaters but there was always something we liked and the food was beautifully cooked each time with plenty of vegetables.

The absence of air con could be a problem in the summer months but go select a different hotel if you need this. We found the fan in October more than adequate and the roof top swimming pool a great bonus especially as we had excellent weather.

The hotel was ideal for our needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I write to say that we have enjoyed our stay at windsor hotel.
Very nicely decorated hotel, room quite big very clean, with window that opens to the car park and little garden. Nice and spacious bathroom with everything one needs. Breakfast was ok, no hot food included but for the price we paid couldn't ask for more really. Everyone was courteous and most helpful.
Very nice experience of Funchal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have written a couple of supportive reviews for this hotel and this is an update following a visit in September 2013. It is a city centre hotel and of course there will be some noise. During the warmer times of the year including September the lack of air conditioning can be a problem although in the winter months the situation is much better. There is a pedestal fan provided which I had on every minute of my stay and the temperature was still uncomfortably high at night. The windows need to be kept closed because of the mosquitos. The hotel seems to have swung over to catering even more for large european groups. Working to a common timetable these tend completely to monopolise the lifts, common areas and particularly the breakfast area at which there can be very large queues. Very often all you can do is go back to your room and wait for it to quieten down. The staff are pleasant and try to be helpful but the ethos now seems to be catering for groups and in many ways the interests of the independent traveller are perhaps being disregarded. The rooms are ok although the renovation which the hotels advertising still features happened a very long time ago. It really is not a 4 star and this rating needs to be reduced to give the hotel a bit more credibility in its advertising. If you are renting a car there is free parking. However the entrance to the hotel is extremely steep and quite difficult to turn into particularly if you have anything bigger than a Golf. The supermarket across the street closed some time ago but now looks as if it is reopening which will be a big asset. The high cost of hotel WiFi is just plain silly and it would be far better if the hotel were just to provide this as a free service. It is free anyway in many of the local bars/cafes and in the town squares. Also given that there is no A/C the fridges ought to be free instead of charging 1 euro a day just to keep your drinks cool. There is also an additional charge for the safe but I have never used it. If you don't rent the fridge then pull the plug as it will only contribute towards the warming of the room. The TV's are old 12/14 inch CRTs on a wall mount. The programs are limited though there is the 'BBC Entertainment Channel' if you can tolerate that. During the cooler months the rooms are much more moderate in temperature and the hotel is often quieter. I don't think that I would ever consider revisiting from March to September.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Looks a bit earie from outside, when you get in even worse. Very old inside. bedsheets and towels never been renewed. water was yellow. room musty and smelly,
breakfast was recycled roles and they even charged me extra for a fresh coffee.
no airconditioning, just an old clapped out ventilator fan.
the worst was at night. room so smelly but they locked the windows so you cannot open.

definitely not recommended !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

What more do you require than a basic but stylish hotel that is very clean that is also in an excellent location.
Yes you can moan about the breakfast but you are paying a low price and only have to go across the road for more variety.
Enjoyed it would go again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#31 of 88 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residencial Greco
Residencial Greco
#80 of 88 in Funchal
3.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Do Centro Hotel
Do Centro Hotel
#75 of 88 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#25 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Aparthotel Imperatriz
#60 of 88 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Girassol
Hotel Girassol
#55 of 88 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: Rua das Hortas 4C, Funchal, Madeira 9050-024, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MODERNLY FURNISHED THE HOTEL OFFERS YOU COMFORT IN A FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE, HIGHLIGHTED BY THE QUALITY OF SERVICE PROVIDED, AND AN EXCELLENT LOCATION. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Funchal
Windsor Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.