We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Windsor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua das Hortas 4C, Funchal, Madeira 9050, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
SE England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here for one week. Had read previous TA reviews criticising the breakfast, the staff, the amenities etc so we were a little apprehensive as to what the stay would be like. Have to say that the first room we were allocated was next door to the lifts and so very noisy, mostly because other guests slammed the lift doors, but we were moved without fuss the next day.
Overall, we found the hotel to be clean, the staff friendly, the roof top pool area a super place to meet for a drink. On the downside, the breakfast was very basic, comprising cereals, bread, ham. cheese, fruit and yoghurt. No toast, no eggs. But there was enough of it. The rooms were small and rather hot as there was no aircon, but the windows opened and our rooms each had a fan.
The biggest plus point is the location of this hotel. It is so central you can walk to all the main touristy areas within ten minutes unlike many other hotels located on the outskirts where the views were good but you needed transport to get anywhere.
So if you are happy to have a hotel that is not luxurious but is clean, in a central location and where you do not want to spend a whole lot of time in your room, this is worthy of consideration.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lift areas. Corner rooms are smaller but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    42
    38
    16
    14
See reviews for
16
59
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Great location close to everything in city. Still parking usually available. Very bad internet connection. Ended up paying, but still got no use of the connection.
Breakfast OK, if not sold as full buffet as some travel operators (Tjäreborg) did. We paid for morning coffee and for that offering was good.
Big enough room, OK beds. No A/C but in winter did not matter.
Reception people very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have today returned from two weeks at the Windsor, and we have experienced the worst hotel that we have ever stayed in. There is absolutely no way that the room we had was any better than a two star hotel. The drains were a real problem in our room, and despite endless complaints, not
Thing was done. The hotel is being renovated, and we should have been offered another room, but it didn't happen. The breakfast room was a shambles every day with uncleared tables, insufficient food to feed the visitors, coloured water as an excuse for fruit juice....it was awful. We always choose a four star hotel, as we find the facilities offer what we want from a hotel.......but not at the Windsor. The bathroom was an absolute disgrace...........renovations should be complete before they should be allowed to call this a 4* hotel.

Room Tip: Don't take room 412!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked for 2 weeks for some sun in March. Not the hotels fault but we saw as much rain as sun.
My first comment would be that we felt the hotel was a little short of 4*
The positives were that all the staff were really friendly and very helpful.
The room was comfortable but not over large. I agree with others that these were the worst pillows that I have ever experienced. Tea and coffee would have been a big plus.
There was insufficient breakfast staff to cope with the numbers coming down for breakfast, they did their best though. We knew that it was a continental breakfast but still felt that it was very limited. this could do with some new ideas.
The dining room staff were excellent, the food good and the prices very good.
We tried to use the sun area after it had rained and on more than one occasion the lounger mattresses had been left out and were so wet that they couldnt be used and the area on the terrace was carpeted so was also wet for ages after it had rained. This needs some thought by management.
Our room was not made up until well into the afternoon, even 5pm some days, which we felt was too late, also the maids on our floor left all the dirty linen etc outside our door until they had finished that floor, which we felt was a safety issue, as I nearly fell over it more than once when leaving our room. This does need some changes made.
Although I have highlighted some areas that were not as good as they might have been, taking everything into account we did think that the hotel was good value, but would have been happier paying a little more to get the points that I have raised improved on.
Dont change the staff though, they were great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

the Windsor Hotel is Ideally located in the heart of Funchal. The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly and welcoming.
The pool and sun terrace are an added bonus if you want to lounge in the sun.
I don't feel it warrants a 4* rating because of the lack amenities in the room.
No air conditioning
No tea & coffee making facilities
I booked a room to have three beds but room too small for purpose.
Very dated furniture
Bathroom very dated and didn't have any window or ventilation duct.
I would say it was more like a 2* hotel,
If you enjoy your tea then bring your own tea bags and ask the lovely waitress to fetch you a pot boiling water and make your own. The tea in Madeira is very poor.

Room Tip: Make sure you enquire about adequate space in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caversham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have been travelling across Europe a lot, and I can tell that Windsor hotel is not a 4* but more a 3*.

It's close to the Old Funchal, Funchal Centre, Harbour, Restaurants, Shops, Shopping Centres, Market, Gardens, Churches, Cathedral....

Pool with really cold water (5-10C),
Pillows are awful,
smell of damp in bathroom,
Some bedroom views might be better, mine was on 3rd floor above front door on a half destroyed building.

Breakfast was quite poor.
Fruit salad, brioche, biscotte and croissants (when available) were the best,
The ham and cheese quite bad,
Coffee was ok, Tea really weak, Orange juice really watery,
I would recommend the "Opan" shop 50 yards before Windsor hotel where you can have a good breakfast.

Internet is not free, like many hotels, however half of Madeira is free with "Madeira WiFi"
or "default" 50 yards before Windsor hotel and just after the church on the left, next to a pizzaria.

Food in Madeira is cheap. We had dinner in different restaurants every night.

You get what you paid for, howerver, be prepared to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We (two older couples) were happy with this hotel choice, which was very good value for money. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. We enjoyed fresh fruit salad at every breakfast. Our rooms were clean and comfortable with good ensuites. It was great to be able to walk to shops, market, parks, museums, and buses. There is major building and reconstruction work along the seafront. We would stay at Hotel Windsor again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: Rua das Hortas 4C, Funchal, Madeira 9050, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Funchal
Windsor Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.