We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel in central Funchal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua das Hortas 4C, Funchal, Madeira 9050-024, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good hotel in central Funchal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Nice entrance to the hotel (with a car park in the back) and the staff was friendly. The room was basic but clean and big enough. There were some strange smells coming out of the bathroom which was not great. Location is great as it is right in the centre of the town without being on a main street. The small pool on the terrace was also a good plus. Breakfast and restaurant food was basic but good enough. Overall, we have had a good time there (it was also fairly cheap).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    55
    53
    24
    17
See reviews for
26
87
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Staff were great, with the exception of 1 receptionist who was verging on downright rude.

Rooms were basic but clean but the biggest problem was the lack of air conditioning. We couldn't even open the windows because a huge great generator operated outside that was supposed to stop at 11pm when the kitchen closed, but 5 nights out of 7 I had to go down to reception to ask for it to be switched off well after midnight.

Breakfast was fine, but was supposed to be served from 7. We had an early start twice - left the hotel at 7.20 and both times there was no breakfast available - not even coffee as they were,only just starting up the machine when we left.

Restaurant is very basic and I asked for a vegetarian meal which wasn't an omelette - the only veggie option on the menu, they wouldn't even try to accommodate just said no other meal available. Forget it if you are vegan, you will starve!!!!

It is in a great location, but in no way 4*

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
epsom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

a good all round hotel centrally located and close to the harbour. rooms clean and tidy but could do with airconditioning.staff were friendly, small pool on the roof which was adequat.Breakfast could have been a bit more adventurous and always consisted of cereals,ham,cheese,various breads and preserves,tea and coffee but you would not go hungry.we used local restaurants in the evening so cannot comment on evening meals.

Room Tip: ask for airditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Listed as 4* No air conditioning, No pool towels, Unstocked mini-bar. Breakfast absolutely dire and uninsipiring - Only Dry croissants, rolls, jam, plastic cheese and ham and fruit salad. Powdered coffee in a jar. every day.

Room reasonable size and clean but extremely hot making sleeping difficult. The Pool snack bar never opened.

Hotel in a good location for exploring Funchal. and Staff friendly

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just back from a week in Funchal - we selected this hotel as it is central and appeared good value for money (having read many reviews). We were not disappointed. Although central (within 1 min walk of the hubbub of Funchal), the hotel is situated in a quiet street. The rooms are clean and cleaned daily, fresh towels daily too. The one downside of the rooms was the lack of aircon but that was a chance we took. As it happened, the outside temperature was 25-35C so the room was very warm at night even with windows open and fan blowing at its fastest speed.

We used the hotel as a base so can only comment on the service we used daily i.e. breakfast - there was fruit salad, ham, cheese, cereals, bread, rolls, juices and the usual breakfast hot drinks; the selection and quantity on offer were good enough to set you up for a day's tramping on the levadas!

We agree with other reviews, the hotel staff are efficient, friendly and helpful with Elsa deserving a special mention - she seems to be there most of the day and has a good knowledge of where to go and what to do, should your pre-holiday research lack substance. Brochures in the hotel give info on trips, excursions etc. and most (if not all) companies pick up from the hotel.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindyLou105
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just returned from this hotel and it is a real gem. A traditional hotel with excellent friendly staff. No air con but fans in the rooms and the temperature in Madeira is always pleasant. Breakfast is continental but perfectly adequate and again staff are friendly and helpful. There is free parking. The hotel is situated right in town and not at the top of the hill miles away from anything like most of the big hotels. It is close to the market and several supermarkets and local shops. Also easy walk to lots of local restaurants and the bus station.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

The hotel is by no means a four star but what it lacks in space is made up by the friendly and helpfull staff ,they make you feel they have known you for years .the hotel is in a great location for discovering the old town .the continetal breakfast was sufficient .the evening meal was varied and good .the room was kept very clean .the only downside of our trip this time was the exploiting of wild birds on the front of funchal ,so please don't have your photo taken with these birds

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#31 of 88 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residencial Greco
Residencial Greco
#80 of 88 in Funchal
3.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Do Centro Hotel
Do Centro Hotel
#75 of 88 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Aparthotel Imperatriz
#60 of 88 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#25 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Girassol
Hotel Girassol
#55 of 88 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: Rua das Hortas 4C, Funchal, Madeira 9050-024, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MODERNLY FURNISHED THE HOTEL OFFERS YOU COMFORT IN A FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE, HIGHLIGHTED BY THE QUALITY OF SERVICE PROVIDED, AND AN EXCELLENT LOCATION. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Funchal
Windsor Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.