We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel ok, no air conditioning and noisy generator outside. No way 4*” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Windsor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua das Hortas 4C, Funchal, Madeira 9050, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel ok, no air conditioning and noisy generator outside. No way 4*”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Staff were great, with the exception of 1 receptionist who was verging on downright rude.

Rooms were basic but clean but the biggest problem was the lack of air conditioning. We couldn't even open the windows because a huge great generator operated outside that was supposed to stop at 11pm when the kitchen closed, but 5 nights out of 7 I had to go down to reception to ask for it to be switched off well after midnight.

Breakfast was fine, but was supposed to be served from 7. We had an early start twice - left the hotel at 7.20 and both times there was no breakfast available - not even coffee as they were,only just starting up the machine when we left.

Restaurant is very basic and I asked for a vegetarian meal which wasn't an omelette - the only veggie option on the menu, they wouldn't even try to accommodate just said no other meal available. Forget it if you are vegan, you will starve!!!!

It is in a great location, but in no way 4*

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    47
    39
    19
    12
See reviews for
13
52
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
epsom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

a good all round hotel centrally located and close to the harbour. rooms clean and tidy but could do with airconditioning.staff were friendly, small pool on the roof which was adequat.Breakfast could have been a bit more adventurous and always consisted of cereals,ham,cheese,various breads and preserves,tea and coffee but you would not go hungry.we used local restaurants in the evening so cannot comment on evening meals.

Room Tip: ask for airditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Listed as 4* No air conditioning, No pool towels, Unstocked mini-bar. Breakfast absolutely dire and uninsipiring - Only Dry croissants, rolls, jam, plastic cheese and ham and fruit salad. Powdered coffee in a jar. every day.

Room reasonable size and clean but extremely hot making sleeping difficult. The Pool snack bar never opened.

Hotel in a good location for exploring Funchal. and Staff friendly

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Just back from a week in Funchal - we selected this hotel as it is central and appeared good value for money (having read many reviews). We were not disappointed. Although central (within 1 min walk of the hubbub of Funchal), the hotel is situated in a quiet street. The rooms are clean and cleaned daily, fresh towels daily too. The one downside of the rooms was the lack of aircon but that was a chance we took. As it happened, the outside temperature was 25-35C so the room was very warm at night even with windows open and fan blowing at its fastest speed.

We used the hotel as a base so can only comment on the service we used daily i.e. breakfast - there was fruit salad, ham, cheese, cereals, bread, rolls, juices and the usual breakfast hot drinks; the selection and quantity on offer were good enough to set you up for a day's tramping on the levadas!

We agree with other reviews, the hotel staff are efficient, friendly and helpful with Elsa deserving a special mention - she seems to be there most of the day and has a good knowledge of where to go and what to do, should your pre-holiday research lack substance. Brochures in the hotel give info on trips, excursions etc. and most (if not all) companies pick up from the hotel.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindyLou105
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just returned from this hotel and it is a real gem. A traditional hotel with excellent friendly staff. No air con but fans in the rooms and the temperature in Madeira is always pleasant. Breakfast is continental but perfectly adequate and again staff are friendly and helpful. There is free parking. The hotel is situated right in town and not at the top of the hill miles away from anything like most of the big hotels. It is close to the market and several supermarkets and local shops. Also easy walk to lots of local restaurants and the bus station.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

The hotel is by no means a four star but what it lacks in space is made up by the friendly and helpfull staff ,they make you feel they have known you for years .the hotel is in a great location for discovering the old town .the continetal breakfast was sufficient .the evening meal was varied and good .the room was kept very clean .the only downside of our trip this time was the exploiting of wild birds on the front of funchal ,so please don't have your photo taken with these birds

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N E Lincs
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This hotel couldn't be better placed for the centre of Funchal. Our room was small but clean if a bit tired looking. We had adequate space to store our things and although the bath was small there was a shower and bath and the most efficient hairdryer I'd had anywhere on the island.
I felt that the space available for breakfast wasn't quite adequate. Most days it was all right but on our first day when we came down there was not a free table.
Breakfast was fine - just continental but nice coffee and the bread was good and there was always fruit and yoghourt. There were lots of handy bars and it didn't take long to walk to the market, the bus station, the sea front or the tourist information. In fact everything was really handy. The nearby bakery (Opan) was particularly good - just a few steps away round the corner so we got our packed lunches there every day.
The roof area with it's swimming pool was lovely.
The staff were exceptionally helpful and pleasant. All in all, we felt it was much better to be here than in one of the more expensive hotels out of the centre. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: Rua das Hortas 4C, Funchal, Madeira 9050, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Funchal
Windsor Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.