We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Madeira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Madeira to your Saves list
Hotel Madeira
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ivens 21, Funchal, Madeira 9001-801 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Clean and tidy, friendly staff and a great location. We stayed here for a week in one of the suites on the 4th floor, it's a lovely place to stay with daily linen changes and a great sun terrace on the top floor. There's plenty of places to eat and shop nearby and we've stayed in 5 star places that were worse. Only very minor gripes were no room safe or not tea or coffee despite the fact that there was a kettle and cups! Other than that very good value for money.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    65
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
81
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Have just returned from a weeks holiday in Madeira. This hotel was booked on line. The location is ideal for the city centre. The main shopping area, marina and local amenities are in walking distance. The hotel was very clean, obviously recently refurbished. Bed and breakfast basis only, but no problems. Food was fresh and good. Room was excellent, bed linen changed every day. Staff were very polite and helpful. Price of food and drinks in roof terrace bar also reasonable. A very good stay, I can recommend this to anyone who needs to watch their budget on holiday.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have its own entertainment, so if you are looking for evening entertainment inclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is ideally located, everything is walking distance, in the city center next to the city garden. Very nice service and nice staff, very helpful. A terrace with a very nice view on Funchal. I would recommend this place definitely.

Room Tip: Choose room 316 overlooking the garden and the Presbyterian Church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed in this small hotel for a week. Our room on first floor was very nice, everything spotless and a good size with a massive wardrobe. Bathroom with a big shower was big as well, every day clean towels and new cosmetics. Breakfast very nice with few choices of cold and hot dishes, as open 7.30-10.30 it was never crowded. You can play a pool on the grand floor next to the reception (great fun). The roof bar serves excellent drinks and tasty burgers. The swimming pool very clean and water was always warm. You can get sun there all day but parasols are available for a bit of shade- great views across the city. All staff very nice and helpful. Especially the older gentlemen who was working in the bar (sorry i don't know the name) and Paul on reception who went extra mile greeting us to the hotel and helping with few different things during our stay. Very pleased with this hotel and a bargain as we booked through Amoma. We choose it because of the pool and free wifi and we will return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, New Jersey
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had a fantastic week in Madeira and honestly coming back to our hotel was one of the best parts of the trip. We made a point of enjoying the view from the rooftop bar at least twice a day to take in the amazing views and enjoy our slice of heaven with new friends. The hotel is located in the best part of Funchal, where you can walk through a pristine park and be in the center of town. All of the staff was friendly and approachable, and by the end of our stay we knew many of them by their first names, especially the bartenders :). Arthur at the front desk was tremendously helpful and was a highlight of our trip. The rooms were clean, freshly remodeled, and had plenty of open air and balcony space. Can not recommend enough and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We did not stay in the hotel but in a nearby apartment. We went to the rooftop bar one evening to watch a World Cup match and were warmly welcomed by the charming barman. The roof has a great view over central Funchal, a good place to watch the sun go down. The pool looked very inviting. I would certainly consider staying here in the future - the prices seem very reasonable for such a central location with a pool and sun terrace.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at the hotel in may 2014. It is really centrally situated and only a short walk from Funchal's main attractions. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. the rooms were good and the en-suite bathroom was lovely. There is a swimming pool on the roof of the hotel which we did not try but which looked great - very clean and well kept. the bar on the roof is also a good place to visit and the beer is really well priced. The breakfasts really set you up for the day and again the Staff could not have been more helpful. Our rooms had balconies with shutters which were really good. Definitely would recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menezes-Sonia, General Manager at Hotel Madeira, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for your review of our Hotel, we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your having chosen Hotel Madeira, and we hope to welcome you back here soon.

Best Regards,
Sónia Menezes
Manager
Hotel Madeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madeira

Address: Ivens 21, Funchal, Madeira 9001-801 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#28 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madeira 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Madeira is a 3 star Hotel very well known by its personalized service and quality. Here you'll find everything you need for relaxing and unforgettable holidays: comfortable equipped rooms with all contemporary ways of connection (telephone with a direct line to the exterior, Wi-Fi Internet access) and recreation zones (open swimming pool on the top floor with a panoramic view of Funchal city, Sundeck, Coffee Bar, Snooker table). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Hotel Funchal
Hotel Madeira Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.