We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Girassol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Girassol to your Saves list
Hotel Girassol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 256, Funchal, Madeira 9004-539 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here for a week around Mardi Gras. Hotel is well maintained and rooms are very clean. Staff are efficient and mostly friendly. Pool is spotless and gentleman who supervises it is very helpful. Breakfast has a good range of fruit, breads, yogurts, etc. If you like an English breakfast you can get it but the sausages and bacon are more continental than English. Evening meals are perfectly adequate. Fish is too battered for my taste. Vegetables good. Desserts had lots of cream. A good hotel for walking and exploring the coast or going on bus tours. Clientele is mostly older. At 56 I felt positively youthful. Large room behind reception needed cheering up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    113
    61
    21
    12
See reviews for
44
141
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

First impressions of this hotel were not good. The main entrance screams for a refit and overall I wouldn't grade it 4 star. We spent the first night in a standard room as the hotel had double booked the suite we had reserved. We were offered dinner free of charge by way of compensation.The buffet dinner was awful and we were glad we had booked b and b!. That said, breakfast was fine and the place was certainly popular with Tour groups from other European countries, especially Germany and France. We found the reception staff to be really friendly and helpful. We didn't use the spa facilities so can't comment on those. There was music and entertainment on 2 evenings which was nice. If this report sounds negative I have to blame the weather for the week. Rain rain and more rain! . Girassol may have appeared better in sunshine but we wont bother to find out!

Room Tip: Nice superior suite on 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed one week in March.Very clean rooms on 8th floor(junior suite)facing the pool with sun from 1pm.Breakfast had a good choice of bread,rolls,eggs,bacon,sausages,cereals etc. No luxaries,but plenty enough of choices. Had dinner in the restaurant 3 times. First time had the buffet(25E),but prefered the a la carte meny which was lovely.Reasonable priced,same as other restaurants (12-17Euro) Polite and attentive waiters.If you didnt finish your bottle of wine or water they would save it and it was served next day.We didnt pay extra for the kettle( mentioned by other guest previously).It was there on arrival.Also small fridge. Reception area was spacious with a couple of sofa groups.On 1st floor was a nice room to sit in too and with balcony for smokers outside.There was no smoking anywhere to be seen inside the hotel,glad to say.
Pools: no need to bring your own bath towels! They were provided for you free! Saves lots of space in your suitcase. Nobody went out early with towels to occupy sun beds! Bus into Funchal 1.80E.Taxi 5-6E.Or walk for about 15mins.Taxis have taxameter for within Funchal,but not for longer trips.Madeira is mainly for 50+or families,no discos or raving youngsters and hardly no crime .I wouldnt be afraid of walking alone at night on main streets. All in all: good value for money and will gladly stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

NOT a 4 Star! - needs a total wake-up call! Rooms were basic, but clean. No proper Lounge, just a few stiff chairs in a big, dark sort of conference hall, bar small and grubby and dominated by a TV, also dominated by all male staff, as was the restaurant, all old and did as little as possible to help, especially rude to women! Only had breakfasts, oh dear, what a waste of money, cold, congealed and a real turn-off - if an item had run out, especially bread or rolls, when it was gone that was it, no back-up and one small toaster for the whole hotel which obviously came out of the ark! (Dont bother complaining about food, no one takes any notice, thats the way the old boys have done it for years, they would not last 5 minutes in a hotel in the UK!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Good connections to the City, Cosmos rep, great, helpful friendly staff. Functional suites, TV, beds, balcony etc.
Hotel needs refurbishment and moderning of gym, wifi (to all of hotel), massage ?spa facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phnom penh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This place is fine - does what it says on the tin. We booked a cheap easyjet break for some february half terrm sunshine and Girassol made us very welcome. We had a sea view balcony which did have a sea view, but that means you are on the main road which is a bit noisy. Waking up to the weather and the sunrise made it worth it for us but if you dont like early evening or morning car noise go for a side room. Two rooms cleaned well every day. We paid 1.50 euro extra a day for a kettle! Nice enough pool, grotty games room that the kids loved, very friendly and helpful reception staff who seemed happy at their jobs which is always nice. Good location not too far from Lido restaurants and twenty mins slow walk into town, or short bus or taxi. The airport bus goes by much cheaper than transfers. And madeira is lovely. Recommend the teleferico, funchal market, levada walks, prainha beach. And the lord of the rings steep steep walks up at the mountain tops. Not for the vertiginous. A good trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week on a half board basis via the Travel Department. I would return to the hotel but only on a room only or bed and breakfast basis.The food at breadkfast and dinner was basic, limited choice and sitting for too long in bain maries to keep it somewhat hot. Our room was on the seventh floor and it had a lovely side view of the sea. The room was more like a mini suite with a separate sitting area which was lovely and the main reason I would stay there again. The gym was small and poorly equipped so we joined a modern gym across the road for 30 euro for the week. The outdoor pool was very clean and quite big. The staff was professional but I complained about the food midway through the week and am stilling waiting for a response!!!

Room Tip: Go for a room on an upper storey/floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Girassol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Girassol

Address: Estrada Monumental 256, Funchal, Madeira 9004-539 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Girassol 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Girassol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Girassol Hotel Funchal
Hotel Girassol Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Girassol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.