We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a 4 Star!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Girassol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Girassol to your Saves list
Hotel Girassol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monumental 256, Funchal, Madeira 9004-539 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Brixham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NOT a 4 Star!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

NOT a 4 Star! - needs a total wake-up call! Rooms were basic, but clean. No proper Lounge, just a few stiff chairs in a big, dark sort of conference hall, bar small and grubby and dominated by a TV, also dominated by all male staff, as was the restaurant, all old and did as little as possible to help, especially rude to women! Only had breakfasts, oh dear, what a waste of money, cold, congealed and a real turn-off - if an item had run out, especially bread or rolls, when it was gone that was it, no back-up and one small toaster for the whole hotel which obviously came out of the ark! (Dont bother complaining about food, no one takes any notice, thats the way the old boys have done it for years, they would not last 5 minutes in a hotel in the UK!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    114
    64
    21
    12
See reviews for
44
146
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Good connections to the City, Cosmos rep, great, helpful friendly staff. Functional suites, TV, beds, balcony etc.
Hotel needs refurbishment and moderning of gym, wifi (to all of hotel), massage ?spa facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phnom penh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This place is fine - does what it says on the tin. We booked a cheap easyjet break for some february half terrm sunshine and Girassol made us very welcome. We had a sea view balcony which did have a sea view, but that means you are on the main road which is a bit noisy. Waking up to the weather and the sunrise made it worth it for us but if you dont like early evening or morning car noise go for a side room. Two rooms cleaned well every day. We paid 1.50 euro extra a day for a kettle! Nice enough pool, grotty games room that the kids loved, very friendly and helpful reception staff who seemed happy at their jobs which is always nice. Good location not too far from Lido restaurants and twenty mins slow walk into town, or short bus or taxi. The airport bus goes by much cheaper than transfers. And madeira is lovely. Recommend the teleferico, funchal market, levada walks, prainha beach. And the lord of the rings steep steep walks up at the mountain tops. Not for the vertiginous. A good trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week on a half board basis via the Travel Department. I would return to the hotel but only on a room only or bed and breakfast basis.The food at breadkfast and dinner was basic, limited choice and sitting for too long in bain maries to keep it somewhat hot. Our room was on the seventh floor and it had a lovely side view of the sea. The room was more like a mini suite with a separate sitting area which was lovely and the main reason I would stay there again. The gym was small and poorly equipped so we joined a modern gym across the road for 30 euro for the week. The outdoor pool was very clean and quite big. The staff was professional but I complained about the food midway through the week and am stilling waiting for a response!!!

Room Tip: Go for a room on an upper storey/floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Cork
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I must confess, I have been staying in the Girassol most years since 1989. It is a second home. The staff are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Most of the rooms have a balcony and a sitting room as well as a bedroom and ensuite bathroom. The restaurant serves good food with excellent service. The pool and gardens are beautiful. We visited in January and they made sure that the pool was warm for my traditional morning and evening swims. The pool bar serves lovely lunches. On top of this the hotel is located in an area with shops, bars and restaurants only a short walk from the centre of town. The hairdresser is marvellous - I wish I could bring her home but she has a family to look after as well as her busy salon. It is always a wrench to come away.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed one week at the Girassol, beginning of February 2013.

Loved the location on Estrada Monumental, about 3km downhill to Funchal center, 500m to the Promenade and about 1,5km uphill to a large shopping center.

The hotel is bit worn out and dusty, but the rooms are cleaned daily, and the bathroom was clean and spacious. The beds could have been comftier, but we slept ok and the room was quiet, facing the pool area. The breakfast was good. The pool area and garden are very nice, and the food at the pool bar seemed reasonably prised and yummy (we only had snacks there once, some other guests seemed to eat there daily). There was a lovely stray cat visiting the pool area once and a while, and luckily the staff treated him friendly as they did their human guests.

Overall a decent stay, but I do think there are newer and brighter hotels in the area with the same price range.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have just returned after a 3 week stay and had to write a review, whilst it was fresh in my mind. This is a great hotel with great staff at every level. The rooms were clean and cleaned daily. Wonderful selection at breakfast and a very acceptable choice for dinner with fresh vegetables.The fish was always fresh and portions generous. Deserts were superb and fresh fruits were always available. House wine is nice and at an acceptable price. The gardens and pool are delightful and so well kept. Location was very good,with a short walk to the seafront paths, with spectacular scenery at every turn. Funchal is a pleasant downhill walk of about 20 mins. The only slight drawback is dog barking, at different times. I understand the management are attempting to deal with this problem. I will definitely return !

Room Tip: Overlooking the gardens is quite delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Raga Hotel
Raga Hotel
#50 of 88 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#41 of 88 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Enotel Quinta do Sol
#33 of 88 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baia Azul
Hotel Baia Azul
#55 of 88 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alto Lido
Hotel Alto Lido
#49 of 88 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Views Monumental Lido
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Girassol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Girassol

Address: Estrada Monumental 256, Funchal, Madeira 9004-539, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Girassol 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Girassol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Girassol Hotel Funchal
Hotel Girassol Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Girassol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.