We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service with a smile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Velha do Palheiro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Velha do Palheiro to your Saves list
Casa Velha do Palheiro
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Estalagem 23 | Palheiro Golf Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-415, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“service with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My partner & i stayed at casa velha at end of oct we had booked a superior room but due to these all been full when we arrived we were given a upgrade to a suite which was a lovely bonus.
The room was huge clean with some lovely furniture.
The hotel is set in a peaceful location above Funchel surrounded by gardens & the golf coarse but the what sets it apart is the friendly staff from the manageress who was often around all the staff have a can do attitude always served with a smile..
We ate dinner at the hotel 4 times the food & service were never less than outstanding the highlight been a chocolate melt in middle pudding a true heaven moment.
If i have one slight negative the half board menu can be a bit limited on choice & the wine is way overpriced.
We also had dinner 3 times at the clubhouse again food & service were excellent with one of the best views you will find anywhere also nice wine at sensible price.
We played golf four times the coarse has spetacular views and five or six holes that would be classed as signiture holes on most coarses.
Also used the spa which again was spotlessly clean the indoor pool nice temp and a real wow factor,i had a full body massage on our last day which was a nice end of my stay.
In short if you like good food & service along with your golf this hotel will be hard to beat we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Graham,
Thanks for your fantastic review. We are so pleased that you used and enjoyed the resorts facilities - golf, spa and gardens. The memorable moment during one of your dinners is also one of my favorite dishes - chocolate moelleux. Hopefully you will come back in 2014 and enjoy our 210th anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    19
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
111
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Casa Velha and loved it so much we can't wait to return . We had 4 nights at the end of our 1 month holiday at Casa Velha which was the ideal place to relax with our family of five the staff was so friendly and professional , the breakfast was excellent and the breakfast cakes amazing ! We can not wait to return and highly recommend this place .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks for your review and it is rewarding to know that you chose Casa Velha as the last place on your epic tour. If you can remember what the cake looked like maybe I can get the chef to send you the recipe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel and had a wonderful time. The hotel is beautifully located and peaceful. The staff are excellent, pleasant and helpful. The food was first class and we appreciated the chef's recommendation of O Barqueiro for a fish restaurant on one night! We would definitely return to Madiera and to Casa Velha. The golf course has spectacular views and the staff there were also really charming and helpful. A real find!

Room Tip: Don't stay in Rm 4! Although it was lovely and comfortable it is right above the kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks for your great review and it is nice to know that our team have some handy restaurant tips up their sleeves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed at the Casa Velha do Palheiro with my parents, husband and 15 month old baby. The hotel staff (especially Sonja and Louis) could not do enough for us to make it a fantastic stay. Breakfast was wonderful - buffet with fruit, yoghurt and gorgeous french pastries. The dinner for both my baby which was cooked to order and ourselves was divine. The bedroom was ample for the stay. The holiday was so relaxed it was a real treat. The spa pool was lovely and warm.

My only complaint was that the outside pool was not heated, which would have been a problem if my baby could have not used the spa pool as he is a water baby but the outdoor pool was far too cold for him. The lunch menu needs updating.

The hotel is a bit cooler than the rest of Funchal as it is up a hill but it was pleasant and did not stop us eating our dinner outside every night. The golf course does provide a lovely walk and the gardens next door are lovely to walk in.

Room Tip: Go for the adventure package on the hotel's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are very happy that this important holiday was such a success! Thanks for your comments and feedback which we will pass on to the team. We hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed beginning of October. A small, special high quality hotel. My husband and I chose this hotel because we prefer to stay at hotels with a good golf course 'on site'. We stayed in a golf view room- a beautiful peaceful haven, but only distant views of the course it has to be said.
The hotel well above sea level and Funchal, what a setting. Views from the hotel and grounds stunning. This was our first visit to Madiera, we didn't hire a car, the road up to the hotel is extremely steep and windy and best left to the experts until you get to know the place.
We enjoyed our dinner in the restaurant every evening on a half board package.
The food was excellent and almost michelin-star standard as a few guests have commented, but for us the menus needed to be complimented in quantity by accompanying vegetables with the main course when eating this style of dinner every evening. Of course when we asked vegetables were provided but for this style of cuisine we realise this is not the norm. This is the only possible critisism that we could have, but it is meant in a constructive manner.
Luis and the restaurant staff were very polished indeed, with excellent service in all languages and a great attitude. Breakfast, is buffet with all the normal english cooked items and lots of fresh 'continental' breakfast items with home made jams, all served in a sunny room with flowers, what more could you ask ?.
The golf course was even better than we had expected. We are in our late 50's and booked a buggy every day, ( 160 Euros for 5 rounds) but there were quite a few very fit or mad people that walked the course. It is a great design, very hilly, and challenging with some great elevated tees particularly on some par 3's. To give the average regular club golfer some idea, our scores varied from 20 up to 33 and we could have scored much better if the greens had not been treated the week we visited. Spectacular views and good food at the Golf Clubhouse with the local beer served at a reasonable cost too.
I used the outdoor swimming pool which was just about warm enough for the time of year, and the sauna and steam rooms were nice to use too.
The other part of the setting are the Palheiro gardens, access through a private guests gate from the hotel. Even this time of year the flowers are beautiful, we took a short walk through here everyday, it just sets the scene.
Finally most of our holiday we were busy playing golf, but we made use of the courtesy bus down to Funchal which goes twice a day and back every day by request, takes about 20 minutes. We liked the friendly knowledgeable local driver.
We also appreciated the p.c. in the golf wing lounge it was very useful.
This is a 'can do' establishment and we would conclude by saying we are likely to return in the future, and would recommend this hotel to golfers who usually visit the Algarve area.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are very comfortable tasteful and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks for your wonderful in depth review. I will pass on your comments to our team who will be delighted. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

A small quiet oasis set away from Funchal. Main function is to support guests to play golf but as a non golfer I enjoyed the spa facilities and the ability to relax whilst husband played golf
Spa & golf packages good value
Some nice touches - Biscuits & Cakes in the library with afternoon tea
Decor is good - Restrained elegance.
Spa was great with really enjoyable treatments

Few minor negatives - Would have liked to see tea & coffee in room, half board menu is limited to only a couple of choices but food is great and bit difficult to get a drink at lunchtime.

If you're looking for rowdy nightlife this isn't the place. High quality place to chill out

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Pauline,
We are delighted you enjoyed our range of facilities and that the spa enabled you to relax whilst your husband played golf. We have taken your other comments on board and we hope to welcome you back next year (our 210 th anniversary!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you like high quality in a peaceful surrounding (incl. private access to the beautiful Palheiro Gardens) you are definitely right in this small hotel. The staff is very professional and very friendly, no matter if its the bar keeper, room maid, etc. The food is of an excellent quality. The rooms are very aesthetic. We enjoyed the cheapest room class, Therefore, we guess the others will be at least that lovely. Nevertheless, we would prefer a kind of ventilation in the room (air conditioning or ventilator on the ceiling). The only thing we missed is a "tea making facilitiy" in the room. It could be a bit noisy during dinner and breakfast if there is a group in the hotel. But the staff did its very best to let us feel comfortable even though. The Madeira wine tasting was a very good education for us. We appreciated it. We had a real fantastic week and came very relaxed back home. Congratulations to this wonderful place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Velha do Palheiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velha do Palheiro

Address: Rua da Estalagem 23 | Palheiro Golf Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-415, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#18 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Velha do Palheiro 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Velha do Palheiro is a graceful 5 star Madeira country house hotel with 37 luxurious rooms.The hotel is situated next to the famous Palheiro Gardens, originally created over 200 years ago. Hotel facilities include: Championship golf course, full spa facilities including indoor and outdoor heated pools as well as a variety of treatments, fishing boat for whale and dolphin watching and big game fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, AvailPro, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Casa Velha do Palheiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velha Do Palheiro Hotel Funchal
Casa Velha Do Palheiro Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Velha do Palheiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.