We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Velha do Palheiro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Velha do Palheiro to your Saves list
Casa Velha do Palheiro
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Estalagem 23 | Palheiro Golf Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-415, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“True Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The service and friendliness was exceptional and the food of a quality that deserves wider recognition. The facilities on offer were all excellent with the pool and spa a real bonus. The only issue was ventilation in the rooms and their need for some refreshing. The wine list majoring on Portugese wines was an education and well priced. Overall 12 days that provided relaxation and comfort. Can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: The garden rooms can be too warm as there is no cross ventilation although a fan was on offer. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Simon and DJ,
thanks for your feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your experience including our spa
facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    21
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
115
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

All good things about this beautiful place have already been said. So I just would like to confirm all of them from my personal experience. :) Celeste and her team are fantastic hosts and provide a classy stay. If a traditional 5* country golf hotel is what you are looking for this is paragon.

For my personal taste it almost felt a bit too traditional and stuck in a antiquated pattern of luxury; it really could loosen up a bit. A few small changes (e.g. cool new uniforms for the stuff, encouraging communication between fellow guests) could make it more informal and add an energetic zing in the air, that was missing a bit during our stay. This is why I would rate this place 4.5 out of 5 ...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Marc,
Thanks for your great review. We have taken your comments on board and will consider again when it is time to review our uniforms. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.


“Classy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 11 August 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I recently spent a "significant" Birthday Celebration at Casa Velha and I cannot thank all the staff
enough for their attentiveness and the way in which they looked after me and my friends. We all had a marvellous time and if you want to escape the "rat race" and relax there is no better place I can think of. The food and service were excellent and once you have visited you will want to return one day. A particular thank you to Sonja front of house for all her hard work and to Luis and his team for all their attention to detail in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Corner suites are delightful overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Nicholas,
Thanks for your excellent review which we have circulated to all of the team. I understand you had epic birthday celebrations which the team at Casa Velha were delighted to help with. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Lovely place in a truly magnificent location. However, there are a few minor niggles. The upgraded rooms definitely not worth the increased cost. Food at the hotel is really very very good. However, this is reflected in the price with no choice for less expensive or smaller options. Moreover, there is little else near by with the exception of the golf club which has very good food but close before 8 pm. The course is magnificent and a hotel/golf package is amuse for any golfers. The only downside of the golf is their reluctance to offer any real flexibility with their golf packages.

Room Tip: Don’t go for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Mike,
Thank you very much for your review and your feedback. We are looking into your comments and seeing how we can improve our offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Casa Velha is an excellent place to stay for a most relaxing holiday and to be looked after by committed staff who are all interested in making your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. For me the Resturant is the best on the Island for quality and service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Mike,
Thanks for your excellent review. I will pass on your kind words to our chef and his team who will be thrilled at your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Excellent hotel, lovely rooms, lovely gardens and friendly /helpfull staff. Food very good with varied choices. Great location for golf course, and shuttle bus ideal for golfers. Shuttle bus also to Funchal which saves on taxi fares.Nice pool, with excellent spa.Nice to see the owners also at the Casa Vehla.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the separate golf rooms with private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Owner at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Graham,
Thanks for your feedback and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Next year is the 210th year of Casa Velha and we hope to see you then if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just returned from a week at Casa Velha. Can't wait to go back. The staff are marvellous and attentive, and the facilities and location are excellent. Beautiful gardens, breathtaking view from the clubhouse! Simply great!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Velha do Palheiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velha do Palheiro

Address: Rua da Estalagem 23 | Palheiro Golf Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-415, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Velha do Palheiro 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Velha do Palheiro is a graceful 5 star Madeira country house hotel with 37 luxurious rooms.The hotel is situated next to the famous Palheiro Gardens, originally created over 200 years ago. Hotel facilities include: Championship golf course, full spa facilities including indoor and outdoor heated pools as well as a variety of treatments, fishing boat for whale and dolphin watching and big game fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AvailPro, Escapio, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Casa Velha do Palheiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velha Do Palheiro Hotel Funchal
Casa Velha Do Palheiro Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Velha do Palheiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.