We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portugese Country House Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Velha do Palheiro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Velha do Palheiro to your Saves list
Casa Velha do Palheiro
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Estalagem 23 | Palheiro Golf Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-415, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Toronto
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Portugese Country House Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Located in the hills, 15 km and 500 m above Funchal, this is a haven of calm. A Relais et Chateau property, it was first built in 1804. Located on a wonderful golf course, you may never wish to leave. The rooms are wonderful, and the restaurant is excellent. We were treated to a special event with a guest chef - six courses with matched wines. The hotel has a van to take you into town (Funchal), but if you are adventurous, it pays to rent a small car. Lots of wonderful places to eat, and Funchal is a great place to poke around and walk.

Room Tip: Go for Rei Dom Carlos room if your budget is "flexible".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    21
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
115
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hotel in English tea-house style.
Very friendly and service-minded staff. Service impeccable.
Beautiful located in the hills, abt. 500 metres above sea level.
Fifteen minuts drive to Funchal.
Weather colder and often cloudy/misty when sunny in Funchal.
Great and easy access to challenging and well kept golf course.
Standard rooms dark with no terrace/balcony.
Breakfast seating no good. Stowed closely together like cattle.
Evening restaurant good, but vey expensive.
Almost equal quality food and identical wines available in
Funchal restaurants for less than half the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wavre, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spend one week in this splendid location, everything was perfect. The place is so peaceful in beautiful gardens. Perfect dinner for 42 €, good Portuguese wines and a professional service. The golf course is hard to play the first time, but day after day it becomes very pleasant to play.

Room Tip: Standard room with shower in bad tub, upper class with separate shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We are returning guests, this time with my parents-in-law. It was for them a slecial occasion, because of their golden wedding and the Casa Velha staff made the whole stay perfect !
Food, Golf, organizing a rental car, special celebrations at the wedding day - all this was no problem at all and with Luis in the restaurant as our best friend after the first evening, all our wishes became true.

The New Year celebration was good as last time and the view from the clubhouse amazing as ever.

Thanks guys, we wil come back !

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brecon Beacons
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Having had a fabulous holiday last year we returned to Casa Velha, which is something we rarely do as it usually turns out to be a disappointment. Fortunately this did not turn out to be the case.
Everything was up to the standard if not better than when we came last year (review 'paradise')
Although last year we received the warmest of welcomes and wonderful service, this year as returning guests the welcome was unbelievable. we arrived at about 11.00 am but were given access to the room, although understanably we had to wait about 10 minutes for the housekeeping to be finished, so we were shown to the library, where we were given drinks while we waited. Celeste, the General Manager of the hotel, made a point of coming in to the library and welcoming us back. All the reception and hotel staff that we had met last year all recognised us and made a point of saying welcome back. We were then shown to our rooms to find they had allocated us the same rooms as last year, a nice touch. The same happened
with our table in the restaurant, and in the Breakfast room. All the hotel and restaurant staff gave us our names whenever they saw us.
On our first visit to the clubhouse we were given the same warm welcome, even hugs from the girls in the pro shop. jonathon, the MD of the golf club made a point of finding us on the terrace and welcoming us back. Again the Srarters and course marshals made us welcome and would wave whwnever we saw them on the course.
As we said last year a fabulous golf couse and the food and service every bit as good if not better than last year.
This year we found the time to cisit the tropical gardens which can be accessed from the hotel, they are truly beautiful, and took in a visit to the Blandy wine lodge in Funchal, and learnt about the History of the Blandy family (the owners of Casa Velha and Palheiro Golf) in Madeira.
We were also lucky enough to be invited to a wine tasting in Funchal where over 80 suppliers from all over Portugal were giving free tastings of their wine. We will have to return as we didn't quite get round them all.
A fabulous holiday in a home from home. We will definately be returning.
The Porter Family

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Ok, I admit it, I have a genetically embedded dislike of golf.

But, even though it's surrounded on all sides by golfists, their dubious fashion choices, and the scars of a recent forest fire that very nearly wiped this little retreat from the map, the Casa Velha is a beautiful location. We didn't stay there, having rented a villa in the nearby Palheiro Village, but we did make use of the spa facilities, and dined in the restaurant there.

The spa is first class. Friendly staff, lovely facilities, and the treatments are a treat in every sense of the word.

The food is fantastic too. The best we had in Madeira.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The uniquely quiet and private location set amongst attractive gardens, makes this small country hotel a true place to unwind, enjoy superbly presented food and play some leasurely but challenging Golf. A great weeks break for my wife and I. The service was attentive and the atmosphere was reminiscent of an English Country House with only a few Palm trees and some very warm days and evenings being the giveaway that actually you are set high up in the Hills above Funchal, in Madeira. To the endless lines of ants I could see filing back on to the massive cruise ships down in the the harbour in Funchal, I say, "Go back and stare out of your box cabin and just pretend you experienced wonderful Portuguese hospitality". We did.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Golf Course .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Velha do Palheiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velha do Palheiro

Address: Rua da Estalagem 23 | Palheiro Golf Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-415, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Velha do Palheiro 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Velha do Palheiro is a graceful 5 star Madeira country house hotel with 37 luxurious rooms.The hotel is situated next to the famous Palheiro Gardens, originally created over 200 years ago. Hotel facilities include: Championship golf course, full spa facilities including indoor and outdoor heated pools as well as a variety of treatments, fishing boat for whale and dolphin watching and big game fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AvailPro, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Casa Velha do Palheiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velha Do Palheiro Hotel Funchal
Casa Velha Do Palheiro Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Velha do Palheiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.