We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Discerning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Velha do Palheiro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Velha do Palheiro to your Saves list
Casa Velha do Palheiro
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Estalagem 23 | Palheiro Golf Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-415, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Discerning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The uniquely quiet and private location set amongst attractive gardens, makes this small country hotel a true place to unwind, enjoy superbly presented food and play some leasurely but challenging Golf. A great weeks break for my wife and I. The service was attentive and the atmosphere was reminiscent of an English Country House with only a few Palm trees and some very warm days and evenings being the giveaway that actually you are set high up in the Hills above Funchal, in Madeira. To the endless lines of ants I could see filing back on to the massive cruise ships down in the the harbour in Funchal, I say, "Go back and stare out of your box cabin and just pretend you experienced wonderful Portuguese hospitality". We did.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Golf Course .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    21
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
115
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The high rating of this hotel is well deserved. As other reviewers have described, this is a smallish hotel based on an old hunting lodge high up above Funchal; a slight disadvantage for some perhaps because of the 15 minute taxi or shuttle bus journey time but an advantage for others because its height above sea level means it is cooler on hot days than down in the city. There are lovely views over the city and sea, especially from the golf club house. The hotel is furnished beautifully with antiques and has a generally traditional and comfortable feel about it. The Palheiro gardens alongside are lovely.

The food is of a very high standard indeed. My wife and I had booked on a half board basis but had intended to go outside the set menu both by trying the a la carte menu in the hotel and to venture further afield to other restaurants. However, the food in the hotel was such that we were more than happy to stay with the set menu for the two weeks we were there. (It is worth saying that one discouragement from trying other restaurants was the prospect of driving back on a very steep and twisting road after a few drinks).

The staff members could not have been more helpful or better trained (perhaps a touch of over-familiarity from one or two in the restaurant but on the whole excellent).

We were in the golf wing and the room was well furnished and of a very comfortable size with plenty of storage space.

Our only minor criticisms of the hotel were that the bathroom was just a jade tired (cracked floor tiles, shower soap tray a little wonky and the sink plug in need of some attention) and that the room could have been cleaned more thoroughly.

The island had suffered several months of drought, now thankfully over, but it meant that the golf course had suffered badly and was not in good condition. Hopefully that will correct itself very quickly.

We would love to return in the spring when even more flowers are out on the island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Looking for a quiet holiday in the sun with a pool and a range of other amenities, we chose Casa Velha after shying away from hundreds of glitzy "resort" hotels in many different locations. We could not have made a better choice. This is a true "home from home", slightly old-fashioned (all the better!) and rather English (it is owned by the Blandy family) country house hotel with a good- sized and deep pool. There is also tennis, table tennis, badminton, a small but well-equipped exercise room, a state-of-the-art spa, and a half-sized snooker table. Guests have free access to the adjoining 200 year-old Palheiro Gardens, which are glorious and through which you can join one of the main levada walks. I know nothing about golf but the course is an amazing piece of landscaping in itself. (There is also a motor-yacht which is available, at a price, for game fishing or occasional whale-watching cruises).

The staff are unfailingly polite and professional as well as welcoming and friendly - during a 10-day stay they developed a real but always discreet rapport with us, anticipating our preferences and joking with our 14 year-old son.

The hotel offers breakfast and dinner, a room service menu and afternoon tea. Guests may also use the golf clubhouse - a ten minute walk across the course - which serves food throughout the day and is useful for lunch or an early dinner.

The daily-changing table d'hote dinners were oustandingly good. The standard of cooking is exceptionally high (virtually Michelin-star standard, as another review suggests) and the menus, while offering only two or three choices in each course, are so well designed as to be a constant delight. Some reviews seem rather chippy about the style and/or the price (40 euros for three courses) but we were happy just to submit to the experience - we were on holiday, for goodness' sake! - and, given the level of effort and achievement in the cooking, thought they offered good value. We ate in every night. (There is also an a la carte menu and a seven course "tasting" menu but hardly anyone seemed to choose these). The restaurant is, I suppose, "formal", but only in the sense of offering all the proper routines of service and, while there is no stated dress-code as such, setting a style that would make shorts and flip-flops look unmannerly (no need for a jacket, though). I hope they stick to the stye in the face of a few carping criticisms.

Casa Velha is a small hotel - only 34 rooms - and exceptionally quiet and peaceful, especially at night. The rooms, mostly in two modern wings built in traditional Madeiran materials and style, are comfortable (excellent pillows!) and well furnished in a homely rather than ostentatious manner. There are two comfortable and well-proportioned public rooms in the main house, which have free and easily accessed WiFi.

It is perhaps worth saying - because other reviewers seem not to have noticed this before they got there - that the hotel is not actually in Funchal, the centre of which is a 20 minute drive away. The hotel provides a return shuttle service twice a day and a taxi costs about 18 euros. So, if you really want to be in Funchal, why not stay in Funchal? We had lunch there twice; visited the Marcado des Lavradores and the Blandy wine lodge; took the cable car to the Jardim Botanico; and the hotel organised a taxi tour of the island for us - quite enough on a lazy holiday.

Once we arrived at Casa Velha we didn't really want to go anywhere else. It does what it sets out to do exceptionally well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We were recently married at Casa Velha and had the most wonderful fairytale wedding imaginable, we were delighted to be able to use the chappel belonging to the Blandy Family set in the magnificent Palheiro Gardens. The managment and staff were fabulouse, incre
dably attentive to not only us but all of our forty three guests.
The hotel has a comfortable and timless feel and the food exceptional, with fine wines served from an excellent celler.
The golf course is always a delight to play and all of our guest enjoyed the challenge.
This was our sixth visit to Casa Velha. We run luxury golf trips worldwide, so we have lots to compare and we could not think of another place we would have got married in.
A huge thankyou to everyone their and we are looking forward to returning next year.
Gary and Marion Pike

Room Tip: Upgrade to golf wing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

House beautiful, gardens exquisite, food, (in the award-winning restaurant), simply delicious and way up there with the Michelin quality. Dress smartly for dinner - it just enhances the whole experience! Exceedingly comfortable bed in a large airy bedroom. Daily papers set out in the large airy library bedecked with beautifully upholstered sofas and chairs. Staff are friendly, attentive and always available. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble. A short walk through the adjacent golf-course brings you to the club-house where you can enjoy a drink and a lunch of the same quaity of the main house but somewhat cheaper! Daily transport provided by the hotel down to Funchal where you can experience an even wider variety of restuarants and attractions. This was our third visit to this friendly island and our fourth will most definitely be back to this hotel. It might almost be worth taking up golf for an even better experience!!

Room Tip: The only tip is Go There!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We spent a week in early march 2012: large clean room, excellent cuisine, friendly and helpful personnel, lovely gardens, challenging golf, altoghether a place to recommend if you are looking for a quiet but luxurious stay and... if you play golf. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I got myself a golfing package - the golf course is all around the hotel. The setting is beautiful, all green, well kept gardens. The house breathes history and old style, meals are great and casual smart dress in the evenings. The personnel is kind and tries to meet all your needs.

Room Tip: I am most susceptible to cold rooms, so I asked to change room because it was too cold for my taste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Director at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you in the near future. We will make sure your room is super warm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Velha do Palheiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velha do Palheiro

Address: Rua da Estalagem 23 | Palheiro Golf Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-415, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Velha do Palheiro 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Velha do Palheiro is a graceful 5 star Madeira country house hotel with 37 luxurious rooms.The hotel is situated next to the famous Palheiro Gardens, originally created over 200 years ago. Hotel facilities include: Championship golf course, full spa facilities including indoor and outdoor heated pools as well as a variety of treatments, fishing boat for whale and dolphin watching and big game fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AvailPro, Escapio, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Casa Velha do Palheiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velha Do Palheiro Hotel Funchal
Casa Velha Do Palheiro Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Velha do Palheiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.