We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Velha do Palheiro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Velha do Palheiro to your Saves list
Casa Velha do Palheiro
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Estalagem 23 | Palheiro Golf Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-415, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Lintgen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

An excellent hotel if you like a relaxing and comfortable stay. Staff is not imposing at all, but are very helpful if required; good eye for detail and small additional items like fresh fruit every day and tasty espressos in your room definitely add to the feeling of comfort.
The restaurant is excellent, although if you like meat the focus on fish is a bit too strong and if senior staff is not around it seems to us that the level of service if dropping slightly( still very good though).
The very nice gardens and extensive compound are very inviting to some strolls.
The complimentary bus to Funchal is a nice add-on and defintely advisable.
The drawback for me is that the hotel (but this probably applies to most hotels) is not very smoker friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathanfletch, Director at Casa Velha do Palheiro, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thanks for your comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. Regarding the smoking - we are at the mercy of the law regarding smoking areas but are pleased to say we have a smoking area in one of the public areas.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    21
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
115
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We had never been to Madeira and so had no idea what to expect save a recommendation for this hotel. It is near perfect, on its hill above Funchal, with a lovely garden beside it. And they say (I don't play) the golf is excellent.
The main building is a charming 200 year old holiday lodge with two added bedroom blocks. We had a superior garden room; masses of space and a huge comfortable bed.. The staff are kind, courteous and efficient, and I say this as someone who is partialy disabled. They were expecting my wheelchair and had built two ramps to cover a few steps, and the hedge by the steps had been pulled back to make access easiuer. That's the standard of service. And the food justified its Michelin star. Our travel agents here were Classic Collections, who dealt with our unusual requirements as if they were normal. In Madeira Blandy Travel coped with our needs and problems very well indeed. And introduced us to an excellent taxi driver called Teresa. If you want a really quiet holiday in beautiful surroundings on a fascinating island this is where to go.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband booked a suite in the hotel for a surprise birthday treat. We stayed for 7 days in August and had the most wonderful time. We swam every day, and the swimming pool was surprisingly under-used so was never crowded, and we also used the spa and massage facilities. The grounds are splendid, as is the golf course - neither of us play golf but we walked through the pathways to the club house for dinner on a couple of occasions. The food in both the hotel and the golf club was spectacular and we will certainly return. We ate outside in the hotel gardens on a couple of evenings, and on the patio overlooking Funchal in the golf club. We had a hire car for the week, but only went out on two days as it was lovely just walking around the gardens and grounds and relaxing by the pool.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the first floor with two small balconies overlooking the lawn at the back, with wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moers
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is our 4th visit, and once again the staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and the service 1st class. The Spa and pool area are great, the dining fabulous and the golf being at your front door is a great challenge but fun. We'll definatley be returning, as Madeira is one of our favoutite places, as is Casa Velha. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

If 'bling' is your thing and you are looking for glitz and entertainment this hotel is not for you. However, if you recognise that understated elegance is the mark of real sophistication, head for this lovely hotel in the hills above Funchal. We stayed for 7 nights and used it as a base for exploring the island by hire car. The hotel is set in a beautiful estate and has a real country house feel. The only sound you'll hear on the terrace, whilst sipping your pre-dinner drink, is bird song. The charming staff are attentive without being overbearing. We had a 'superior' room, which was entirely adequate. The food in the restaurant is excellent with a 'specials' menu that changes daily. The pool area is large and secluded and we never felt crowded. It is a short walk through the scenic golf course to the clubhouse, which has stunning views from the terrace over Funchal and where a good lunch is served. The gardens adjacent to the hotel are lovely and it is possible to do a 'levada' walk from the village above the hotel. The hotel runs a complimentary shuttle bus to Funchal during the day. We ate in town on 3 evenings, and taxis cost about 15 euros each way, however the quality of the food in the hotel restaurant was hard to beat. The boat trip organised by the hotel was great fun and incorporated a lunch stop at a taverna-type restaurant that is inaccessible by road. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting relaxation, in peaceful surroundings, but with the option of Funchal close by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the (newer) garden annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011 via mobile

We have just returned from a 1 week stay at the Casa Velha do Palheiro. It is situated on a hill to the NE of Funchal overlooking the city. It is set within the magnificent Palheiro (Blandy) Gardens and alongside the stunning golf course. The staff were very attentive and friendly and the meals were magnificent. It helped that the weather was superb throughout our stay.
The only downside was the horrendous 7 hour delay BOTH WAYS on our Jet2 flights to and from Manchester. First and last time we will be using them.
We shall surely be using this hotel again but with a different airline.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011 via mobile

Wow, we were blown away the minute we arrived.

Amr and all the staff were wonderful hosts, the Villas are all so beautiful. I wish we spent more that 5 days. It was our honeymoon and Palheiro Village made it unforgettable. Can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Velha do Palheiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velha do Palheiro

Address: Rua da Estalagem 23 | Palheiro Golf Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-415, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Velha do Palheiro 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Velha do Palheiro is a graceful 5 star Madeira country house hotel with 37 luxurious rooms.The hotel is situated next to the famous Palheiro Gardens, originally created over 200 years ago. Hotel facilities include: Championship golf course, full spa facilities including indoor and outdoor heated pools as well as a variety of treatments, fishing boat for whale and dolphin watching and big game fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AvailPro, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Casa Velha do Palheiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velha Do Palheiro Hotel Funchal
Casa Velha Do Palheiro Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Velha do Palheiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.