We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergaria Catedral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Albergaria Catedral to your Saves list
Albergaria Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Aljube No 13, Funchal, Madeira 9000-067 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Herzlia, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel itself is very nice. Location is fantastic, price is inexpensive, hosts are friendly, breakfast (for additional 10 Euros) was good. Two problems: The hotel has no reasonable parking. It's parking is about 1 Km. away and hard to find. Secondly, some of the rooms are very small, for the same price (50 Euros) and if you don't insist (like we did), you may receive a small and inconvenient room. In addition, aircondition is bad in some rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shoham47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kosice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Location of the hotel is just great. Next to the cathedral, in the city centre, close to everything. Staff was gorgeous, very nice and helpful. Spacious room with nice street view, bathroom was okay, looking a bit tired. Breakfast were okay.
Parking is few minutes walk from the hotel, but it didn't bother us.
There is a minimarket next door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyskaHryzka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you want to be in the heart of Funchal, this hotel is ideal choice! Hotel is small and cosy. This place is very good for walking and discovering beauties of Funchal = brilliant! Hotel is a popular place for businessman. It is very clean. We was very satisfied here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bayo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights at the end of a tour around the island.
It is very central and everything is within easy reach of the hotel. The hotel has a private car park which on foot is not far away, but due to the one way streets is difficult to locate at first. The receptionist was incredibly helpful and came with us in the car to help us find the car park.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of food (yes the coffee machine does take a bit of getting used to). Staff were all very helpful and friendly.
On the top floor there is a balcony which overlooks the cathedral and can be used by guests to sit out and enjoy the views.
We had a budget room which although was at the back of the hotel, was still quite noisy as the street was just below our window. The walls are thin so do bring earplugs if necessary.
Will stay here again as Funchal is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nesto69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Excellent location, central Funchal, good for business and a city break, not so good if you like lying around the pool (it hasn't got one).
It claims to have a bar, but I saw no evidence of this. Breakfasts OK, usual 'orrible Portuguese bacon and little sausages along with scrambled eggs for the hot, but cereal, fruit, ham and cheese and breads for cold and a coffee machine that could send a man to the moon - I just couldn't get a decent cup of coffee out of it. A rather stern lady attendant officiated over breakfast, she seemed to specialise in getting in every bodies way in the (somewhat small) breakfast room.
Rooms were clean and functional, I think there is some variation in the room standards, try and get one with a balcony.
There is a lounge on the top floor along with a outside area overlooking the cathedral which is very pleasant.
Any features missing from the hotel can be easily obtained nearby with mini market next door, café's and bars really close.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel, assuming you don't want a 'resort' type holiday.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony, preferably at front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J0hn_0h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zell am See, Austria
Level Contributor
121 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Based on price and location, I arrived at this hotel with friends on our first viist to the island. A narrow entrance leading to a set of stairs taking to the next floor for reception is never a good sign in my books. Checking the first 3 rooms took a little over 30 minutes and took over 30 more minutes for the 4th. I had to go up and down more than 3 times complaining that the card doesn't open the door before the receptionist decided to show me how to use a hotel card. When he failed to use the card, only then did he realize that the door itself has been locked mechanically by the housekeeping staff. Then he got the master key and opened the door for me to enter. Not a very good start.

The hotel has no internet access in the rooms contrary to their advertisement. Having some business to run and emails to keep up with, this was not good news. Instead of getting an apology this dragged into a long saga. Hearing trickling water in a shower in the next room from time to time meant the walls were too thin. A wooden frame above the bed to house electrical wiring gathers all kinds of dirt that can't be cleaned. Even worse, there has been a couple of exposed wires chopped without any insulation at all. This is very dangerous and totally unacceptable. Due to an error in their credit card machine, my card was tried 3 or 4 times before they figured out there was an error on their side. Luckily there was a communication error from their side and hence my card was not blocked as a result of this. I had to go downstairs to withdraw the amount in cash using the same card from an ATM which worked like a charm. In a proper hotel, I wouldn't need to do something like this.

Rooms are on the smaller side, 2 single beds loosely pushed together, and a tiny little safe that requires a key was found in the cupboard. Overall this hotel is all about location and nothing else. I have seen far better hotels in the city and around the same area as well. I am very disappointed that we have booked in a hotel that is an ok 3* hotel advertising itself as a 4* hotel. It is definitely not a 4* hotel and the way of resolving issues with them has been very slow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheChadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Perfectly located, clean and comfortable. Bathroom small, but functional. No fridge or kettle in room, but has a safe at a charge of 10 euro per week. Breakfast at 5 euro a day is reasonably priced, but there's a coffee shop 2 doors away which does a selection of cakes and pastries, tea and coffee and it works out cheaper! The hotel is mid terrace and the front has views to the cathedral opposite. Some of the front rooms have balconies to sit on and those on higher front floors have a sea view. All the others have Juliet balconies that you can't sit on. There are daily deliveries to the supermarket under the hotel and these start at around 6:20am. The rear door of the supermarket is at the back of the hotel so there's a lot of noise on that side of the hotel even if you have a high up floor. This is the only fault with the hotel. So I would recommend paying the extra 20 Euro per night and booking a room with a sea view (front of hotel) - it still represents good value for an excellent location.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front of the hotel ie facing the cathedral or sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nessayres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#22 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#37 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Funchal Design Hotel
Funchal Design Hotel
#40 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#17 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria Catedral

Address: Rua da Aljube No 13, Funchal, Madeira 9000-067, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your Albergaria Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Catedral Hotel Funchal
Albergaria Catedral Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing