We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% discount
Ranked #11 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Firstly, Madeira is not a beach, resort type of place. Staying in a hotel like this with sea views and a decent pool / garden is good. We were very glad to be based in Funchal and take excursions to explore the island. Porto Santa Maria is located on the edge of the old town. The streets here are full of good restaurants and we enjoyed dining out with "b & b" in the hotel. We took dinner in the hotel twice (on their "gourmet" nights) and the food was good. The breakfasts were super and the staff very helpful, led by the vivacious and very welcoming Lina. The bar is a pleasant room with some outside terrace seating available and the bar service was great. The cleaning staff were also good but we found the reception staff rather mixed and I don't think the manager was visible at all. The rooms are ok at 4 star and always clean. A sea view is worth having and avoid the rooms looking over the park because (as others have noted) it is a place for people who have to sleep outside.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your review on our Hotel and that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed it to Lina as she will be happy to read it too. I have read your comments and can tell you that I have been during your stay and am always available for chat with our guests, i hope we have the pleasure of meeting on a future visit.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    224
    32
    9
    5
See reviews for
60
801
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Just returned from our first visit to Madeira and the lovely Porto Santa Maria Hotel. We booked on the previous reviews on Tripadvisor and would fully endorse the many very good comments on this site.
Brilliant location on the Sea Front, very handy for all the local restaurants and excellent for anyone who has mobility problems.
This hotel has 4*s, I have no idea how it must improve to get 5 as it is outstanding. Everything from the helpful staff, wonderful breakfasts -- the restaurant marshalled by the dynamic Lina who had a smile at all hours of the day or night, to the cleanliness and constant maintenance making this hotel the most immaculate I have stayed in.
The over 16 rule is ideal for those who do not wish to share their stay with very young people, there was no noise to disturb the peace and quiet. Entertainment every evening was a bonus and the gym and pools were not overly busy and I was even able, with my wife's help, to learn to swim.
The hotel is within walking distance of the shops in town and handy for trips on the cable car.
We will be returning as soon as possible--- a wonderful hotel to stay in, hopefully for longer than a week next time.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea have magnificent views of the Atlantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Nice to read that your first visit to Porto Santa Maria was a good one! We will be waiting for your second visit to go for a swim in the new pebble beach in front of the hotel.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

this hotel is probably one of the best hotels in madiera,apart of course from reids.a tad more expensive than the other equivalent hotels,but well worth the extra.the first thing you notice is the absence of kids running around turning everywhere into a playgound while the parents sit and look on.it is so peacefull and relaxing.the hotel is set in the heart of the old town with its copius amount of excellent restaurants and local bars,the best being THE MOZART-( see my other revue of this retaurant).the staff are outstanding and very friendly witout being in your face,LENA is a national treasure and should be awarded for her outstanding service she provides.the rooms are very nice and comfortable.the amenities are excellent- 2 excellent pools and jacuzzies,massage rooms,saunas, nice new seating area out front on the prom,where you can sit and watch the world go by while enjoying a glass of bubbly(included in the breakfast menu).the saturday evening barbaque is well worth doing,with a reception after on the roof terrace with yet more bubbly, to get a good view of the incredible fireworks display with accompinied music, in the harbour.entertainment is laid on in the bar most evenings if you do not feel like going out for a drink.this is our second stay at this hotel and numorous stays on this magical island and certainly not our last.

Room Tip: ask for a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank your for your nice review on Porto Santa Maria, we are glad that you enjoyed your June holidays with the Atlantic Festival. I have passed your Review to Lina as I am sure she will be glad to read it too.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel is one good reason to keep returning to Madeira. We love the island and we love this hotel. The staff are helpful, polite and proud of their hotel and this shows in the service they deliver. I agree with the reviewer who says it's very difficult to write anything different that hasn't already been said before.
We discovered a wee place along from the hotel which serves delicious wraps and healthy juices - great for lunches. It's called GIGI Sumos and worth a visit.

Room Tip: we had a side view of the sea on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

reading your review made us feel that we must keep up the work in order that we are fit and ready for your third visit! We promise that we will try! Hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just returned from the porto santa Maria. This was our first trip to Madeira, and although not our favourite destination we could not fault this lovely hotel. From cleanliness, food, staff, views, everything was first class.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth upgrading to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

although sad to read that Madeira itself could have been better we are glad that at least from our part your were happy with the hotel. We hope that you give the Island another chance.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

It is so difficult to write a review of this hotel, except tp endorse the great majority of previous reviewers' comments that this is an outstanding hotel.
Wonderfully situated for walking to all the major attractions in Funchal; especially the old town, which on it's own, is a great experience which should not be missed.
Having arrived on an early flight from UK, we were advised that our room was not ready. This gave some relaxing time to sit in the delightfully cool and comfortable lobby/lounge area, and to have a mini stroll around the hotel facilities. Luggage was taken from us as we arrived and was next seen in our room.
Some information about the hotel which we hope will answer some of the questions that we could not find concise answers for prior to our visit:
Pool towels are provided and will be found in your room
Rooms are have a mini 'kitchen' area with a fridge ( a proper fridge, not a mini bar!), kettle and cutlery, crockery and utensils to make drinks and light lunches etc. There are two 'Spar' mini markets within minutes walk of the hotel for water and basic supplies.
Whilst there are plenty of sun beds, these do fill up on certain days. The hotel has a policy of not reserving the beds, but we still found that once a towel was on the bed, certain individuals would wander off and return possibly three hours later. The hotel did not seem to have any way of enforcing their policy. Our main gripe here is not with the hotel; but with the selfish and arrogant attitude of those individuals who cannot, and obviously will not consider others.
The roof terrace, accessed from the third floor, is delightful. With a full 360 degree view of the harbour and inland. Here there are a limited number of sun beds, some chairs and tables and a few comfortable sofas; but limited shade - Great for a warm cloudy day, but a sun trap otherwise.
Adjacent to the indoor pool, on the lower level, is a small gym: air conditioned and mirror fronted the modern equipment comprises a'Technogym' bike, treadmill, cross trainer and rower, together with a multi-gym bench and assorted weights.
Through the Captain's Bar there is a small library area with books to borrow (we assume take one and leave one).
Internet access is free in the public areas, but is at a charge in own rooms. There is a PC in the lobby area free to use.
There is a safe in each room for which use there us a charge of €12.00 per week. This seemed surprising that there should be a charge, but access to the digital coding is only available by a key available through reception-in other words, a secure system.
We are bound to have missed some information which we thought might be useful; but hopefully the few comments above night be found helpful.
We hope that other 'trippers' will find their stay at Santa Maria as pleasant as ours.

Room Tip: Upper storey, in the centre. Well worth paying the extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your extensive and detailed review of Porto Santa Maria, I can only remember to add a note to the Evening meals that include our Gourmet Flavours on Thursdays and Barbecue on Summer Fridays. We hope that you have the opportunity to try them on your next visit!

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Third visit to the Porto Santa Maria Hotel met all our expectations yet again. Very comfortable Hotel with excellent and attentive staff. Great location. Seafront, shops and great restaurants within easy walking distance. Tour buses, cable car on the doorstep.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

glad to read that your were a satisfied guest to our hotel and will do our best so we can exceed them on a future visit!

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Address: Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#24 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.