We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% discount
Ranked #11 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Returned again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We went last year and enjoyed ourselves so much we returned for a second visit. The staff made us feel like a family member returning. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, well maintained with very efficient staff. Our room overlooked the sea so watching the cruise ships come and go was lovely. The hotel is in the old town so lots of cafes to choose from (we just did B & B) and on the flat. It must be good for so many people to return many times. We had a meal in the hotel and it was first class. Breakfast has everything you need. Looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    228
    32
    9
    5
See reviews for
60
809
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We went in January of this year, and again really loved the hotel: clean and comfortable, well maintained with very efficient staff and an excellent indoor pool. Having a little 'kitchen' area in the bedroom is a real plus, as is the drying rack on the balcony. Bar prices were reasonable - especially during the hotel's 'Happy Hour' - and bar suppers are to be recommended. Food in the dining room is also good, just more expensive. Our only mistake was in not booking a room with a sea view. We had corner room 250, very spacious, if a bit dark, and the balcony faced towards the cable car and the town, which seemed fine till night-time ... and then the outside noise began. With so many restaurants nearby, the bottle banks soon fill up; the mystery is why they need emptied in the middle of the night!! However, when we complained, we were immediately offered a change of room and our problem was solved. The generous 10 euro/day credit provided by management to compensate for the disturbance of the current sea defence works was a very nice touch and we look forward to returning before long to the Porto Santa Maria.

Room Tip: Avoid the back corner nearest the main entrance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax West Yorks
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Recently returned from a 7 days' holiday at the Porto Santa Maria. This is a very good hotel in many aspects - clean, airy, spacious and friendly welcoming staff.
We had a room overlooking the sea (Room 26) which was modern, comfortable and had all the necessary facilities. The food in the hotel is also very good with a different themed dinner every night. Breakfast was all the food you would need and overall was a very civilised way to start the day.
Funchal is a large, busy resort and do not under-estimate its size (or hills). This hotel stands alone in the old town part of Funchal - it is very near all the attractions. Slightly spoiled by the current extensive building works when walking around, but this did not spoil things too much. However, I know this sounds a little snobbish, but I was not too impressed to find a few vagrants sleeping rough in the adjoining gardens. They did not cause any harm in any way, but I am still pointing this fact out. Overall for us - hotel very good; resort average.

Room Tip: I would have preferred to be one storey up - ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Returned for the 5th time, 1st time in April. If anything the hotel staff are even better at making you feel at home. You have a request it gets dealt with there and then, even if it has nothing to do with the hotel. Bar and restaurant staff attentive and quick to fulfil your requests. Cleaners do their rounds with the minimum of disruption. Didn't use the spa as I spent most days on the roof terrace even there the bar service is prompt. Everyone has a smile on their face even with the awkward guests. The new year visit can't come quick enough. multi obrigado, ate' breve

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is a very good hotel, with friendly and helpful staff, but the best bit was its location, it is the only hotel on the seafront in the old town. Yes the sea defence works are a bit noisy but to be able to walk to the market and loads of restaurants is fab. We took a bus up around the hotel strip at the top of the hill and it was a concrete jungle.
Madeira is a nice holiday destination we really enjoyed ourselves

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I stayed here on a B&B basis for 2 weeks. I thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. I had a large sea view room with all mod cons.I only had the evening meal on one occasion and to be honest I thought it was expensive compared to nearby restaurants Staff were without fail pleasant and helpful.
This was my first visit to Madeira. The hotel is not directly affected by the building work,but outside the hotel it can be a nuisance. Local buses also seem to be disrupted re stopping places.
I am quite fit and active,but found I had to be very careful walking on the cobbled streets, would be difficult for anyone with limited mobilty. Also,very hilly !.
Worst part of holiday was delays at Funchal airport on return. Apparently this is going worse year by year. I stood for about 3 hours in various queues before boarding. not good.

Room Tip: Sea view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again despite your less positive experience at the airport.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was our first visit to the Porto Santa Maria and it will not be our last! It has wonderful comfort and style without being pretentious, spacious, cosy, well designed and furnished rooms, very good facilities with plenty of space so that you never feel crowded, but the service is without equal! All of the staff are extremely courteous, friendly, efficient and with great attention to detail. Great value for money, a hotel that the staff are proud of and it shows!

Room Tip: Recommend east or south facing, away from prevailing wind even though view of harbour compromised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind review on our hotel and team, we are in fact very proud of our hotel, which is not of course flawless, but we do our best every day in order to provide our guests with the best experience possible. We will be waiting your second visit.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Address: Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#24 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.