We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxing hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% discount
Ranked #11 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Billericay, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Spent a week in this hotel. After reading many great Tripadvisor reviews, we cannot fault the hotel at all. Even the major sea wall defense work which is going on did not dampen our holiday, great compensation paid by the hotel (although they didn't need to do this what a great gesture of goodwill). Hotel location again perfect. I don't need to say anymore as all the previous reviews are saying the same. We don't usually like to return to the same holiday destination, but I am sure we shall as there is more for us to see on the island of Madeira, we would most definitely stay at the Porto Santa Maria again. Of course not forgetting the staff - they were all very helpful.

Room Tip: Sea view or garden view. High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    226
    32
    9
    5
See reviews for
60
804
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to this hotel and it's still excellent. Perfectly placed in the middle of the old town of Funchal. Shops and restaurants on the doorstep and it was wine week whilst we were there. Wine samples for 1 euro and great entertainment, all for free. The building work along the sea front is essential and although unsightly is bearable and the 10 euros per person per day given to every guest by the hotel is a wonderful gesture. If the noise is too much just plug in the ipod and you won't hear it. The staff at this hotel are lovely. Everyone has a smile and a warm welcome for you. The rooms are excellent with the very useful kitchenette. We only had the breakfast in the restaurant and this was more than satisfying with plenty of coffee available (and tea). Would recommend this hotel every time but if it's your first visit to Madeira perhaps wait until later next year when the work should be finished along the coast.

Room Tip: If you want to see the cruise ships book a sea-view room and email the hotel to let them know you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this superb hotel and as my title indicateds it can't be faulted. We had a studio room on the ground floor with a garden view, #45, that was spacious, clean and thoughtfully equipped with top quality furnishings and equipment. WI-FI was available only in the reception and bar, but was being installed in each room as I write.

Every member of the staff knew exactly what their job was and did it cheerfully and professionally. The work to improve the Funchal sea defences right at the front of the hotel was under way, and will be for a further 12 months, but we didn't find it at all intrusive. In fact I quite enjoyed walking through the hotel gate onto the promenade and watching the work, some big boys toys in use. The hotel currently compensates each guest at 10€ per day that is set against your final account - very fair I thought. I would recommend the Gourmet Night, at 27€ pp. it's worth every penny - we really enjoyed the meal.

This is a hotel that we would recommend without question and we will certainly be repeat guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Porto Santa Maria hotel for two weeks from the 26 August and this was our eighth visit to this hotel. Although there ids major works taking place opposite the hotel and there was some noise from time to time it did not spoil or mar our holiday and the hotel were generous with the compensation package. The staff at the hotel are brilliant and nothing is too much trouble, they are a credit to the Hotel Manager and to the Porto group. The food at breakfast is excellent and the evening is also very varied with different regions each evening. The bar staff are helpful and always happy and will have a joke with you. All in all the hotel is a good Four Star. We are looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We will give the hotel 10 out of 10 - it deserves 11. Everything about the place helped make our holiday a very memorable time. The location was ideal, the food was excellent but most of all, the staff were incredibly polite, helpful and professional. We can single out Lena and Maria for special mention but it is impossible to remember all other names but they were all superb.
Yes there was building work going on which we were warned about in advance but it did not affect us at all and the compensation offer the hotel gave was more than adequate and very much appreciated. It certainly helped when settling our bar bill on departure!!
Thanks to everyone concerned - we will return.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room which helped diminish the harbour work noise. Next time it will be a sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

just returned from a week at this hotel and cannot really find any fault at all, the location was great just a stones throw from bars and restaurants in the old town, the staff were all friendly and helpful, the food good and the rooms were very clean and comfy, there was entertainment on every night and the roof terrace was perfect especially at night when all the town was lit up in front us, we didnt really find the sea defence building work any bother although the sea front itself wasn 't very pretty. all in all we had a great holiday on this beautiful island but you must get out and see all of it not just stay in the hotel sunbathing

Room Tip: upgrade to a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Have just spent a week at this fantastic hotel

The location is perfect, right on the coast and in the heart of the old town, perfect for the miriad of local restaurants on it's doorstep. Unfortunately there are major building works right along the seafront but we were made aware of this prior to departure and a generous compensation was applied to our bill.

The staff were all exceptionally polite and helpful, especially Lena who was a fantastic host all week and couldn’t do enough to make sure our stay was perfect.

The photos online are a true reflection of the hotel – the roof terrace really is an exceptional space to sit and relax and watch the world go by.
It would appear that the management are constantly trying to improve based on customer feedback – as we left, the old kids pool (The hotel is now adult only) was in the process of being converted into an additional Jacuzzi and Wi-Fi was being installed into the bedrooms (Currently only available in reception / bar area). The only minor criticism that we could make was on the aesthetics of the pools which are a concrete type finish and this made them look somewhat murky. We can testify that they are in fact very clean and its an optical illusion…perhaps painting them blue would be an easy solution!

In all, we really enjoyed our stay and hope to return next year

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Address: Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#24 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.