We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Save Saved
You added Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Another great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from a second visit to this lovely hotel. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised to have been appointed a free upgrade to a junior suite room, which as our daughter was with us on this trip, was most appreciated. A lovely room with sea view, very quiet too. We couldn't hear any building work with the windows closed and it wasn't particularly invasive when sat on the balcony.
There are some improvements being made to the already beautiful rooftop terrace, where, as returning guests, we were invited to a very pleasant wine and canapés get together one evening, the first one they had tried, which despite some cloudy weather, was very nice and it gave everyone the opportunity to chat with Lena and the General manager.
I would like to thank the hotel for surprising our daughter with a wonderful birthday cake in our room as it was her 21st whilst away, it really helped make her day extra special.
We received a 10 euro a day credit each which despite having lunch a couple of days and drinks and cocktails every night, were unable to use up!
For local restaurants we went to the Forte for daughters 21st and had a fabulous evening, (reserved a table prior to travelling via Best tables) we also enjoyed O'Tapassol upstairs on the balcony, Cidade Velha overlooking the sea (reserved a table for that a few hours before) and a really great meal at Gaviao Novo tucked away on the street of painted doors. We ate fabulously every night, never had a bad meal or single complaint.
On two days we arranged a driver via the hotel reception and had two glorious days travelling around the island with our own private (very good English speaking) chauffeur in very comfortable taxis. They can arrange set packages for days out but our driver was very flexible and helped us "chase the sun" on a cloudy day!
An excellent holiday and we look forward to returning when the works on the front are completed.

Room Tip: A high floor to avoid trees spoiling the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for reviewing our hotel, it was a pleasure having you with us and thank you for choosing us for the celebration of a birthday. We are glad that you enjoyed the Prestige Cocktail and hope to have the pleasure of your next visit soon.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    623
    184
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
53
643
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Porto Bay hotel for a week in June, a fabulous hotel, all members of staff were very helpful and friendly!!!! Especially Lena, who plays a really big part at the hotel, a real asset, and Carla on reception who was also very helpful and friendly. There are some very good restaurants close to the hotel, we loved A Muralha, very good food, and Forte which was excellent. However the restaurant in the hotel is very good too, BBQ on Saturday, meat carvery on Tuesday and gourmet evening on Thursday were all outstanding meals. Breakfast had everything you could wish for. All in all a hotel I would recommend to anybody, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for you for sharing your experience at our hotel! we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with and look forward for your next visit! I will pass your review to Lina, Carla as well as all the kitchen team since I am sure they too will feel very happy reading it.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

As all the other reviews cover the basics and I agree with all the good ones, I thought I'd add some pictures of the gourmet night meal which I enjoyed very much, and some of the painted doors in the nearby streets that the hotel group sponsors.

Room Tip: We looked onto the area where the locals played cards and enjoyed the local scene, however it can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review of Porto Santa Maria, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay as well as shared it through photographs with the Tripadvisor readers. We hope that you visit us soon.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Once again we had lovely holiday at The Poto Santa Maria Hotel came home 24 th June , massive work going on in front of the hotel ,I'm sure it will be great when finished , must mention the Manager and his wonderful staff every one makes you feel so important ,also our Lina {Lena} what energy and what awonderful work ethic full marks also to Miguel the gardener what a difference he has made to the surrounding gardens , can,t wait to back again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for you review and your kind complements, It makes us all very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay as that is the reason we all come to work every day! I am sure that Lina and Miguel will also enjoy this review. We hope to see you soon

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Once again a fantastic stay at the Porto Santa Maria Hotel. The staff cannot do enough for you and are extremely welcoming and friendly whilst being truly professional which creates a lovely atmosphere throughout the hotel. Lina the Guest Relations manager welcomes everyone with open arms and hugs. The food is excellent and the " Gourmet Evening " is not to be missed. Rooms are well appointed and clean. The hotel is in a fantastic location in the old town overlooking the sea. There is some construction work taking place outside the hotel of which we were fully informed beforehand but it in no way interrupted our holiday in fact we hardly noticed it. This was not my first visit and it certainly wont be my last !

Room Tip: Garden rooms can be a little noisy but I have stayed in them by request as they feel cosmopolitan in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for the time spent reviewing our hotel at Tripadvisor. We are glad that you had another nice stay with us and will be expecting your next visit hopefully soon. I will pass this review to our kitchen team as I know that they will be happy to know that you enjoyed their creations on our Thursday Gourmet dinner.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week at the Porto Santa Maria Hotel in Funchal. It is a wonderful hotel right on the prom facing the harbour. Okay at the moment there are works going on on the Prom however, we sat by our pool every day and we were not annoyed or even noticed any noise. The view was not spoiled either by the work you look out beyond that out to sea it was lovely.

The hotel itself was fantastic a genuine 4 star hotel. Our room was very spacious with very comfortable beds, plenty of storage space and the bathroom was large and spacious as well. The little kitchen containing a sink, hob and fridge with kettle was great as I like my morning and evening cuppa on the balcony. Can I say it is worth the little cost for an upgrade to be guaranteed a full sea view.

The breakfast was wonderful and as in all good 4 star hotels every need of the guest is catered for taste wise I defy anyone to say they could not find something they liked to eat. Only comment I would say is the Alpro Soya milk was not on display and we had to ask for it every morning. The hotel also offered little jugs of fresh milk in the morning if you wished to take one (free) to your room . Tea and coffee is not supplied as part of the room facilities however we always take our own but getting that little jug of fresh milk daily is a nice touch.

The hotel Pool Bar has great food on offer and it is displayed as if you were in a fancy restaurant and not a Poolside bar. We enjoyed all the lunches we had there and it was not expensive at all.

We like to eat in local restaurants so were only B & B however on the Saturday night the hotel had a BBQ instead of the normal evening buffet meals so we decided to book in for that. It was a GREAT night the staff were wonderful making it all extra enjoyable for the guests. The food was fantastic with lamb, port kebabs, steak, chicken and all the fancy starters and salads, sweets and ice creams and with the chefs on show cooking it was a good night. The little band they had played great music just our style all the music from the late l950s to the early 1970s with any other popular music by request. All the guests and staff were dancing - it was one of those good nights you remember for ages. The next morning at breakfast everyone was chatting about the BBQ with guests telling the staff how good it was and it they were not there they should go next week. At 10.30 p.m. after the BBQ we were all taken up to the roof of the hotel to see the fireworks over the harbour there was free champagne and canapes courtesy of the hotel it was a lovely end to a great evening. We would have been able to have the same view from our balcony but not the same atmosphere with the company of the other guests and staff.

The maid attending to us - we were in room 124 - was really nice and cheery, very helpful and really really nice she was just great fun and her English was good. She is the best maid we have had and we have stayed in some really good 4 and 5 star hotels all around the world.

All in all we had a great holiday and I would recommend the Porto Santa Maria to anyone for a holiday.

Well done to all the staff you were great.

There are many restaurants close by the best being the Fort see my review of restaurants

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review it makes us very happy and proud to read it! We are glad that your stay here was an enjoyable one and that you enjoyed our barbecue evening. We hope that you visit us soon.

Best regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was our fifth stay at this wonderful hotel in wonderful Madeira, it's also in a great location, the staff are nice, friendly and helpful, it's such a relaxing place to stay, its hard to find the right words to say to do this hotel justice but as someone else it has said the ambience, there is a lot of work going on along the prom and around the town centre but that shouldn't put you off, we can't wait to go back next year, last year we had a break and went to lake garda and it is not a patch on this wonderful Island and hotel all the time we were there we wished we were back at the Porto Santa Maria

Room Tip: Front garden view rooms are nice and also front sea view rooms are lovely as you can watch the cruis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience at the Porto Santa Maria, we hope that your 6th visit will not take long as we wish you back soon.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Address: Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#26 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.