We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, beautiful island.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% discount
Ranked #11 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, beautiful island.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The best hotel we have ever stayed in, service, ambience and food all excellent. God willing we will return next year. We even found the work on the sea front interesting rather than annoying and the 10 euros compensation per day certainly helped with the food and the bar bill. Great holiday, we will return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    231
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
61
817
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Do not stay at this hotel stay at Cliff Bay but went in on several occasions.Staff friendly in a good location in the old town near cable car a lot of building work going on sea front but when i was in did not seem to cause too much trouble.Nice to pop in for a coffee or snack facilities seem good cant speak for rooms but on al accounts seem fine.On one of my visits meet Lena who looks after guest affairs very nice and helpful. This hotel is i would say my second favourite after The Cliff Bay and a credit to the Porto Bay Chain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Yes, the reviews about this hotel are right. I cannot find serious fault - perhaps the reception staff could be more customer-friendly (it is the hospitality industry after all) otherwise excellent. Evening entertainment was ok, with one singer, Cristina Barbosa, very memorable for a very professional performance.
Government building work along the promenade, including right outside the hotel, will carry on until October 2014. It wasn't too noisy but the hotel credited accounts with €20 per person per night. Considering this is not their fault, it is a most fair gesture. But the work prevents a promenade walk and you have to walk around corrugated fences and temporary bridges - pity really.
The weather was poor ( or was our expectation of sunny days in the second week of June, unrealistic) We had one sunny day in 7 days, and on departure day, rain and cloud closed the airport which clearly cannot handle the numbers caused by this eventuality.
Very surprised that the shops didn't stay open in evenings - bearing in mind their economic situation and arrival of cruise ships.
We had a very chilled-out holiday but found it best suited to serious walkers who absolutely love it and defend it vigorously. If you're not a walker, don't bother. If you are, stay at Santa Maria. It's very good but doesn't compensate for the downsides of the island.

Room Tip: Normally I'd say get a sea view but the current building the sea defences means you should do th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Despite the seafront position, the hotel is very much in an urban setting. It has the feel and fittings of a business hotel - think Holiday Inn - and although comfortable, it just lacks that wow factor. The outside pool area is fairly cramped, uninspiring and not somewhere you would want to spend a two-week holiday. This hotel would be the ideal base for a short break of 3-4 nights to explore Funchal and have an occasional dip in the spa pool. Hotel seems very popular with retired guests - lots of repeat visitors so clearly it depends what you want from your stay. To be fair, I think we chose a good hotel that just wasn't to our taste. The food here is very good indeed, really good buffets. The hotel do a 2 and 3 night restaurant package at a discount for residents if you did not book half board. The roof terrace is a great feature, especially after dark, but does not have a bar - you need to call down to the main bar for drinks, which rather spoils the idea. If you would prefer a relaxing resort hotel that is a bit more lively / interesting on site, then choose the others offered by this chain - Porto Mare or Cliff Bay. Both are excellent and there is a regular free shuttle to both of them. They also seem to get better weather - if it is cloudy over the main town, try heading west.

Room Tip: Avoid west side rooms overlooking the street / park / square unless you enjoy watching noisy card pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

What more can I say that hasn't already been said.....

Fabulous hotel, great location, wonderful staff, only went B & B but breakfast did not disappoint, although,we used some of our allowance for the BBQ on Saturday night, which was very good, too much food to eat!!

The "noise" didn't bother us at all, yes for a few minutes at a time is could be loud but it didn't last, although we didn't spend many full days in the hotel, but on the days we did, the noise wasn't all that bad, I suppose you could argue that the cranes etc weren't all that pretty, but there is plenty of sea to look at. My advise would be just go and enjoy your holiday and don't focus on the negative comments, everyone's perception of "noise" is different.

I have rated this hotel as exellent, which it was for us, the only criticism I can find, and again this is purely a personal thing, is that I wish they had WiFi thoughout the hotel and not just the reception and bar area, as that would have been a bonus for me.

Room Tip: worth paying the extra for sea view, although ours was technically described as "side sea View...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The location of this hotel is superb. Right on the streets of the old town, with the cable car, buses and taxis so close by. Lovely cafes and restaurants so close too.

When we arrived, our room was not ready so we were given a free lunch with drinks, including wine.

The staff here are marvellous, especially Lina who is front of house in the restaurant. She was always there to show us to a table. She is a real asset to the hotel and really seems to care about the visitors. The food was very good, especially the Gourmet taster evening. We had 140 Euros to spend because oif the building work, so used it on food and drink in the hotel. Fab.

I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel and will certainly be returning, probably when the building work is finished.

Room Tip: Sea views will be worth having when the building is finished. Even now, it's interesting to wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely weeks stay in this fabulous hotel. It was our "official" honeymoon as when we got married last year we just went to where we were already planning to go. We picked this hotel because it sounded ideal, great location in the Old Town of Funchal and close to the harbour with lovely sea views. We told by Jet2 about the building works right from the start but we decided it wouldnt bother us. Then at a later date we were informed that the hotel was compensating us with 10 euros each per day which was a nice surprise. I can imagine that the noise of the building works would be a bit off putting if you wanted to stay by the pool all day but as we didnt it didnt really affect us. We were told that we could get the hotel courtesy bus to their sister hotels Porto Mare or Cliff Bay if we wanted so I cant really see why anyone would have cause to complain. The hotel itself is lovely, very tastefully decorated and inviting. The rooms too are very tasteful, roomy and pleasant with lovely comfy beds. The hotel staff are charming and very helpful and efficient, with a special mention to the restaurant manageress, Lina. This lovely lady is a wonderful asset to the hotel, She is friendly and helpful and appeared to spend a little time with nearly everyone every day, enquiring about your day and making sure everything was just perfect for you. We stayed bed and breakfast and didnt have an evening meal in the hotel so I cant comment on that but the breakfast..... well what can I say! The breakfasts are fantastic, there is nothing you could think of that wasnt on it, hot, cold, cooked breakfast, meat, fruit, bread, cake - even champagne. Never had such a great choice, a credit to the chef and the hotel. We hope to return to Funchal in the not too distant future and will definitely be staying at The Porto Santa Maria Hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Address: Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#25 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.