We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Save Saved
You added Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 91 hotels in Funchal
west midlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

A very good hotel at the end of Old Town . It does not look that large as it is well designed to look lke a number of smaller buildings. It may not be that new but it its well maintained and keeped very clean. It also has a policy of no children so is fairly quiet. As for the sea wall project and noise , they start at 8 and normally finish at 6, so it is likely one would be out most of the day. Would I go back "Yes" I 'd rather be close to the town than stuck out west with blocks of massive new hotels.

Room Tip: Try for a Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    620
    184
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
52
633
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just arrived home after a wonderful weeks holiday at this very comfortable hotel. We were booked bed and breakfast, and the choices at the buffet breakfast was amazing. The staff were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful. We ate dinner in the hotel twice for 27 euros each, and ate out at a different local restaurants for about 20 euros. Our room overlooking the sea was very comfortable. Just a shame about the work going on reconstructing the waterfront. It didn't bother us too much, and we were compensated by the hotel with a credit of 10 euros a day each. We enjoyed watching the cruise liners coming and going - and what a treat to see the Queen Elizabeth! We took great pleasure in exploring old Funchal. Ancient doors had been painted with pictures to brighten them up, and I took many photos of them. We took a trip on the cable car up to Monte - you must visit the tropical garden at Monte Palace!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great spot if you haven't been to funchal before, its in the old town, so no need for taxis. Lovely cobbled streets, lovely people, lovely restaurants and quirky shops, reminds me of Sicily. BUT the work on the seawall is still going on and will be for two years apparently, we had a sea view and you could hear the work from 7.30am - 7pm, I will try and upload some photos... if any one says they can't hear the work going on , I'm sorry but they must have a hearing problem.. The hotel staff are brilliant, the food is really good and it's very clean. I personally wouldn't stay here again, as I am to young for this hotel. We arrived the day after a bad storm in March, the weather wasn't great for three to four days,( I know that isn't anyone's fault) but not much to do, some trips were cancelled because of a landslide, no boat trips and cable car was closed. The last couple of days we crammed everything in, trips, cable car etc., but still no boat trip.. The marina has been demolished and are building a new one, there were cranes everywhere, they are digging up the water gardens as well, there is corrugated iron walls along a great deal of the seawall sadly,. we were meant to go on this holiday October 2012 but we received an email from Thomsons explaining about the work being carried out, so we asked will it be ok to go in March 2013, no problem they replied!!! I have been in touch with Thomsons telling them that the work is still on going!! I would and will go back to Funchal BUT NOT for 3-5 years when the work is completed at a different hotel and it would be the month of May when it's warmer and the flowers are in bloom! Sadly we thought it was a waste of £1,500....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This must be our seventh time here , nothing changes it only gets better, staff and housekeeping are all exceptional this in our opinion is the best in Funchal and we have tried many during the years we have been coming to the island , the work being done to the new beach area can be a bit of a nuisance but well compensated for this at 10 euros a day each to spend anywhere at the hotel , there are lots of restaurants to try within walking distance all are exceptional our favourite one is just outside the hotel estade do mar again staff brilliant, I am writing this in the reception of the hotel and have just spoken to victor who always makes us laugh , after this I will be on to thomson web site to book again for next year but this time longer than one week

Room Tip: Must have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

After reading so many positive reviews regarding the Porto Santa Maria my wife and i decided to return to Madeira after a 3 years break,stayed 1st to 8th April .We were not disappointed,the hotel is in a great location next to the many bars and restaurants and like many other places some good some not so good.
Due to the ongoing works outside which can be noisy at times each guest gets a 10 euro a day voucher this comes by the way of a credit on any outstanding bill on your room at the end of the holiday.
We used the credit to eat twice in the hotel for diner at night,you can eat A La Carte or from the themed buffet menu which changes nightly and for 27 euro per person may seem a bit expensive but great value for money and superb quality.
Hotel puts on entertainment every night not to our taste but a special mention to electric guitar acoustic group Sangre Latino who were fantastic.
The hotel obviously wins hands down on customer satisfaction as the staff could not do enough to make the holiday any more enjoyable and due to this guests return time after time.
This seems to be an adults only hotel but they don't seem to promote it as such,most guests are elderly but this is probably due to the fact that the hotel is in a good flat location for getting around Funchal as it seems to be the only hotel in that location all others are over at the Lido where all the new hotels are being built and is in an uphill location.
We had a sea room view with a balcony and rooms were of a good size with kitchen facilities which a great plus in hotel accommodation.
Special mention to the wonderful Joseph and Maria who run the Bar Ideal across from the hotel who serve great snacks and chat,and if you want an accurate weather prediction for the days ahead Joseph is the man to speak to uncanny,even our Thomson rep Sharon who we met one morning in the bar having coffee even commented on Josephs accurate weather predictions.

Room Tip: Sea view a must to watch the cruise ships in and out of the harbour and enjoy the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

After lots of reviewing on TripAdvisor we finally decided on the Porto Santa Maria. The hotel location is great at the heart of the old town. Plenty of restuarants close by so we were spoilt for choice. Good breakfast and it was lovely to eat out on the sunny terrace.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you were happy with the choice of Porto Santa Maria and hope that you visit us again soon.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great location within a few minutes walk of the cable car station to Monte, the old town restuarants and the centre of Funchal. Santa Maria is a very presentable hotel with very good service. The food in the restuarant was excellent.

If you are seeking a hotel away from the main hotel area of Funchal (most hotels are a mile or so out of the town centre) then Porto Bay Santa Maria should be on your short list.

If we go back to Madeira we would definitely stay at the Santa Maria.

NB: at present the Madeiran government is working on flood defences and there are diggers and cranes working from 8am to early evening close to the hotel. While this may annoy some people who just want to laze on sunbeds, if you are out and about during the day then the work is not too much of an issue. The hotel is giving guests a daily credit towards spend in its restaurant and bar as compensation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review on our hotel and will pass it to our kitchen team as I am sure they too will be glad to read that you enjoyed their food. We hope that you choose Madeira and Porto Santa Maria for a future visit.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Address: Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#27 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.