We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Save Saved
You added Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% discount
Ranked #11 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Guisborough, North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We booked a week at this hotel at the last minute and were not disappointed. The rooms were good and well appointed, the restaurant very good value and quality, bar and lounge comforatble, swimming pools and spa very enjoyable.
Located at the edge of the old town it was ideal for walking into Funchal and was also very close to the local bus routes and a miriad of alternative restaurants to eat at.
Having stayed here I wouldn't entertain I don't think I would stay anywhere else in Funchal as all other hotels appeared to be a good walk from tye centre and up a hill!

Room Tip: All rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review on Tripadvisor we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you choose us again on your next visit to Funchal.

Best Regards

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    579
    176
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
52
592
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have been to this hotel several times, and love it! The hotel is fabulous, and so are the staff. The location is perfect - "everything" is close by.
We find it intereseting to follow the work on the beach, to sea how the waterfront changes, and also the changes in the senter. For sure we miss the possibility to walk the promenade, but look forward to see the result next time!
We hear the workers when they are in action, but it is not possible to do that kind of work noiceless!, and it is not annoing. Anyway the hotel offers their guests shuttlebus to go to Vila Mare during the working hours.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Porto Santa Maria for another holiday, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and can tell you that we too are curious to see the final result of the new beach to be in front of Porto Santa Maria.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel is in a wonderful location in the Old Town, we loved it ! So easy to walk out for a meal in the evenings, a great choice of restuarants, in fact we rather wished we had not signed up for 3 meals in the hotel as they tended to be rather similar,just 'buffet' style.The only one we liked was the 'gourmet' night and was not a buffet, highly recommended.
Staff were very nice apart from at reception where a smile never creased their faces. We were lucky on arrival to get the young man who could not have been kinder.The two youngest women were the worst, the one with the shorter hair argued to the point of rudeness when we enquired about the courtesy bus.We were not aware that smoking was allowed on the terrace and don't like breathing in smoke while we are eating.A designated smoking area would be good.There is an atmosphere of warmth from the staff to returning visitors and that is only right and important for the hotel but it can make non returners feel a bit left out.The excellent 'pr' lady who is so warm and inclusive makes up for a lot ! All in all we had an enjoyable visit but were charged 126 euros too much. There was no explanation but we had it refunded.

Room Tip: choose a higher floor we asked for a quiet room but there were insomniacs in the room above all week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your holiday at the Porto Santa Maria hotel, we are sorry for any mistake in your bill, unfortunately even with the most attention on our side mistakes may happen, but we are glad that it was quickly solved.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We popped in to look at the hotel last year when we were staying elsewhere in Funchal, and loved the luxury feel and the location. We did not want to stay up at the Lido area and the other city centre hotels are up slopes or steep hills. It is within metres of all the Old Town restaurants and only 100 metres from the cable car station. The centre of Funchal is a 10 minutes flat walk.

We had a junior suite on the 3rd floor and loved it. Very clean, comfortable, spacious and we had two balconies (other rooms may vary). It was also on the same level as the newish roof terrace where we sunbathed and read. The site grounds are fairly small, but uncrowded and there was no shortage of loungers despite the hotel appearing full. Staff were excellent in the main, especially the famous Lina, super PR girl who made everyone feel wecome and special. On our first breakfast we noticed her hugging and kissing many guests and we thought they were long time friends and frequent visitors. No, within two days, we were also being hugged and kissed and she made us feel so welcome. Great lady.
We did find some female reception staff a little unwilling to advise on day to day tourism questions, as other guests also commented. We ate very good breakfasts in the Arsenal restaurant, but only had one buffet evening meal, which seemed a bit lacking in atmosphere compared to the many restaurants only just outside.

And now the BUT. We booked through a hotel booking site, but did not see any notice of the absolutely massive reconstruction works now underway all along the seafront of Funchal. After booking, I looked at the PortoBay Hotels website and on the Santa Maria page they did refer to the works. They did provide a 10 euro per person credit, usable in their restaurants, spa, bar and boutique. We happily used all 280 euros worth in our two weeks, including some meals at the PortoBay resort, that they allow you to use due to the construction. We often took the free PortoBay bus up to that resort and relaxed in peace.

While we were there, there were up to 4 big diggers, a crane and constant tipper trucks working right outside the hotel. It did become very wearing, especially as they worked from 8am up till 6.45 pm while we were there, with only Sundays off.

So, while the hotel is totally unable to control the noise of the works, it has tried to compensate financially, and offer alternative daytime places to go, we will not return until the noise and disruption to the seafront is completed. When it is, we will definitely return, and several times.

Room Tip: 3rd floor junior suite if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank your for your review I will pass it to Lina as she will definitely be happy to read it. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are happy to know that you will return hopefully soon. We have taken note of the comments where we can improve and will try to do so.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a fabulous hotel that rewards repeat clients it's got a great location right on the sea front. You can see all the cruise liners dock. Adults only is a great thing if that is what you are looking for. They did pre advise us about the work on the beach, but to be honest, unless you are a sun worshiper you are out for most of the day as there is so much to do in Madeira. The 10 euro credit per person paid for some spa treatment that we would not usually have, so all in all this was a good deal. The bar has different entertainment each night. Some good and some not, but that is all down to taste.
We did not eat in the restaurant because there are so many local restaurants to choose from. A buffet Breakfast is included and that was good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience with other guests, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Porto Santa Maria and hope that on your next visit you will try our Arsenal Restaurant.

Best Regards,


André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a cracking hotel everything about it is great.
Whilst stating there my wife went ill with a serious heart problem resulting in her being admitted to Madeira Hospital. As I could not leave Madeira at the end of the holiday the hotel said stay as long as you like. Throughout this trying period the hotel staff were very kind to me, checking what they could do to help etc. I had plenty of grief from the insurer’s agent in France but the hotel staff was always there to help. When it goes wrong this hotel gets 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: Sea view are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry that your holidays in Madeira were marked by the illness of your wife and hope that she has recovered completely. We hope to have you back to enjoy a proper holiday in Madeira.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

No kids in this hotel. We had a very peaceful stay. Actually we would not mind a few kids aroind, but if you like a quiet hotell with a very good locations in Funchal, this is the place for you. The rooms were clean and pleasant. Polite and friendly staff. I could return to this hotel!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will visit us again soon.

Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Hotel Porto Santa Maria
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal
Address: Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#25 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.