We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - very central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Worthing UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - very central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with very helpful staff. We stayed here for 2 weeks in November 2011. The location is perfect for the centre of the old town (3 mins away) and there are a huge choice of restaurants, again within a few minutes walk. The pools are fine. We swam in the outdoor pool most days but it was pretty cold most of the time. The heated indoor pool was just perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review on our hotel, we hope that you choose Porto Santa Maria Hotel again for your next visit to Madeira.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    201
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
57
726
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A Sunny Island
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My mother and I. Stayed here for 6 nights in February 2013. Room 112 not too far from the lift as requested. Twin bedded room with very comfortable beds (often on the island the hotels beds are quite firm, melia mar beds good too). Flat screen tv picture quality good, lots of channels. There is a table and 2 chairs and another chair with a desk area. Lighting good. There is a small kichenette sink, full Size fridge, 2 ring hob, cutlery, plates, glasses,etc. no microwave. however we did not use as on the first day i went to make a hot drink and when i turned the tap on ti fill the kettle there were Ants in it, they had come i presume from the water. i did report this to reception who said ants were a problem there. Bathroom good size plenty of hot water. I did notice however sometimes in the morning the water pressure wasn't brilliant from the shower probably due to amount of people using at same time. The bath was short as in a lot of hotels.the sea view rooms are with a supplement, we booked direct with hotel and paid €130 a night bed and breakfast for 2' the garden view rooms can overlook the public park which can be noisy. Also I noticed those rooms are faith smaller balconies. They do offer garden rooms with a view over their garden.garden rooms were €23 a night less. If you are having a sea view room I would suggest top floor the third for better views

Food. Breakfast great lots of choice other people's reviews cover this.
Dinner ate 2 nights buffet €25.50 per person per meal. Fab range of salads. Mains ok but on one evening fish was very dry there are sauces for some of the fish and meats. Deserts a great choice and cheese too. House wine was fine had glass each.

Service. The main greeter Lina was full of energy, worked for hotel for 20 years, covers all hotels in the group. Tea and coffee served in pots to your table always piping hot. Some staff very seriously looking and rarely smiling, a smile goes a long way. Efficiency of clearing use plates from tables very good.

Captains bar. Food good value. Omelette with salad and chips €9 for cheese and ham. I don't eat meat and asked for cheese and onion no problem. You see the menu but would like a different filling just ask. Toasted sandwich comes with wedges and coleslaw €4.90- salads around 10€. If you drink water buy a large bottle rather then 2 small bottles as the price works out better and more water. Large bottle = 4 small bottles. After one had eaten the plates were still left by us on more then one occasion for a long time afterwards. I also had problems getting the bill, one day I asked 5 times both in English and Portuguese and after a long wait it came. Some bar staff not efficient again one here who never smiles. Lina guest relations same lady breakfast greeter came to see us one day whilst eating there and she noted the comments, amazing next day service better.

Hotel adult only which is nice. The group has hotels that are family orientated in the lido area.

The outdoor pool is quite small plenty sun loungers. Bar in area serving light meals, ice cream and drinks. Indoor pool warm but only 1.10 m found it hard to swim in. Jacuzzi nice. Sauna didn't use takes 90 mins to heat up.

Works on promenade a little noisy at times. Hotel allocates € 10 pppn off the cost of food, treatments, drinks do charge items to your room otherwise you don't get the discount. You can not use for tips.

Hotel easy walking distance to cable car, town lots of restaurants nearby, the market,etc. I have lived in Funchal if you need help with anything regarding you holiday please message me happy to advise where I can

There is a terrace on third floor seating areas with lovely views over Funchal the fort and sea

I already done review on regency palace, in march there will be a review on the melia mar, also the royal garden hotel ponta Delgada Azores

Travelled with mother marked as friends category

Room Tip: Third floor best sea views or from the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time reviewing Porto Santa Maria Hotel. We have taken note of the remarks in your review where we can do better and we promise that we will, as always, try to improve them.
We hope to have you at the Porto Santa Maria Hotel again.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have just returned from a 1-week break in Funchal, our third stay in Madeira. We chose the hotel primarily for its convenient location, although we had seen it before when on a coach dropping off other passengers and it looked nice. Before booking with Thompson we checked out the feedback on Tripadvisor. We decided to book, in spite of the ongoing building work right outside the hotel. It turned out to be absolutely no problem and we enjoyed a great stay. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the room spacious and well appointed. The bed (& linen) was fantastically comfortable. It's a very well run hotel, the staff are top notch, very efficient and friendly and we will definitely be considering staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view, and an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We hope that this first visit to Porto Santa Maria is just that, the first of many to come. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and in name of all the team thank you for your review.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this hotel, staying half board in a junior suite with a sea view. The room was first rate, very spacious and clean. There is a handy kitchen area for preparing snacks with a fridge, kettle , crockery and cutlery.
The food in the restaurant is a grade up from say an H10 in Lanzarote. Service by an large is exceptional with very friendly helpful staff.
The position of the hotel is ideal. It is right in the old town next to the cable car. There are loads of places to eat and drink nearby. A great bakers just on the doorstep. If your a young person looking for a night life this is probably not the place for you. I'm 61 and I would think well below the median age! I would recommend the free wine tasting put on by the hotel. I learned a lot with a very good presenter and some good wines.
I think some of the reviews play down the disruption by the works going on. If you wanted to sit by the pool for long periods or go on the sunbeds it would be a problem. If you don't then the 10 Euros a day per person is good compensation, although for some reason a few people get upset it doesn't include tips!
If you are sometimes a bit boring, like me, it's worth noting tv has BBC 1 and ITV. Very good when you're tired after a bit of hill walking.
Funchal is very interesting. Locals and tourists really mingle and tourists are welcomed everywhere.
One small gripe our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 2.30, although lunch was provided for free while we waited. If you want a safe asked for the key when you check in. I noticed quite a few people at reception saying their safe wasn't working. I'm still not sure why this is not standard check in info.
All in all this hotel was really very good. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Tripadvisor, I will pass it to Paulo Sousa our sommelier that does our free wine tasting as I am sure he will be happy to know that you enjoyed it. I am sorry that your room was not ready at 14h Check in time we do our best to have all rooms ready by that hour. We hope that you visit us again soon.

Best regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

A 4 star rated hotel with 5 star quality. Can't rate this hotel highly enough - we have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the last 6/7 years and have always found all the staff - reception, restaurant, bar, housekeeping, pool, maintenance, gardening, etc - to be extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. They always greet you with a smile and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is not in the Lido tourist area but is in Funchal itself close to the cable car, bus terminals, market, numerous restaurants and 10 mins walk from the marina. It is just off the promenade walk which is flat so there are no hills like at the Lido etc just small, gentle slopes enabling you to easily get out and about into town. Despite there being 'works' ongoing in front of the hotel the noise etc was not disruptive, in fact it was quite entertaining watching what was happening and the progress being made. It is also in a great location to see the cruise liners arriving/leaving although it sometimes feels like they are going to join you in the hotel they are that close! We have now been for all the major events - Xmas & New Year, Flower Festival and Carnival - and we'll be back again in October. The hotel does have a downside - the side rooms overlooking the park and cable car station do not have a view and are dark due to large, high trees and the park area can be noisy in the late evening/night.

Room Tip: Front facing sea views are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

it is always a pleasure for all the Porto Santa Maria Team to read reviews like yours, it makes us very happy to know that our repeat guests still enjoy our hotel. We will be waiting for your next visit in sunny October.

Best regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Excellent attentive staff. Would suggest paying extra for a sea view room as the garden view is really park view and rather noisy, especially from the bottle bank. The local restaurants throw away their empties every night at closing time. A la carte menu very good. Buffet not so good but breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review on Porto Santa Maria Hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that on your next visit you will try out our Gourmet dinner menu also. See you soon.

Best regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everett, wa, usa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from Feb 8 thru 15 2013. The hotel was excellent, the room was always clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They are all bi-lingual and eager to please and are genuinely concerned for your well being. We were a little disappointed at the construction going on on the seafront promenade but we'll survive. The breakfast buffet was fabulous with over 150 items to choose from including champagne. Lena, the greeter and director for seating was the highlight of our every morning with her warm greeting and outgoing personality. The hotel is Adults only. What a treat, no yelling screaming kids. What a treat but then I repeat myself. We are Americans and we were an oddity due to the very small demographic of Americans who visit Madeira. The no. 1 tourist group is Brits so as soon as we spoke they asked where we were from. We had fascinating conversations with them and enjoyed them very much. The heated indoor pool and jacuzzi were a great way to relax after a full day of walking about and the Hotel is situated in the heart of old town, the most colorful and intriguing part of Funchal. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary and my 70th birthday and the bar had live music every night for dancing which we took full advantage of. We look forward to our next visit and we'll for sure stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: assk for an ocean view room facing south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your review of our hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that Madeira's good name is shared in the US. We hope to have your visit again soon.

Best regards,


André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Address: Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#26 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.