We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel in a great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Save Saved
You added Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel in a great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this hotel, staying half board in a junior suite with a sea view. The room was first rate, very spacious and clean. There is a handy kitchen area for preparing snacks with a fridge, kettle , crockery and cutlery.
The food in the restaurant is a grade up from say an H10 in Lanzarote. Service by an large is exceptional with very friendly helpful staff.
The position of the hotel is ideal. It is right in the old town next to the cable car. There are loads of places to eat and drink nearby. A great bakers just on the doorstep. If your a young person looking for a night life this is probably not the place for you. I'm 61 and I would think well below the median age! I would recommend the free wine tasting put on by the hotel. I learned a lot with a very good presenter and some good wines.
I think some of the reviews play down the disruption by the works going on. If you wanted to sit by the pool for long periods or go on the sunbeds it would be a problem. If you don't then the 10 Euros a day per person is good compensation, although for some reason a few people get upset it doesn't include tips!
If you are sometimes a bit boring, like me, it's worth noting tv has BBC 1 and ITV. Very good when you're tired after a bit of hill walking.
Funchal is very interesting. Locals and tourists really mingle and tourists are welcomed everywhere.
One small gripe our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 2.30, although lunch was provided for free while we waited. If you want a safe asked for the key when you check in. I noticed quite a few people at reception saying their safe wasn't working. I'm still not sure why this is not standard check in info.
All in all this hotel was really very good. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Tripadvisor, I will pass it to Paulo Sousa our sommelier that does our free wine tasting as I am sure he will be happy to know that you enjoyed it. I am sorry that your room was not ready at 14h Check in time we do our best to have all rooms ready by that hour. We hope that you visit us again soon.

Best regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    194
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
56
685
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

A 4 star rated hotel with 5 star quality. Can't rate this hotel highly enough - we have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the last 6/7 years and have always found all the staff - reception, restaurant, bar, housekeeping, pool, maintenance, gardening, etc - to be extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. They always greet you with a smile and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is not in the Lido tourist area but is in Funchal itself close to the cable car, bus terminals, market, numerous restaurants and 10 mins walk from the marina. It is just off the promenade walk which is flat so there are no hills like at the Lido etc just small, gentle slopes enabling you to easily get out and about into town. Despite there being 'works' ongoing in front of the hotel the noise etc was not disruptive, in fact it was quite entertaining watching what was happening and the progress being made. It is also in a great location to see the cruise liners arriving/leaving although it sometimes feels like they are going to join you in the hotel they are that close! We have now been for all the major events - Xmas & New Year, Flower Festival and Carnival - and we'll be back again in October. The hotel does have a downside - the side rooms overlooking the park and cable car station do not have a view and are dark due to large, high trees and the park area can be noisy in the late evening/night.

Room Tip: Front facing sea views are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

it is always a pleasure for all the Porto Santa Maria Team to read reviews like yours, it makes us very happy to know that our repeat guests still enjoy our hotel. We will be waiting for your next visit in sunny October.

Best regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Excellent attentive staff. Would suggest paying extra for a sea view room as the garden view is really park view and rather noisy, especially from the bottle bank. The local restaurants throw away their empties every night at closing time. A la carte menu very good. Buffet not so good but breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review on Porto Santa Maria Hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that on your next visit you will try out our Gourmet dinner menu also. See you soon.

Best regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everett, wa, usa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from Feb 8 thru 15 2013. The hotel was excellent, the room was always clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They are all bi-lingual and eager to please and are genuinely concerned for your well being. We were a little disappointed at the construction going on on the seafront promenade but we'll survive. The breakfast buffet was fabulous with over 150 items to choose from including champagne. Lena, the greeter and director for seating was the highlight of our every morning with her warm greeting and outgoing personality. The hotel is Adults only. What a treat, no yelling screaming kids. What a treat but then I repeat myself. We are Americans and we were an oddity due to the very small demographic of Americans who visit Madeira. The no. 1 tourist group is Brits so as soon as we spoke they asked where we were from. We had fascinating conversations with them and enjoyed them very much. The heated indoor pool and jacuzzi were a great way to relax after a full day of walking about and the Hotel is situated in the heart of old town, the most colorful and intriguing part of Funchal. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary and my 70th birthday and the bar had live music every night for dancing which we took full advantage of. We look forward to our next visit and we'll for sure stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: assk for an ocean view room facing south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your review of our hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that Madeira's good name is shared in the US. We hope to have your visit again soon.

Best regards,


André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Me and my brother had the same week off so decided to book this hotel due to catching the last of the carnaval. When arriving at the hotel we were greeted with a great reception staff who advised about the disruption fee and gave us our keys and we were on our way. We were in a side room overlooking the park so at 11pm and 6.30am you get the local restaurants recycling their bottles in the bins below but other than that if you lean over the balcony you have a great view of Monte. The hotel itself was nice and well presented and the staff were nothing but excellent. Its a shame due to myself being 28 and my brother being 24 the looks we got most nights around the hotel by guests. This hotel is in a good location at the front near the old town beside the cable car and next to the bus station so you pretty much have full access to the whole of Madeira right on your doorstep. The hotel also has a jacuzzi and heated indoor pool and also a nice little gym, and a sauna (at a charge of €4 an hour). We also had breakfast at this hotel and the buffet style choice of food was excellent. Overall this is a nice hotel with a central location and excellent staff although I'll leave it another 30 years before I return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear guest,

thank your for your review on our hotel and hope that you enjoyed the carnival festivities in Madeira. We hope that you do visit us again before thirty years have passed.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

On arrival a well presented hotel, however room allocated was side of hotel overlooking public park and as this was carnival week became a disaster, drums beating all night and noise and smell very bad, after first night we decided to request a move, the hotel staff were more than helpful and immediately got us transferred to a sister hotel(very much quieter and obviously an upgrade) Be warned do not accept side view rooms overlooking public park with a balcony which has no view due to large tree immediately outside making it impossible to sit out on.

Room Tip: As above opt for front sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy the room that you had booked due to the Carnival festivities in the island, unfortunately it is something that is not under our control at the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your holidays in another hotel of the Porto Bay Group.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, sUffolk,England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My review of a year ago said it all about this very attractive hotel.
I would like to re-iterate the comments I made then, and to say that I am delighted that they strive to maintain these high standards

Room Tip: It's really worth taking a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for another review of Porto Santa Maria, we hope we keep up the standards and quality on your seventh visit.

Best Regards,


André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Address: Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#28 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.