We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Save Saved
You added Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Excellent attentive staff. Would suggest paying extra for a sea view room as the garden view is really park view and rather noisy, especially from the bottle bank. The local restaurants throw away their empties every night at closing time. A la carte menu very good. Buffet not so good but breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review on Porto Santa Maria Hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that on your next visit you will try out our Gourmet dinner menu also. See you soon.

Best regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    620
    184
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
52
633
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
everett, wa, usa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from Feb 8 thru 15 2013. The hotel was excellent, the room was always clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They are all bi-lingual and eager to please and are genuinely concerned for your well being. We were a little disappointed at the construction going on on the seafront promenade but we'll survive. The breakfast buffet was fabulous with over 150 items to choose from including champagne. Lena, the greeter and director for seating was the highlight of our every morning with her warm greeting and outgoing personality. The hotel is Adults only. What a treat, no yelling screaming kids. What a treat but then I repeat myself. We are Americans and we were an oddity due to the very small demographic of Americans who visit Madeira. The no. 1 tourist group is Brits so as soon as we spoke they asked where we were from. We had fascinating conversations with them and enjoyed them very much. The heated indoor pool and jacuzzi were a great way to relax after a full day of walking about and the Hotel is situated in the heart of old town, the most colorful and intriguing part of Funchal. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary and my 70th birthday and the bar had live music every night for dancing which we took full advantage of. We look forward to our next visit and we'll for sure stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: assk for an ocean view room facing south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your review of our hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that Madeira's good name is shared in the US. We hope to have your visit again soon.

Best regards,


André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Me and my brother had the same week off so decided to book this hotel due to catching the last of the carnaval. When arriving at the hotel we were greeted with a great reception staff who advised about the disruption fee and gave us our keys and we were on our way. We were in a side room overlooking the park so at 11pm and 6.30am you get the local restaurants recycling their bottles in the bins below but other than that if you lean over the balcony you have a great view of Monte. The hotel itself was nice and well presented and the staff were nothing but excellent. Its a shame due to myself being 28 and my brother being 24 the looks we got most nights around the hotel by guests. This hotel is in a good location at the front near the old town beside the cable car and next to the bus station so you pretty much have full access to the whole of Madeira right on your doorstep. The hotel also has a jacuzzi and heated indoor pool and also a nice little gym, and a sauna (at a charge of €4 an hour). We also had breakfast at this hotel and the buffet style choice of food was excellent. Overall this is a nice hotel with a central location and excellent staff although I'll leave it another 30 years before I return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear guest,

thank your for your review on our hotel and hope that you enjoyed the carnival festivities in Madeira. We hope that you do visit us again before thirty years have passed.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

On arrival a well presented hotel, however room allocated was side of hotel overlooking public park and as this was carnival week became a disaster, drums beating all night and noise and smell very bad, after first night we decided to request a move, the hotel staff were more than helpful and immediately got us transferred to a sister hotel(very much quieter and obviously an upgrade) Be warned do not accept side view rooms overlooking public park with a balcony which has no view due to large tree immediately outside making it impossible to sit out on.

Room Tip: As above opt for front sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy the room that you had booked due to the Carnival festivities in the island, unfortunately it is something that is not under our control at the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your holidays in another hotel of the Porto Bay Group.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, sUffolk,England
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My review of a year ago said it all about this very attractive hotel.
I would like to re-iterate the comments I made then, and to say that I am delighted that they strive to maintain these high standards

Room Tip: It's really worth taking a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for another review of Porto Santa Maria, we hope we keep up the standards and quality on your seventh visit.

Best Regards,


André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Were do I start. Just returned from Madeira Porto Bay resorts.This hotel exceeded our expectations of a package hotel. This was a special birthday for my husband ( joining the OAP brigade) much to his disgust. We have not been on a package holiday for many years as we have timeshare. We were a little unsure as we were told of the building work that is currently taking place outside the hotel. No problem at all, it was fasinating to watch and the slight noise from the wagons was not an issue. The hotel kindly gave all guests a generous incentive voucher to use in the hotel which we thought was a very kind gesture as this was 20 euros per couple per day. The rooms were spacious, fully equiped even mini kitchen if you wanted a snack, excellent view over the port (well worth paying extra for a sea view room) to see the liners docking . Beds too die for! Matress topers and soft pillows, no lumpy hard beds in Santa Maria.Maid service every day nothing too much trouble.
The food was fantastic, we had half board, plenty of choice the staff were lovely, happy hour in the captains bar every night, what more can you ask for.
The spa pool was great, never seen one so big in a hotel, everything was spotless.
We enjoyed Madeira very much plenty to see although all the flowers were not in bloom yet, would go later in the year next time.
Would we go again yes indeed. Would we go back to Santa Maria most definately.
We have already recommend this hotel to friends and family
Excellent keep doing what your doing!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view room, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your first time experience of the Porto Santa Maria Hotel, it makes us all that are part of this team very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us while celebrating your husband's birthday and we hope that it won't take long before your next visit.

Best regards,


André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just returned from Funchal and our stay at Porto Santa Maria hotel. The staff were very welcoming and we felt immediately at home. Our stay was a delight from the first to the last day.
Following our stay last year we told friends and they accompanied us on this trip. They were just as delighted as we were and now feel that they have discovered the magic that we had described.
This year we all four took part in the Funchal Carnival as part of the troupe of Samba dancers sponsored by the hotel. It was a unique experience made all the richer by the organisation of the Marketing manager and her team. We received dance training, costumes and genuine support to prepare us for a fabulous Carnival.

Our thanks goes to all the staff at the hotel ably managed and encouraged by Andre the manager. Customer relations manager Lina Franca is like a bottle of champagne, bubbly and energetic in her work and continuously looking to ensure that customers are delighted by their stay. On one occasion on her way to get information for me, she saw a lady searching the floor and asked what had been lost. The lady replied that her ear ring stud had been lost and without hesitation Lina took her own stud out and gave it to the customer; hardly breaking step on her way to the reception desk. Excellent.

We booked this year's trip just two days after arriving home last year and intend to book next year's holiday by this weekend. I highly recommend this hotel for people who are sociable and know how to enjoy themselves. I have found guests both new and repeat customers to be friendly and helpful. Staff are friendly and happy to talk and the entertainers react well when they realise they are appreciated.

Did I mention that the food exceeds the fare and value available in most every restaurant in Funchal?

Room Tip: Avoid the west wing rooms facing west. This is a public park and views can be ruined by trees close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to have you with us again this year and very happy that you enjoyed being part of the carnival parade again. It is becoming a tradition and we will be saving your costumes and places for next year's Carnival.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Address: Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#27 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.