We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything they said it was!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% discount
Ranked #10 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything they said it was!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Most of the good things about this hotel have already been said. We stayed for 1 week (4th Feb) and could not fault it. The works on the seafront really aren't a problem and the 10 euro a day credit more than makes up for it. The staff where great, food was great and luckily for us the weather was great! We would thoroughly recommend this hotel. P.s. I'm in my 40's and found myself at the younger end of the spectrum as far as guests where concerned, but it certainly wasn't God's waiting room as others have implied!

Room Tip: Yes sea views are great, but if you don't want direct sun then overlooking the park would be a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy that we were able to fulfill the expectations that you expected us to! We hope that you visit us again so we try harder and exceed them also! See you soon

Best Regards,


André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    245
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
64
879
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Splendid view of Funchal Harbour.Excellent service, with a travel rep being present every day. 35 good quality restaurants within walking distance. Very helpful staff and the whole hotel has good wheelchair access. Very clean and quite rooms. Sober entertainment in the evenings. Cannot fault the hotel in any way. Madeira is a beautiful island with something to offer to every visitor, young/old fit or otherwise.

Room Tip: We had a sea view, but all rooms seem to be quiet and well positioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are in fact located just outside Funchal's defensive wall over the sea where previously was a ship yard and that is why we have our Arsenal Restaurant (Arsenal means ship yard in Portuguese) and our Captain's Bar which has the view of Funchal's harbor still "controlling" the entry of the cruise liners into the city. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agder
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel is very good - nice rooms, nice and very helpful staff, fantastic location with walking distance to everything, and lots of small restaurants in the narrow streets very near the hotel. And a public "beach" just around the corner ("beach" because it of course consists of stones, not sand! It is Madeira, you know). We enjoyed our stay very much, and would definitely recomend it!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden may be more noicy than those facing the seaside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank your for your review of Porto Santa Maria Hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you enjoyed the small pebble beach that exists between the hotel and the Fort you will surely enjoy even more the two new beaches that will exist in front of the hotel. We hope that your visit us again soon.

Best regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Situated on the seafront ,with magnificent views. In the old town of Funchal,which apart from the area around the Cathedral is by far the most interesting,with lots of very good restaurants to choose from. Very well appointed hotel,tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean,comfortable and modern. The staff were very helpful and the food [we were only B&b] was excellent .The choice for the buffet breakfast was amazing and of very good quality.
We were told about the work on the seafront construction work before we went but it wasn't any way as bad as we thought it might have been. In fact we found it all very interesting and as we were out most of the day ,it hardly affected us.
All in all a great week's holiday . We wished we had booked for a fortnight!

Room Tip: A room with a balcony looking out to sea. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience with others through TripAdvisor, we are glad that you enjoyed and we will be here waiting for your next visit but of course for a two week minimum stay. See you soon

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed 21st to 28th of January, had a great week, largely due to the unseasonably good weather, but in no small part down to the hotel and it's staff. Yes, we were aware of the work going on before going, as we received a letter about it, and letting us know we would receive 10€ a day each to ease the pain. A nice gesture, and with half price happy hour every evening, it went a long way to doing just that! The noise stops for lunch, and being out and about most days, we did not find it that intrusive.
We had booked a junior suite with a sea view, and it was very comfortable, with a tv in both bedroom and lounge, a separate small kitchenette (never used for anything other than making coffee and putting wine in the fridge, but very handy), and a good sized ensuite with two separate basins. We had a double balcony with a perfect view, never saw a mossie (slept with door open and net curtain closed), and the room was cleaned promptly each day to a high standard.
Buffet breakfast was fine, but they do not make good coffee, however service super efficient and friendly. We ate in three nights, and thought it was terrific value and really very good, their degustation menu being a highlight.
The hotel definitely benefits from being on the flat, with easy walking into town, or to local restaurants. Finally a mention for two of the staff: Lena, the customer services manager, is omnipresent! Breakfast, lunchtime at the pool, and dinner, hopefully the poor girl gets some time off! A really useful addittion, loads of useful information, every hotel should have a Lena. And finally the Manager, often around, very engaging, a great advert for Port Bay Hotels. Not our first stay with Porto Bay, but our first at Santa Maria, and I can now see why most of the reviews are glowing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,


thank you very much for your kind review! It makes us all the Porto Santa Maria team feel happy to read it. I will pass it to the rest of the team. We hope that you visit us soon

Best Regards,


André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here from 28th jan -4th feb and really could not fault it in any way, we knew about the seafront construction work before we went and did'nt find it a problem .We found all the staff polite and helpful from the cleaners, who do an excellent job to the reception staff who we found to be very helpful .As others have said you are given 10 euros per person per day to use on food and drink in the hotel which we used at lunch times and found very useful .Yes there are a lot of older people staying here but don't let that put you off, this is an excellent hotel right on the sea and right by the old town and all the restaurants what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank your for your kind review we are always happy when our guests enjoy their time at the hotel and we hope that you will visit us again soon.

Until next time, best regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We returned to this hotel because we liked it so much. It is clean and comfortable and the staff are so helpful and obliging. The situation is great right on the seafront and in very close proximity to the restaurants in Old Town. It is particularly helpeful for us as it is one of very few hotels in a flat area of a hilly island. This means my wife and other people with poor mobility can walk up and down the front , although partly closed this year because of construction works to improve the sea front.
Tony Prior

Room Tip: sea facing rooms with balcony have sunshine all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! We are glad that you choose us again for your holidays and even more to know that your enjoyed them, that is what we are here for! We hope that you visit us again.


Best regards,


André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.6 mi away
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
2.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Quinta Jardins do Lago
#2 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)
1.2 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 763 reviews
1.9 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Address: Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#23 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.