We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Booking 5% discount
Ranked #10 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
hamilton, uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Good points -
great location - any noise from the sea defence work was balanced by the fascination of watching the machines at work and since we were out most of the time this didn't bother us.
Whole place was spotless and we loved the flower arrangements.
Pool and jacuzzi were quiet and we enjoyed the warmth - especially after the outside pool which was decidedly chilly.
We had a garden room which was a good size, faced the garden and had a partial view of the sea - so ideal and no need to pay extra for a sea view.
Buffet was ideal and had lots of choice - still missing the breakfast egg custard tarts!
Friendly and helpful waiting staff and of course the redoutable Lena
Not so good:
Constant background low level noise( probably from a/c) especially noticable at night
Poor service on the gourmet night - we noticed the difference when Lena wasn't around!
Entertainment could be better quality and there's not a lot to do in the hotel if the weather is poor.
Reception staff were a mixed bunch - a couple of really friendly ones and one particularly grumpy one.

Room Tip: Garden rooms OK if you get the right one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,


thank you for your time reviewing Porto Santa Maria! We are glad to read your positive remarks about the hotel and have read your not so good remarks with even more attention and will look into them in order to sort them out! We hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    207
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
59
743
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a lovely one-week stay here, our first visit to Madeira. The room was very comfortable and spacious. Wifi in the room as well as the lobby would have made it better! We didn't find the building work on the seafront a problem as we prefer to spend most of the day out anyway, and at this time they were not using pile-drivers or pneumatic drills.
We liked being next to the Old Town and found many good restaurants close at hand. The quirky street/door art added an extra dimension. The Market is well worth a visit. The hotel is also close to the cable car, from where we thoroughly enjoyed visits to the Botanic Gardens and the Tropical Gardens.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review! We are glad that you had a nice time at our hotel! We have taken note of the WiFi remark and I can tell you that we are working on it. Maybe on your next visit.

Best regards,


André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tayport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Having just returned from our first visit to Madeira, I can only say that the whole experience was wonderful. The hotel was beautiful with everything as described on line. The staff were very helpful at all times, the rooms were spacious and spotless. The buffet was excellent with a very large selection, beautifully cooked and presented. Alacart was exceptional. Infact the whole experience was excellent.
Although there was work being carried out at the harbour it was not an inconvenience, although you were aware it was going on. Guests were compensated for the inconvenience which was a bonus but we were very glad we did not change hotels, which was offered. This has been one of the best hotels we have stayed at. Just sorry we were not there for New Year, hopefully we will return for the new year celebrations in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for the time dispensed sharing your experience at the Porto Santa Maria hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. New year's Eve is a very special moment in Funchal but specially at Porto Santa Maria with our 360 degree view from our 3rd floor harbour terrace! We hope that we can count with your company this year!

Best regards,


André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

we've visited Madeira many many times and so chose this hotel for the change of location. Arrived on the morning of NYE for a 14 night stay. We would be hard pressed to find a negative here - the customer service is excellent, helped in no small measure by the Customer Relations Manager, Lena, who is a powerhouse and works extremely hard to make sure guests are comfortable and satisfied. We were notified before we left home about the storm defence works and were offered a 'compensation' of 10euros/day/person which, coupled with our Prestige discounts, went a long way towards covering most of our costs during the stay. Some days the noise was quite low, other days it was quite noisy, but there were no works at all over our final weekend, although the compensation was awarded for every day. I wouldn't let these works put me off staying here. We tried most of the hotel facilities, the indoor pool and Jacuzzi are lovely and hardly used - one day I had the whole facility to myself. Paola in the spa is very good and the pedicure I had was the best ever. Happy hour before dinner proved very useful and the service and food in the restaurant was excellent - especially the gourmet night where we went for the suggested wine option. The meal on that night is served to the table and the wine complemented the food perfectly. When we do visit Madeira again we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view to enjoy all the cruise ships coming and going - it adds another dimension to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We do our best in order that our guests enjoy their experience with us and are always happy to read nice reviews like yours! We hope that you visit us soon.

Best regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Deciding to holiday over Christmas and New Year 2013 we had chosen Madeira on recommendation of friends. As this was our first visit to Madeira, how fortunate we were to have chosen the ‘PORTO SANTA MARIA’ Hotel.
On arrival at the hotel we were immediately impressed by the efficient check in and the fact that our luggage was ready and waiting in our room by the time we got there. The room (a ground floor sea facing twin) was everything we could have wished for with a small balcony leading to the garden and pool area. We especially liked the small kitchen area with a fridge allowing us to keep cold drinks & wine, plus could make tea and coffee when ever desired.
There was a Christmas banquet on our first night being Christmas Eve, this was truly spectacular and was our first introduction to the remarkably friendly and efficient restaurant staff that we came to look on as friends by the end of our two weeks. Special mention must be made of all the restaurant staff; Lina (PR) and Catia (waitress) who gave us such excellent service and always welcomed us making us feel very special.
We found the location of the hotel excellent with the Old town being close to the hotel with numerous restaurants should you wish for a change from the hotel restaurant, we rather enjoyed the banter with the restaurant staff who attempted to persuade you to enter their restaurant (plus the delicious food)
Finally mention must be made of the Massages Beauty Spa which we only used on one occasion but the treatments were excellent and which will be high on our list of things to do next time.
Without doubt one of the best hotels we have stayed at and we have already booked to return next Christmas and to celebrate New Year 2014.
Using the Yellow or Red Bus tours is well worth the money paid as you hop on and off; the ticket for the yellow bus being usable over two days allowing one to see as much as possible of Funchal, not forgetting the wonderful, colourful FUNCHAL CHRISTMAS LIGHTS that are a delight including all the Christmas scenes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your nice review, we are glad that you enjoyed your Christmas with us and we are glad that we will have you staying with us again in 2013. I will pass your comments on Lina and Catia who I'm sure will glad to read them.

Best regards,


André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This Hotel is perfect in so many ways and the staff are outstanding.
My wife and I really enjoyed our Xmas holiday. It was also my wife's birthday on xmas eve.
The staff sang to her and wished her a happy birthday, a real treat. The entertainment was first rate and the choir singing carols were exceptional. However if you like a Bloody Mary,take your own makings. The barman had'nt a clue. Be aware of an extra charge for use of the sauna. Also be careful of the shower mat, it can be slippery.
Caution ! we travelled with Thomson Holidays and booked extra legroom seats as a treat. Expecting to choose our seats. Not so, later we found out, all seats at the front of the aircraft are not for sale. Only exit isle seats are for sale. I was against the door with extra room for one leg and a cold draft for the other.

Room Tip: A junior suit with sea view is well worth the extra. The sea views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed Christmas with us and well as the celebration of your wife's birthday! Regarding the Bloody Mary I've seen so many different recipes and tastes that I believe that everybody has a favorite, I am sure that our bar team will be more that happy to learn a new one if you wish to share with us the one that you enjoy most. We hope to see you soon.

Regards,


André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel. The staff is just so friendly and helpful: I was given the same room as last time, which was my ultimate option.
In my opinion the hotel has a perfect site in the old town of Funchal, with a lot of nice restaurants just behind the old town wall.

Room Tip: My experience is that a room with a sea view is the only choise. Some visitors not familiar with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreCaldeira, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,


thank you for your review and for sharing these nice pictures from your room balcony. Madeira has in our opinion some of the most beautiful sunsets in the world at this time of the year. We hope to see you soon.

Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay)

Address: Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#24 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Santa Maria Hotel (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.